My Visit to the Piedra del Peñol, Guatapé, Colombia // Mi Visita a la Piedra del Peñol, de Guatapé, Colombia [ENG-ESP]

in Pinmapple2 years ago

My Visit to the Piedra del Peñol, Guatapé, Colombia // Mi Visita a la Piedra del Peñol, de Guatapé, Colombia [ENG-ESP]


Hello Friends... I am happy to post for the first time after my introduction post. I chose this community, because as I expressed in my presentation, I like to travel and know places both inside and outside the country. Among my favorites are natural places, although I also like to contemplate and visit modern structures. And you... Do you like to visit natural wonders? This time, I want to invite you to travel with me to a special and impressive monument, taking into account that it is the second tallest monolith in the world, after the one located in Brazil... LA PIEDRA DEL PEÑOL, or LA PIEDRA DE GUATAPE... is a monolith of 220 meters high approximately, located in the municipality of Guatapé, Department of Antioquia, Colombia.

According to a park tour guide, the El Peñol rock was climbed for the first time in July 1954 by a local resident named Luis Eduardo Villegas López. Today, the summit can be reached by climbing the more than 700 steps built into the side of the rock. How did I get here? We left with some good friends from Medellín, and took the fastest route along the Medellín-Bogota highway. Then the route changed as we passed through the different and colorful towns, full of shops and in some cases, natural landscapes, mountains with lush vegetation. The trip took us almost 2 hours, about 90 kilometers, until we reached the town of Guatapé.

CIMG08271.jpg

IMG_0163.JPG

I was pleased to see from afar, how impressive the stone was, surrounded by mountains, lots of vegetation and a water reservoir built by public companies of Medellin. We could see a blue sky, clean and fresh air, so I was excited to meet and climb the towering stone.
As we approached the site with the car, along the street that leads to the parking lot of the park, we could see the Monolith even more impressive. Although the floor of the parking lot was dirt, which I did not expect, because I imagined it might be paved or covered with natural stones, the site seemed picturesque to me. There were many handicraft stores, souvenir stores, fast food restaurants, as well as ice cream and snack shops made by the inhabitants of the nearby village. There was a joyful atmosphere among the people, children with their parents, many young and old people, large and small groups, eating, taking pictures. Even the vallenata music could not be missing, inviting some to dance in an improvised way, quite a spectacle.

IMG_0137.JPG

When I arrived at the ticket office, which was almost at the foot of the great stone, I listened to what others were saying about their anecdotes, jokes and competition proposals about who dared to climb the more than 700 steps or who would get there first. I also heard comments that some did not complete the entire route because their legs failed them, they lacked energy or breath, or they were simply afraid to see how high they were after a certain height. Some of them even reached a lookout point built more or less halfway up the rock and from there they returned. Unfortunately, my wife and my friend's wife were not able to accompany me on the tour, so I had to get up the courage to climb alone and experience the feeling of being at the top. So, after buying the entrance ticket to go up, I started the tour with optimism.

IMG_0138.JPG

IMG_0162.JPG

As I walked, I noticed that there were many people going up like me, and others were already returning. I also noticed in some sections of the long staircase, that there were people standing still, taking a breath of air to continue. I could see that they were supporting each other, even if they were strangers, motivated by the common goal of reaching the top. As I was climbing I took some pictures to have several perspectives of the landscape that gave the reservoir or lake of water that was at the foot of the mountain. It had very nice houses built around it, I also observed that most of them had access by road, as they could be seen in the distance, but there were places or mounds with exclusive house constructions, which could only be accessed by small boats through the reservoir.

IMG_0140.JPG

IMG_0141.JPG

IMG_0142.JPG

IMG_0148.JPG

Well, once I reached the top, after 45 minutes climbing, with my heart racing and breathing agitated, I had other sensations. The first one was vertigo, because while I was climbing, maybe it helped to see the stairs and other structures that were integrated into the stone, but once at the top, suddenly a curtain opens where you can see everything, houses, roads, vehicles in miniature. Plus the stunning view of the reservoir and its surroundings, as well as other tourist facilities in the area. So at first I had to adapt to what my eyes were seeing. Secondly, the strong breeze that I felt on the terrace gave me the sensation of flying with it, I felt like shouting or sharing the euphoria of having arrived, but as I went up alone, I restrained myself from doing so and rather limited myself to take pictures and then share them. On the terrace was anchored a building in the form of a small castle, which was used as a cafe and had some souvenir stores and crafts where tourists could buy and take a souvenir of the site.

IMG_0150.JPG

IMG_0152.JPG

IMG_0149.JPG

IMG_0153.JPG

IMG_0158.JPG

IMG_0151.JPG

IMG_0159.JPG

IMG_0154.JPG

I must say, that the feeling of vertigo accompanied me throughout the time I was up on the terrace watching, taking pictures and breathing the strong air that hit there, so after maybe 15 minutes, I started my descent. So more was the time I spent going up and down, than the time I took to be up there, hahaha.
But once I got to the bottom of the rock, I felt relieved and happy to have met this natural wonder and to be with my wife and friends again.
Then we took the opportunity to have a snack and visit the stores. We left for Medellín, satisfied to have visited this beautiful place.

IMG_0166.JPG

Visiting this site, helped me to feel reverential awe for its creator, and when we see a beautiful construction made by someone, it is proper to give him his recognition, and highlight his skills demonstrated in the work. For this reason, it is even more clear to me that this natural wonder is the work of an intelligent creator, who combines many elements, so that we human beings can enjoy these things. This makes me recognize its great power, and feel grateful for the things done, which makes me feel happy and not believe myself better or worse than others, but rather recognize with humility that our life and the enjoyment of it depends on a loving Creator, who is interested in the happiness of each one of us.

1638312997231.png

The photos are my property. Thus ends one of my rewarding walks, which I am happy to share with you. I hope you enjoyed the tour I showed you. I say goodbye until a next contact, wishing you a happy weekend.

1637941446201.png

Traducción en Español

Hola Amigos… Estoy contento de publicar por primera vez después de mi post de presentación. Escogí esta comunidad, porque como expresé en mi presentación, me gusta viajar y conocer lugares tanto dentro como fuera del país. Entre mis preferidos están los lugares naturales, aunque también, me gusta contemplar y visitar las estructuras modernas. Y ¿a ustedes?... ¿Les gusta conocer Maravillas naturales?
Esta vez, quiero invitarlos a viajar conmigo a un monumento especial e impresionante, tomando en cuenta que es el segundo monolito más alto del mundo, después de la que está ubicada en Brasil… LA PIEDRA DEL PEÑOL, o LA PIEDRA DE GUATAPE… es un monolito de 220 metros de altura aproximadamente, Ubicado en el Municipio Guatapé, Departamento de Antioquia, Colombia.

La piedra de El Peñol, según un guía turístico del parque, fue escalada por primera vez en julio de 1954 por un habitante de la zona, de nombre Luis Eduardo Villegas López. Actualmente se puede acceder a la cumbre subiendo sus más de 700 escalones construidos en un lado de la piedra. Cómo llegué hasta aquí? Partimos con unos buenos amigos desde Medellín, y tomamos la ruta más rápida por la autopista, Medellín- Bogotá. Luego la ruta fue cambiando en la medida que pasábamos por los diferentes y coloridos poblados, llenos de locales comerciales y en algunos casos, paisajes naturales, de montañas con frondosa vegetación. El recorrido nos tomó casi 2 horas, unos 90 kilómetros, hasta llegar al municipio Guatapé.

CIMG08271.jpg

IMG_0163.JPG

Me dió gusto ver desde lejos, lo impresionante de la Piedra, rodeado de montañas, mucha vegetación y de un embalse de agua construido por empresas públicas de Medellín. Se podía observar un cielo azul, aire limpio y fresco, así que estaba entusiasmado con conocer y subir la encumbrada piedra.
En la medida que nos acercamos al sitio con el carro, por la calle que lleva a el estacionamiento del parque, se podía ver más impresionante aun el Monolito. Aunque el piso del estacionamiento era de tierra, cosa que no lo esperaba, porque me imaginaba que pudiera estar asfaltado o revestido de piedras naturales, el sitio me pareció pintoresco. Había muchas tiendas de artesanías, souvenir, restaurantes de comida rápida, así como heladerías y snacks hechos de forma artesanal por los habitantes del pueblo cercano. Se sentía un ambiente de alegría entre las personas, niños con sus padres, muchos jóvenes y personas mayores, grupos grandes y pequeños, comiendo, tomándose fotos. Incluso no podía faltar la música vallenata que invitaba a algunos a bailar de forma improvisada, todo un espectáculo.

IMG_0137.JPG

Cuando llegué a la boletería, que estaba casi a los pies de la gran piedra, escuchaba lo que otros comentaban, de sus anécdotas, hacían chistes y propuestas de competencia sobre quien se atrevía a subir los más de 700 escalones o de quien llegaría primero. También escuché comentarios, de que algunos no realizaban todo el recorrido, porque las piernas les fallaban, les faltaba energías o el aliento, o sencillamente les daba miedo a partir de cierta altura ver lo alto que estaban. Incluso algunos llegaban hasta un mirador construido, mas o menos a la mitad de la piedra y de allí se devolvían. Lamentablemente, mi esposa y la esposa de mi amigo, estaban indispuestas para acompañarme en el recorrido, así que tuve que armarme de valor para subir solo y conocer la sensación de estar en la cima. Por lo que, después de comprar el boleto de entrada para subir, empecé el recorrido con optimismo.

IMG_0138.JPG

IMG_0162.JPG

En la medida que caminaba me di cuenta que había muchas personas subiendo como yo, y otras ya regresaban. También me fije en algunos tramos de la larga escalera, que estaban personas paradas tomando aire para continuar. Se observaba que entre ellas se brindaban apoyo unos con otros, aunque fuesen desconocidos, motivados con la meta en común de llegar a la cima. Mientras iba subiendo tomé algunas fotos para tener varias perspectivas del paisaje que regalaba el embalse o lago de agua que estaba al pie de la montaña. Tenía casas muy bonitas construidas alrededor de ella, también observé que la mayoría tenía acceso por carretera, pues se veían a lo lejos, pero había sitios o montículos con construcciones de casas exclusivas, que solamente se podía entrar a la propiedad en pequeñas embarcaciones por el embalse.

IMG_0140.JPG

IMG_0141.JPG

IMG_0142.JPG

IMG_0148.JPG

Pues, bien, una vez que llegué a la cima, después de 45 minutos subiendo, con el corazón acelerado y respirando agitado, tuve otras sensaciones. La primera fue vértigo, pues mientras subía, tal vez me ayudaba estar viendo las escaleras y demás estructuras que estaban integradas a la piedra, pero una vez en la cima, se abre de repente un telón donde puedes ver todo, las casas, las carreteras, los vehículos en miniatura. Además de la impactante vista de la represa y sus alrededores, así como otras instalaciones turísticas de la zona. De modo que al principio tuve que adaptarme a lo que veían mis ojos. En segundo lugar, la fuerte brisa que se sentía en la terraza, me daba la sensación de volar con ella, tenía ganas de gritar o compartir la euforia de haber llegado, pero como subí solo, me cohibí de hacerlo y más bien me limité a tomar las fotos para luego compartirlas. En la terraza estaba anclado una edificación en forma de castillo pequeño, que era utilizado como cafetín y tenia algunas tiendas de souvenir y artesanías donde los turistas podían comprar y llevarse un recuerdo del sitio.

IMG_0150.JPG

IMG_0152.JPG

IMG_0149.JPG

IMG_0153.JPG

IMG_0158.JPG

IMG_0151.JPG

IMG_0159.JPG

IMG_0154.JPG

Debo decir, que la sensación del vértigo me acompañó en todo el rato que estuve arriba en la terraza observando, tomando fotos y respirando el fuerte aire que pegaba allí, por lo que después de tal vez unos 15 minutos, empecé mi descenso. Así que más fue el tiempo que dediqué en subir y bajar, que el que me tomé en estar arriba, jajaja.
Pero una vez que llegué a la falda de la piedra, me sentí aliviado y contento de haber conocido esta maravilla natural y estar de nuevo con mi esposa y amigos.
Luego aprovechamos de tomarnos un refrigerio y visitar las tiendas. Nos marchamos para Medellín, satisfechos de haber visitado este hermoso lugar.

IMG_0166.JPG

El visitar este sitio, me ayudó a sentir temor reverencial por su creador, y es que cuando vemos una hermosa construcción hecha por alguien, es propio hacerle su reconocimiento, y destacamos sus habilidades demostradas en la obra. Por esto, con mucha más razón me queda claro que esta maravilla natural, es obra de un creador inteligente, que combina muchos elementos, para que nosotros los seres humanos podamos disfrutar de estas cosas. Esto me hace reconocer su gran poder, y sentir agradecimiento por las cosas hechas, lo que me hace sentir feliz y no creerme mejor o peor que otros, sino más bien reconocer con humildad que nuestra vida y el disfrute de ella depende de un Creador amoroso, que se interesa en la felicidad de cada uno de nosotros.

1638312997231.png

Las fotos son de mi propiedad. Así termina uno de mis paseos gratificantes, del que me da gusto compartirlo con ustedes. Espero que el recorrido que les mostré les haya sido de su agrado. Me despido hasta un próximo contacto, deseándoles un feliz fin de semana.

Separator:** Separadores de texto para Blog

Sort:  

Colmena-Curie.jpg

¡Felicidades! Esta publicación obtuvo upvote y fue compartido por @la-colmena, un proyecto de Curación Manual para la comunidad hispana de Hive que cuenta con el respaldo de @curie.

Si te gusta el trabajo que hacemos, te invitamos a darle tu voto a este comentario y a votar como testigo por Curie.

Si quieres saber más sobre nuestro proyecto, acompáñanos en Discord: La Colmena.


Gracias por apoyar mi trabajo.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you.

Congratulations @jossalvia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Que hermosa es la piedra del peñón, tiene unas vistas impresionantes desde allá arriba, espero visitarla pronto.

Vale la pena amiga @samgiset.life, además el pueblo es muy pintoresco, te recomiendo conocerlo.
Gracias por pasar y leer.

Increíble paisaje @jossalvia. Me encanta conocer lugares nuevos y ver la maravilla de la naturaleza, aunque sea a través de las fotografías de otros. Es muy impresionante esa piedra y lo que han hecho para que las personas puedan subir hasta la cúspide. Pero quizás es uno de los lugares que dejaría para visitar de último jajaja. Con simplemente verlo me da flojera. Si vamos en familia es posible que de querer subir, lo haga sola jajaja o solo con el valiente de mi hijo. Es un reto lograr llegar hasta al final, así que felicidades y gracias por compartir esa maravillosa experiencia 🙂.

Gracias @marbrym por pasar y leer, me da gusto compartir estás fotos.
Saludos.