Inday Clara travels Solo #33 - Bustling is the word for Damnoen Saduak Floating Market, Thailand

in Pinmapple3 years ago

If you have been following my solo adventures, previously I wrote about Wat Pho Temple Now, I'll take you to one of Thailand's famous floating market, the Damnoen Saduak Floating Market in Ratchaburi province. I guess many of you who have gone here share the same sentiments about this place! Bustling if not yet crazy.

DSCF6032.JPG

Again, this is a DIY trip because I don't want to spend more than what I budgeted for. So I took the bus from Bangkok to Ratchaburi. It was an hour or so until I reached the bus terminal near my destination. One thing I should tell you, my secret of not getting lost was google map. It was such a big help back then especially when no one can show me directions.

I was on the same bus with this guy, overheard him talked to the bus driver and other locals how to get to the market. So, I invited him to walk with me since we were heading to the same direction. It took us 30 minutes of walk to get to Damnoen Saduak and getting to know each other. His name is Marco 😏. Once we got to the entrance of the market, unfortunately we parted ways. 😩

DSCF6004.JPG

I did a little bit of sight seeing once I was alone again. I don't recall any entrance ticket to be paid. It was exciting to be there once I saw the dozens of boats moving along the waters. A totally different culture and experience I must say. And Its amazing how they made their canals as a primary place for economic development.

DSCF6066.JPG

DSCF5993.JPG

DSCF5997.JPG

After checking some food which costs much, I decided to forsake eating and go for the boat ride. I should do that at least since I was already there. Little did I know, Marco and I bumped into each other near the boat terminal. Yes, meant to be and cheesy! 😂 We decided to do the boat ride together. We paid 300 baht each for 30 minutes of the boat ride.

sefeef.jpg

DSCF6025.JPG

DSCF6096.JPG

During my initial planning of this trip, I wanted to squeeze as much places to visit in a few days. For Thailand, I only had 4 days. The floating market sure came up during my research. Tourists flock the area for the "experience" and shopping. I already knew that the place was going to be jam packed with people that is why I decided to come here on a weekday. But I wasn't expecting this.

Boats bumping each other. At one point we weren't able to move for about 10 minutes. Me and the other tourists from the other boats were just looking at each other, smiling because of the predicament we were in.

DSCF6102.JPG

DSCF6039.JPG

The highlight for the place was in fact the dozens of floating stalls lined up. The souvenirs and products such as clothes, figurines, paintings, and hats were in fact beautiful however I just cant afford to buy anything because of the crazy mark up they placed on the items. Yes, you can haggle all the way but prices are still too much.

DSCF5999.JPG

DSCF6043.JPG

Food are also sold in their floating boats. Some have affordable prices, others don't. From noodles, to seafoods, to fresh fruits, to coconut ice cream! yes, you can find delicious foods here.

DSCF6081.JPG

DSCF6123.JPG

Our 30 minutes of boat ride turned to 40 minutes which was worth it. I think you will be paying more if you did those tours from travel agencies. Also, I did somehow enjoyed my short date with Marco 😏 despite the absurd and bustling place we were in. And no, we didn't exchanged numbers.

Do I recommend this place? Yes for those who want to experience their culture, No for those who can't handle crowded places.

Before I end this piece, I will showcase some shots I got featuring all the women I passed by during my boat ride. I was not expecting women to be mostly steering the boats. Hats off to all hardworking women out there.


WOMEN OF DAMNOEN SADUAK


DSCF6019.JPG

DSCF6021.JPG

DSCF6023.JPG

DSCF6056.JPG

DSCF6060.JPG

DSCF6099.JPG

DSCF6106.JPG

DSCF6112.JPG

DSCF6117.JPG


Thank you for dropping by. Sending you love and light.

meeeee.JPG

Clara Pilca

Mermaid by day, Witch by night. Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations. Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment. Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I loved these floating markets there! Great pictures :)

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest TD1198.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I always wanted to visit Thailand, especially that river that you've visited.

Hi @afterglow! Well, hope you could find your way there! Its a lovely place that is if you dont mind how busy that place is but i dont know anymore if its still the case with this pandemic going on.

I hope so. And I wish this pandemic will vanish forever and our life will be back to normal so that we can do normal things again.

Ganda ng place. Sana all

😂 Napatawa ako sa "sana all".. sana all may lablife...

Haha. Sana all mahal