Dare to swim in LAKE DANAO? Adventure awaits you in Leyte, Philippines.

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)
I never get to update my travel bucket list since the pandemic. So being able to visit Lake Danao was a blessing. I never fathom travelling to Leyte, Philippines during this time. A college friend out of nowhere came in contact with me through social media and asked me to come with her to her hometown. It took me a few days to agree. Didn't know why I hesitated when in fact I am unemployed at the moment. Besides that, I wouldn't be spending much since I will be staying at her home. So 3rd week of April, off I went to Leyte, Philippines.

DSCF4185a.JPG

DSCF4180.JPG

It was midweek when we decided to visit this magical place called Lake Danao. It is situated in the city of Ormoc. It was a 2 hour drive from my friend's house. It would be best to go there with a private vehicle since the lake is somewhat up in the mountains but roads are pretty much smooth and accessible.

Apparently, Lake Danao used to be called Lake Imelda, and later on was renamed to Lake Danao National Park after it was declared as a protected area in 1998. The lake has a surface area of 143 hectares and a depth of 80m (260 ft).

Just a about a kilometer before we reached the place, we stopped at a ticketing booth. Entrance fee was 50 pesos per adult. Good thing, the place had some parking space and only a few visitors were there during that day. Once I got out of the car, I immediately felt the cold breeze from the mountain air. We headed inside the park to secure a raft.

DSCF4157.JPG

DSCF4161.JPG

This is my first look at Lake Danao. I was taken in awe for its serenity and the relaxing feeling brought about by the lush forest surrounding the lake and the Amandiwin mountain range which looked like a backdrop. I was definitely excited but would I dare to swim on its calm yet dark pool of water?

We inquired for the availability of rafts or cottages and was informed there was none. My heart was about to get broken. He asked us if we were willing to wait however he couldn't assure us how long would we be able to get one. Good thing, another man advised us to check on the other side of the lake for available rafts.

Still I asked for the prices for future reference. The floating rafts would cost Php 150 or USD 3.14 or if one opts to just stay at the lakefront then the cottage costs Php 300 or USD 6.28 for the whole duration of your stay.

DSCF4164.JPG

DSCF4163.JPG

Lucky us we only had to wait for 30 minutes before a floating raft would be available. We killed the time by eating our packed food which was prepared by my friend's aunt. Apart from that, to quench our thirst for some dessert, we bought this Filipino dessert made with milk and gulaman.

DSCF4192.JPG

DSCF4181-horz.jpg

This certain part of the lake was made for the children. Just at waist deep, kids are able to enjoy the cool waters of the lake safely. Families with young ones prefer to stay here for safety. Tents are available on the side.

DSCF4169.JPG

It was now our turn to ride on the floating raft. I was excited to see what the place looks like from the center. We boarded our raft quickly. I only then realized that we have to move our raft by pulling on the rope. I would have thought that the raft would be heavy but it wasn't.

DSCF4183.JPG

DSCF4186.JPG

DSCF4197.JPG

Once we got to the middle of the lake to where I had a 360 degree view, I surveyed the waters. True enough, though the water maybe clear but its depth gave no visual of what lies at the bottom. I noticed as well that other visitors didn't swim too far from their rafts.

DSCF4206.JPG

DSCF4207.JPG

DSCF4208.JPG

DSCF4211.JPG

DSCF4234.JPG

However, it would be a disappointment not to taste its cool waters if only by just floating and swimming near our raft. Me and my friend went in slowly and surely. I was aware that the buoyancy of salt water and fresh water were different. Here, it was difficult to push yourself on the water. I couldn't make myself swim a few meters away easily. I tried but once I got a bit far, looked down and saw nothing beyond my body, I swear I got a slight moment of fear.

DSCF4279.JPG

DSCF4268.JPG

DSCF4281.JPG

There was a lot of "fun" cussing in regards to the lack of provision of floating tubes or life vests. You see, it was difficult to stay afloat and tiresome. We only relied on the rope for support. Nonetheless, we did have fun swimming and teasing around. I did enjoy some alone moments in the water and relished in on the beauty of this breathtaking nature before me.

Apart from swimming, there are kayaks available to ride on. We even witnessed a friendly race happening from the other floating raft behind us. It was quite fun to see. If only we had much free time, I would have the courage to go for a round.

DSCF4303.JPG

DSCF4327.JPG

DSCF4336.JPG

One thing you shouldn't missed out is getting their specialty dishes. Sisig made from the meat of shells harvested from the lake and Paco or fiddlehead fern salad topped with tomatoes and onions. It was just delicious and also affordable.

DSCF4347.JPG

desdeses.jpg

From all the things I mentioned above, the most memorable part from this trip was seeing a Philippine eagle! This eagle is considered as "one of the world’s rarest and most powerful birds of prey". Native to our country but are already critically endangered, I felt so lucky that day to see not just one but two eagles soaring above us.

DSCF4165.JPG

Words couldn't even describe how magnificent and beautiful this creature is. The last time I saw a Philippine eagle was in a zoo, so now seeing it fly in the air where its meant to be especially in a protected area makes me feel happy and at peace knowing they have their freedom. I made many attempts in getting a closer photo but this was by far the closest I could manage to take.

DSCF4287.JPG

We ended our quick getaway around 4 in the afternoon. However the park closes at 6:30pm if I remembered it correctly. This short escapade was the highlight of my trip to Leyte, Philippines. There are still many amazing places to see there so I might just go back. I just don't know when.

You should include LAKE DANAO in our of your travel bucket list. You won't regret it.

DSCF4255.JPG


Thank you for dropping by. Sending you love and light.

meeeee.JPG

Clara Pilca

Mermaid by day, Witch by night. Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations. Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment. Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.

Sort:  

Great post! I would have wanted to try to swim in the lake too!:)

Great write up and photos !discovery 35

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1195.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

such an interesting story with the explaining images.
great to learn about different cultures thank you

Thats an amazing spot. What a cool experience. Pulling your floating hut across the water is such a cool idea. I've never seen that before. It looks so much fun.

ang ganda ng lugar 😍

Super... you bet. ive never been a fan ng mga lakes.. pero ngayon dapat isama ko na mga lakes na madadaan sa mga travels ko

If you happen to travel in bukidnon, we have lakes here too, try Lake apo and Nasuli 😁