Road trip into the Cape interior – a trip back in time to colonial South Africa

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



Just recently I was fortunate to have the opportunity to take a road trip into the interior region of the Western Cape province of my country of South Africa. Leaving my idyllic coastal residence was not easy for me as I was born and raised at the coast and have lived my entire life there. Still, the chance to visit a friend made it worth the effort to explore some of the lesser known parts of the region. The start of the mountain pass on the road to UniondaleThe start of the mountain pass on the road to Uniondale

Leaving the town of Plettenberg Bay in the “Garden Route” region, I drove inland over a particularly old and narrow mountain pass. It was a dirt road fit for an ox wagon and I wasn’t at all sure that my little city car would relate to the trek. Nevertheless, I made my way very slowly up the pass and into another world, compared to my familiar region of the coast.

Not much of a road but certainly a great passNot much of a road but certainly a great pass

On top of the pass the road was no more than a track made centuries ago by the look of it. This was the road to a town called Uniondale, one the other side of the mountain range that separates the south coast of Africa from the Karoo desert of the interior. They are worlds apart in climate and curiously also quite different in culture, architecture and style, as you will see.

Touring the harsh terrain by bicycle, a veteran travelerTouring the harsh terrain by bicycle, a veteran traveler

08-121442

While meandering slowly along my mountain pass, thinking my car was not up to such harsh conditions, I encountered the most unusual sight. Here I was worrying about the condition of my car on this road, when along came an even more resolute traveler...on a bicycle. He must be an international visitor. That was my first thought. No local would go to this much trouble. I could be wrong of course, but he had all his kit in saddle bags or whatever the cycling equivalent is. And he was peddling uphill with several kilograms of kit on his bicycle. What a legend. After that I couldn’t complain about my car at all, which was a luxury by comparison.

Totally independent with all kit on board ready to see the worldTotally independent with all kit on board ready to see the world

I remembered just how intrepid some digital nomads and international travelers can be, compared to my homely existence in my comfort zone at the most beautiful holiday tourist beach in the country. Here was a guy voluntarily pcking all his camping gear on a bicycle and tackling the most austere mountain pass I have even driven on...all for the pleasure of seeing the sights, I presume. That take endurance. We passed by each other so I didn’t get to find out where he was from.

Now you know where you are...in the middle of nowhereNow you know where you are...in the middle of nowhere

Along the dirt road, I was able to appreciate the sights of the valley below and had checked out the map of my route beforehand, so knew my way theoretically. The few road signs made it clearer as I ventured into this previously unknown hinterland that was so remote and devoid of civilization. Some of the really tight bends in the depths of the mountain pass itself had the most iconic names which were relics of a long forgotten past, when Afrikaner trekkers first ventured into this area three hundred years ago or thereabouts.

Some odd and curious names in the vernacular Afrikaans language, based on DutchSome odd and curious names in the vernacular Afrikaans language, based on Dutch

Some of the tightest parts of the pass allowed for only one vehicle, like the bridges across some streams. And the valleys or gorges were steep on either side, so it must have been quite an effort to carve out the original roadway in the previous centuries, using just manual labor with picks and shovels. Maybe they used some dynamite sometimes, I’m not sure. Still, it made for an awesome experience, like Dorothy leaving Kansas and heading down the yellow brick road.

”Convict’s Pass” just to remind you of the roots of this road"Convict's Pass" just to remind you of the roots of this road

One signpost said “Convict’s Grave”. Now that really painted a gritty picture in my mind of just how these roads were probably built or carved out of the sheer hard mountain rock face. They probably used convicts to do all the slave labor and some of them died in the effort to pave the way for us future generations.

A plaque commemorating the road engineerA plaque commemorating the road engineer

One of the pioneer road builders in this part of the world, known originally as the Cape colony, was a british engineer called Thomas Bain. He has a pass named after him in the Cape of Good Hope, my town of birth (aka Cape Town). And here on my trek I came across evidence of his work on this very mountain pass too. Before these roads were carved, I presume it was just a horse trail. And during the time that Bain built these roads, the Cape was part of the British Empire as a colony. The earlier Dutch settlers had been pushed out and further north, where they later founded Johannesburg and the northern provinces of today’s South Africa. That’s where all the gold was found, which the British and the Dutch “boers” or farmers then fought over.

Another oddly placed name in a random setting on the passAnother oddly placed name in a random setting on the pass

Eventually I made it out of the mountain pass and back to a tarred road and the first signs of civilization once more. But the towns were quite different in appearance and architecture compared to the modern popular towns I frequent back along the coast. They were archaic and from a distant past, and I will show you the architecture in my next blog post on my tour, so stay tuned for that in the coming episode. You will find it intriguing.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

I see myself in that guy on the bike. We see it as a fun way to travel. And feel the beauty more on the road by going slow and having to work hard to achieve it. Simple satisfaction

Haha that's classic Crazy I'm so glad you could relate. What an awesome life. We are blessed.

I love to visit such places and explore all it history. This place seems interesting too. Looks like you had a fun as well as an adventurous trip! :) Keep sharing stuff like these! :)

Hey there many thanks for your kind words. Yes it was an awesome time for me, I love exploring new terrain.

Congratulations @julianhorack! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!

Awesome many thanks team, let's rock this planet.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1404.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Awesome many thanks fellow traveler.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @julianhorack! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicholas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List