FROM LIMA ; CUSCO ; TO MACHU PICCHU - WONDERS TO BEHOLD IN PERU | Pinmapple If I had $1000 Contest

in Pinmapple3 years ago

pexelslukas1419944.jpg
Image of Peru by Lukas from Pexels

@haveyoubeenhere
@livinguktaiwan
2000 Hive contest to celebrate reaching 1000 Travel Digests

Pinmappleimage.png

This is my entry to the Pinmapple If I had $1000 Contest.

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

I'm fascinated by ancient history anywhere in the world where I can view monoliths, pyramids, geoglyphs, and old customsre. In marking off one of my bucket list items of places I'd like to visit, I've been given $1,000.00 by Pinmapple. I'm going traveling. First stop: PERU. And I'm going to visit for 2 weeks an interesting place full of sites, sounds, aromas, customs, and mysterious wonders of the world.

After reading @digi-me's post about his visit to Peru 15 years ago, I'm even more excited to plan my trip. Thanks for your awesome photos and description of the country.

Here's where I'm headed on my adventure:

Lima, Cusco, and Machu Picchu, PERU

Location: Western South America

Suggested Stay: At least 2 weeks

Estimated Cost: I plan to take $5,000.00

All travel guides suggest that I stay at least a week in order to take in all that the region has to offer. However, in order to accomplish everything on my to-do list in terms of sightseeing the different regions, I'll need two weeks. The cost of the trip might range between $3,000 and $4,000.00. No matter. I've been saving, so I'll just add the remainder to my $1,000 from Pinmapple. The bulk of the trip's cost is for air travel.

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

PERU is a country located in Western South America. It is bordered by four countries: Colombia, Bolivia, Chile, Brazil, Ecuador and the Pacific Ocean.1 Peru is famously known as the Land of the Incas. I'm more interested in their ancient history, architecture, and archeological treasures, so I'll spend most of my two weeks in Cusco and Mach Picchu to visit ancient ruins. I won't be surprised to see llamas and alpacas.
Where you spend most of your time is determined by your interests. If you love the main attractions Peru has to offer, then your stay will consist mostly in and around Lima.
However, my primary focus is to visit the Nazca Lines constructed by the ancient people. For that, I need to spend more time in Cusco. Then, I'll visit the ancient ruins in Machu Picchu.
Now, I'll begin my vacation. Come along with me.

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

DAY 1 - 4: LIMA, PERU

The Spanish called Lima "the King of Cities" when they founded it in 1535. It's the capital of Peru near the Pacific coast. I see there are several hotels to choose from for my stay, so that will not be a problem.

Lima will be my starting destination, since it will be the city I will fly into and out of on my return from visiting the other amazing sites in Peru.

There are just too many attractions to see in Lima. But I can't bypass the Basilica and Cathedral.

Tourists Attractions:

  • Plaza de Amas, Lima
  • Larco Museum
  • Cathedrals
  • Historical sites
  • Beautiful beaches
  • Park of The Reserves2

Plaza de Amas, Lima
This place is viewed as the core of the city, as well as its birthplace.

Plaza_de_Armas,_Lima,_Peru.jpg
Image of Plaza de Armas by Allan Grey from Wikipedia.org

Basicila and Cathedral
Isn't that a beautiful site.

Lima_Basilica_and_Cathedral.png
Image of the Basicila and Cathefral by By Capomo81 from Wikipedia.org

Park Of The Reserves
This beautiful water park is breathtaking. The Magic Water Tour, located in downtown Lima, will be an amazing site to stroll through when the sun goes down. I'll be able to take in the beauty of the water parks.


Food Culture
I'm not one to venture too much from my normal foods, but I've read the food in Peru is excellent and a must try..at least once. The local dishes I think will be something of an adventure itself.

cusco4476531_640.jpg
Image of Peruvian Food by JoseAlbertoAyala from Pixabay

cusco4484976_640.jpg
Image of Peruvian vendor by _Dianna from Pixabay


EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

DAY 5-8: Cusco

The entire city and surrounding area of Cusco has been designated by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site. I can understand this due to the cultural and historical importance of the ancient Inca people.

train43372_640.jpg
Image of train/railway station by LoggaWiggler from Pixabay

1280pxCusco_Peru_Night_City_Plaza.jpg
Image by Martin Lang from Wikipedia

Images of Cusco.

cusco1631689_640.jpg
Image of Cusco by jdbenthein from Pixabay

The Plaza de Amas in Cusco.

cusco3544704_640.jpg
Image of the Plaza de Amas by alfcermed from Pixabay

cusco143561_640.jpg
Image of Cusco street by renzonapa from Pixabay

The customs the people observe include figures from their history beautifully decorated.

cuscofestival2912872_640.jpg
Image of Festival by karlomanson from Pixabay

Cusco woman. Look at how beautifully clothed she is. The array of colors are amazing. The hand weaving is lovely.

!chola1994867_640.jpg
Image of Cusco woman by dehmarion from Pixabay

Nazca Lines
This next adventure I'll have to book a tour via plane to see the Nazca Lines. Lying about 200 miles southeast of Lima in Cusco lies is Peru's greatest mystery. There, over 300 geoglyphs related to animals, humans, and plants. Numerous theories exist as to why these impressions in the soil were made by the ancient Inca people. It's absolutely amazing the accomplishments of all ancient people in producing magnificent works that have withstood centuries of changes in climate and their surrounding environments to still be imprinted on this Earth for us to enjoy. It's our duty to preserve it all as best we can and not destroy.

Below are a few of these wonderful and mysterious lines:

NazcaSpider1024pxLíneas_de_Nazca,_Nazca,_Perú,_20150729,_DD_54.JPG
Image of Spider by Diego Delso from Wikipedia.org

NazcaHummingbird1280pxLíneas_de_Nazca,_Nazca,_Perú,_20150729,_DD_52.JPG
Image - Hummingbird by Diego Delso from Wikipedia


EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

DAY 9 - 11: Machu Picchu

Today, I'm traveling to Machu Picchu. It's located 70 miles southeast of Cusco. This city has been on my list of famous places to visit because it's the most popular tourist attraction and most visited place in Peru. Not only that, the city has now become one of new seven wonders of the modern world.

The city of Machu Picchu lies above The Sacred Valley. It contains complex structures from the Inca culture within the Machu Picchu Archaeological Park. It 's in a remote location. Most archeologists believe it was built as an estate for the Incan Emperor.4

MachuPinchhu1280pxMachu_Picchu,_Peru.jpg
Image by Pedro Szekely from Wikimedia.org

Sacred Valley
Known also for the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu is a breathtaking pilgrimage that should be placed on anyone's bucket list. The Sacred Valley lies between Cusco and Machu Picchu.

SacredValleyIncasOrig1280pxSacred_Valley_around_Pisaq,_Peru.jpg
Imge by Emmanuel DYAN from Wikimedia.org

peru298775_640.jpg
Image of the Sacred Valley by evita-ochel from Pixabay

sacredvalley563123_640.jpg
Image of the Sacred Valley by Loretta Lynn from Pixabay

cusco609473_640.jpg
Image of the Sacred Valley by ideasam from Pixabay

Pisac Marketplace
Of course, I'd be remiss if I didn't mention Pisac located at the mouth of the Sacred Valley. It is known also for its Incan ruins. Perhaps the famous aspect is marketplace. Every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday it holds events that attracts heavy tourism from nearby Cusco. 3

I'll definitely put this market on my list as I love to shop. My knees might not hold up with all the sightseeing and walking, so I'll have to figure out something so I can cruise the marketplace.

So happy I packed extra luggage to hold all my antiques and accessories I plan to purchase.

Final note from the travel agency. I was told not to haggle about price. I'll need help with that, as I'm always trying to secure a bargain.


EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

So, I've finished my adventure in Peru, ending in Machu Pichhu. I plan to return to Lima today. I'll rest before boarding the plane to return home. I must say, it was all I expected it to be.

I hope you enjoyed my layout of all that Peru has to offer.

If you'd like to join in this Pinmapple Contest, just visit the contest post above for details.

"If I had $1000” Writing Contest (700 HIVE)

First place 200 Hive
Second place 150 Hive
hird place 100 Hive.
Honourable mentions: 5 x 50 Hive (total 250 Hive).

  • Create your entry in the Haveyoubeenhere and Pinmapple community on the Hive blockchain.

  • In your own words, where would you travel and what places would you visit if you had US$1000 to spend? Be creative. Be passionate. Don't just write I'd go here, then here, then here. Furthermore, the $1000 amount is meant to inspire you and be a guide, it does not mean you have to provide an accurate cost breakdown of everything you would do. You might prefer to be on a shoestring budget trip with many stops, or blow it all on one night in a luxury hotel. Then of course there is everything in between. The choice is yours.

  • Get your inspiration from Pinmapple. Add at least one place that has been pinned to the map already and give someone's post a shout out.

  • You don't have to upvote it, especially if it's outside the payout window, but you do have to reference it. You can also reference your own posts if you would like to return somewhere, but don’t just copy and paste that text into your contest entry (we will check).

  • Original content only, no plagiarism.

  • Do not use other people's photos without their permission. Use your own photos or royalty-free ones from pixabay, unsplash etc.
    Use the tag #pinmapplethousand.
    You must add "This is my entry to the Pinmapple If I had $1000 Contest" to your post.

@traciyork 30-day blogging initiative #nablopomo (Day 20 : Published my Pinmapple If I Had $1000 Contest post today)

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallenge (Published a post for my blog today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.

1 Peru. Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peru

2 List of Tourist Attractions in Lima, Peru. Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_tourist_attractions_in_Lima

3 Pisac, Peru. Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pisac

4 Machu Picchu. Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Machu_Picchu

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

Ohhhhh machu pitchu I want to go there to. And Peru has the best and most Colorful clothing ever seen. I think it’s a great blog and a great pin for the map. We did a lot of them and encouraged a lot of redfishrally in our contest and teaching days !
I hope you win! Good luck dear and keep dreaming because that will give a smile on your face in these difficult days
Big hug

Peru has beautiful places. I have some friends who live there and I always see beautiful photos ... Today I saw your message on Discord

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 32 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @justclickindiva, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow amazing trip you had there have the best day
@justclickindiva
Thanks for sharing on Listnerds😎
!ALIVE
!CTP
!BBH

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work