What to expect when visiting Oroquieta City!

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

On my quick escapade to Mindanao a month ago, I decided to stay at my Uncle's place in Oroquieta City before heading to another Province where the wedding I attended was held. This decision was due to the limited funds I had with me at that time and staying with my Uncle could save me from spending that much. I could have just hopped on an airplane to the wedding destination and just flew out of there right away but where would be the fun in that? Might as well do some sightseeing in other places even on a tight budget!

cover.png

Oroquieta City is not like Cebu City or Manila where one could enjoy "city life". For me, it was like a small quiet town. It's the capital of Misamis Occidental and to get there, one must have a private vehicle, or one can opt for the bus or a van. In my case, my uncle picked me up at the port in Ozamis City, and took us 40 minutes to get there. The road leading up to Oroqueita city was all rice paddies. I should have taken photos but I was relaxing with the cool breeze and morning light at that time.

Later that day, my cousin took me out on a road trip around the city. I wasn't expecting that much from this spontaneous activity but I was open to anything. And so we rode on his motorbike and began our short adventure.


DSCF2100.JPG

DSCF2103.JPG

DSCF2106.JPG

DSCF2107.JPG

DSCF2108.JPG

DSCF2113.JPG

DSCF2114.JPG

DSCF2112.JPG

DSCF2116.JPG

The Streets

Traffic? None. Jeepneys? Not that I could remember seeing. Taxis? Non-existent! Told you it was just like a small quiet town. There were a lot of establishments though. Restaurants and eateries were everywhere. There were some old houses that you would notice that felt like good places to go ghost hunting. One old house stood out with an architectural design that dated who knows when but it was still such a beauty to see.

DSCF2118.JPG

DSCF2119.JPG

DSCF2121.JPG

DSCF2170.JPG

DSCF2171.JPG

DSCF2173.JPG

DSCF2123.JPG


Provincial Capitol & Park

I teased my cousin when he brought me here and asked if this was a tourist site. 😅 Well, it wasn't but there wasn't much to see so why not?

What I liked about their provincial capital though was how the place was so clean and the landscaping maintained. The medians leading to the building were full of healthy, colorful plants. The park fronting the capitol was spacious and clean but kind of empty although this was open to the public. Some guys were playing at the basketball court just in front of the building too. There were other small local government agencies found in the area too.

DSCF2126.JPG

DSCF2128.JPG

DSCF2131.JPG

DSCF2134.JPG

DSCF2142.JPG

DSCF2145.JPG


Athletic Complex

Every city must have one right? Smaller compared to what I was used to in Cebu, I still would have preferred running here. There weren't that many people jogging or walking on the track and this was a weekend! Back at my place, this would have been jam-packed. There was also a covered court and a tennis court on the side.

DSCF2154.JPG

DSCF2156.JPG

DSCF2157.JPG

DSCF2160.JPG

DSCF2163.JPG

DSCF2164.JPG

DSCF2165.JPG


Hanging Bridge

This hanging bridge is a bit famous to the locals. My cousin said this got destroyed twice already by a flood! This made me think twice before crossing it. I do love the Balete tree on the side. It may be old but it probably withstood many floods in the past.

At first, the height of the bridge and stairs were too high but then they made it like that because the place was prone to flood. The deck was made of wood and was wobbly when people walked on it. Never made it to the other side. And if you notice, the height of the water was low but during high tide or rainy season, it usually reaches near the tip of the flood wall.

DSCF2180.JPG

DSCF2205.JPG

DSCF2188.JPG

DSCF2187.JPG


City Plaza & Boulevard

I think visiting the city's plaza and the boulevard was a great way to end our afternoon stroll. The walkway near the sea wall was wide and spacious. A lot of locals can be found sitting on the benches and just enjoying leisure time. The sea provided a relaxing vibe although the sand was dark and a bit dirty. This was something the local community has to work on. It was here as well that I met with some local young boys skimboarding. A father-daughter duo can be seen taking photos at a ledge. Usually, if it's high tide or was raining, water would also rise to that level.

DSCF2211.JPG

DSCF2215.JPG

DSCF2227.JPG

DSCF2223.JPG

DSCF2221.JPG

DSCF2219.JPG

Then we walked into the center of the plaza. There were a lot of open spaces for people to rest, play or have a picnic. This park was the go-to leisure place where the locals head to since there were no malls in the area. The park was well maintained and clean. A statue of the famous Dr. Jose Rizal was also built here. A skating rink surrounded by pine trees was situated in one corner and a few boys were enjoying their time there.

DSCF2234.JPG

DSCF2239.JPG

DSCF2241.JPG

300536710_1117226329176043_3846063814691779672_n.jpg

300875020_3220994438158788_5960604232607747497_n.jpg

DSCF2246.JPG

DSCF2245.JPG

DSCF2253.JPG

DSCF2261.JPG

DSCF2249.JPG

DSCF2259.JPG

DSCF2273.JPG

DSCF2267.JPG

DSCF2303.JPG

There were a lot of vendors selling food, drinks, desserts, and handmade crafts. The basketball court somehow turned into a food court where most of the vendors with food carts could be found. A lot of locals were here as well. Seemed like the food cart business was booming here! There were different street food to choose from. My cousin made me taste chicken proven! I also ordered siomai. Then we had buko juice as our drinks. All for just $4.

DSCF2276.JPG

DSCF2277.JPG

DSCF2279.JPG

DSCF2280.JPG

DSCF2282.JPG

DSCF2290.JPG

DSCF2297.JPG

DSCF2287.JPG

DSCF2298.JPG

DSCF2299.JPG

DSCF2301.JPG

DSCF2313.JPG

After our short travel at the park, we went home and rested before heading out once more that night to see if there was some "nightlife" in this far-off land.


Aliyah's Cafe & Restobar

After our short travel at the park, we went home and rested before heading out once more that night to see if there was some "nightlife" in this far-off land. However, I was proven wrong as my cousin repeatedly warned me that such doesn't exist there but he was happy to take me around for me to see with my very own eyes. After some 15 minutes of driving to all the drinking spots, we ended up going to Aliyah's Cafe & Restobar.

A group of ladies was occupied at one table. Besides them, it was just I and my cousin. We ordered a glass of whiskey and jack daniels and paired it with fries. A young promising DJ was playing for us. My cousin seemed to know him. His dad was the only good DJ there. We left the place after an hour.

DSCF2576.JPG

DSCF2561.JPG

DSCF2569.JPG

DSCF2573.JPG

DSCF2568.JPG


If you do find yourself in small cities in our far-off provinces, then do expect that life there would be simple and less chaotic than in the bustling metropolitan cities you are used to. But you will surely get a treat if you visit their hidden nature spots like Isko River Resort.


Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations.
Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

final hive footer2.jpg

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment.
Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.

Sort:  

For so long mainstream media have demonized Mindanao, Thank you for sharing this, although this may not be the typical tourist destination, The place looks so peaceful and sooo clean!

Post like this will immortalize and remove the negative notion about the South side of the Philippines. Thank you for sharing this! ❤️ much !luv and the fries would good too with some 🍕 !PIZZA

Untitled design.gif

Agree! There are a lot of beautiful places in mindanao still worth sharing. If only I knew how to drive, I wouls probably be backpacking Mindanao by now. 😂 Hopefully, in the future, more positive news would be shared about there.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Appreciate it. ❤️

Yung name kala ko sa ibang bansa..sa pinas pla to hehe

Nahirapan din ako mag pronounce nung simula 😂

ohooo, this is just like our Province Oriental Mindoro. Wala masyadong people and it's really quite. Nagiging maingay lang kapag sa may bandang high way ka coz of those vehicles passing by. It is a peaceful town yep. Which I prefer than the City. Mejo aanga anga ako kapag sa big City na with taller buildings. Sa Batangas palang before takot na akong tumawid coz of those cars na di na naubos huehue. Nakakatawid lang if may kasabay na ako, lelelelel.

Love those green sceneries. Ang sarap mag muni muni dyan, alone OMG - while listening to some rock sad music, lol

I think when you reach this certain age, you would somehow prefer the quietier side of life. That was in my case. Now enjoying the province life too. I easily get overwhelmed with a lot of crowd at the mall but even though the park I visited was full of people, I didn't feel that way. I was still relaxed and enjoying the scenery. I think nature helps as well.

Only if may SO na din ako 😂.. date2x nlng sa park always.

Yeah, that's it. Same with me din. Good for you di kana na ooverwhelm sa Park, coz me I still feel uncomfortable pa rin talaga. But facemask can help naman.

Ohooo, that's the best. Hope makita mo na SO mo hihi

Oh, I haven't seen any busses , jeepneys or taxis there. Truly a quiet city and I think it's perfect for a vacation or relaxation. There seem a lot of people in the city plaza. I would definitely enjoy this kind of road trip as well.

Have some !PIZZA

Trueee. Despite the simple life in small town, one would easily still fall in love with it when you immerse with the place and the locals. ❤️

I'd trade anything to be in such a cool environment. It's soooo clean😳 and what more can a person need than a free road without hearing cars honking here and there or having to get stuck in an annoying traffic jam. This place is heavenly.

Hi @teknon! I certainly agree! Nothing beats a clean and quiet environment. The bustling city no longer attracts me lately... guess it comes with age too. though I'm not that too old! 😝

The bustling city no longer attracts me lately

Same here😩, the noise from cars and trucks honking is extra and it's mostly annoying when one wants to take a quick nap.

guess it comes with age too. though I'm not that too old! 😝

Haha! I think so, when I was a kid, I preferred the noises, I enjoyed watching the cars do their thing and wished to one day hit that button that'll go telling other drivers to get out of my way. Haha! But right now, I just want to go to the countryside and connect with nature and the sweet chorus of birds.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @hafizullah & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Congratulations @indayclara! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 4250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022

Wowww your photos are impressive, it looks like a very quiet place, very clean and organized, for a person who wants to escape from the bustle of the city this would be a very good option even though it is not a tourist destination, very good story.