Beautiful Sunday: walking street and musing on life.

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #beautifulsunday created by @ace108. I don’t know what to say about ‘time’ anymore. But I am trying hard to catch up with ‘time’. Unexpected things often crept up to change my plan and the diversion cost me more time and energy. That’s life! I thought my day was going to be boring but it often turned out to be a testing of my emotional stamina. I think all things that happen to me have some hidden purposes. So, it is very important for me to remind myself to be mindful and just don’t be swept away by fraying emotions. It’s just like stepping back so I look inside as if I am watching a movie. It’s easier days than done! There’s definitely changes in the energy flows from outer space; things are going to be beyond the control of even very powerful elites. Walking among the crowd of people near Chinatown was very helpful in grounding me to this dimensional reality, for I know deep down that part of me was originated from another planet far away.

img_9083.jpg

img_9082.jpg

During the weekend, I happened to take a short cut through the old Sampheng market just south of Chinatown. The walking street along the canal came to life during weekends. Many shops and street food stalls were getting ready for the evening. Musicians were busy with their musical instruments and gadgets.

img_9080.jpg

img_9079.jpg

The atmosphere was very different from the sleepy and quiet mood during weekdays. However I prefer the quiet walk I could enjoy by myself without crowds of people taking selfies by the paintings along the canal. It was easier for me to commune with the local spirits abs listening to their stories of the past.

img_9088.jpg

I could easily pick up the intense vibes from some vendors who were very eager to sell their goods. The slow down in economic activities has created more pressure on vendors to try to sell as much as possible during the weekend. So, their faces were no longer smiling or care free; that really put me off from going near these strong vibes. I did feel sorry for them, had they done some meditation they would become more mindful of their own thoughts and drives. The pressure for survival would cause more headache in the future.

img_9087.jpg

img_9086.jpg

All these things or happenings around me were teaching me about life and the Buddhist teaching on impermanence and sufferings. The teaching about the lotus growing up from muddy water came to my mind. The lotus leaf and flower emerged from muddy water without being full of mud. The mind could be bright and peaceful amidst the sea of confusing and negative energies, if that mind had the wisdom or understanding of Dhamma (nature of reality). At the essence, this understanding could not come to fruition without a deep sense of compassion. All these intangible tokens occupied most of the space in my brain. I do wish I could become enlightened in this life time.

img_9089.jpg

Looking at ordinary people, especially those in my families and relatives, I could see that their lives could have become more peaceful and satisfying, had they practice the Buddha’s teaching. Then, the concept of karmic rule filled me with a sense of equanimity; I would do some prayer and send out my compassion to all sentient beings.

img_9103.jpg

img_9090.jpg

Most people, who came to have a good time during the weekends, would not even know about two sacred shrines five minutes walk away. They were still stuck in the world pleasure and gratifications. It’s so difficult to find truly spiritual people nowadays. Most just wanted to have rituals performed by well known astrologers to bring in more wealth and success. That’s why there are so many fake astrologers and psychics making money from desperate clients these days.

img_9104.jpg

img_9092.jpg

The blue sky and the sunset cheered my spirit up and they beckoned me to hurry on my way. My walk through narrow alleyways in this old part of Bangkok always made me very nostalgic of my childhood. My mother,who used to take me along her shopping trips in this old market, had no idea her little kid had become a very different person from all her expectations. Luckily I turned out the best among the big hoard of cousins and siblings in terms of self-sufficiency lifestyle and satisfying career, though I was still regarded as a black sheep of the family.

img_9100.jpg

img_9099.jpg

Seeing these Chinese-Thai people working so hard till their old age always saddened my heart. They should not be toiling away at that age and should be looked after by their grownup children. They reminded me of my Chinese grandparents who were lucky to enjoy some wealth later on. I often quietly prayed for mercy from Kuan Yin (Bodhisattva) to heal all these hard working people. Wherever I go, I always look at people, life and reality from a Buddhist lens, which enabled me to be more understanding and compassionate.

img_9095.jpg

img_9094.jpg

img_9096.jpg

สุดสัปดาห์ก่อนเราไปจ่ายตลาดแถวสำเพ็ง ตอนขากลับเราเดินผ่านทางลัดตามตรอก แล้วบังเอิญมาโผล่ที่คลองโอ่งอ่าง วันนั้นมีคนมาเดินเที่ยวกันหนาแน่นตั้งแต่ตอนบ่าย ทุกวันสุดสัปดาห์ถนนคนเดินที่คลองโอ่งอ่างเปิดบริการจนถึงสี่ทุ่ม จะมีร้านอาหารและร้านขายของที่ระลึกมาเปิดขายของหลายสิบเจ้า ร้านค้าแถวนั้นและร้านอาหารก็เปิดกันจนดึก ทุกคนพยายามค้าขายให้ได้มากที่สุดในช่วงเสาร์อาทิตย์

img_9098.jpg

img_9097.jpg

บรรยากาศเปลี่ยนจากวันธรรมดาที่เงียบสงบ และปลอดโปร่งจากผู้คน เราชอบเดินในวันธรรมดามากกว่า เพราะเงียบและถนนค่อนข้างสะอาด เราสามารถเดินช้าๆค่อยๆชมวิว และคิดหวนถึงอดีตสมัยเป็นเด็กที่ต้องมาเดินตามแม่ไปซื้อของที่สำเพ็งนี้ เราได้มีเวลาสงบๆคิดย้อนกลับไปในอดีต และเรียนรู้เรื่องข้อผิดพลาดของคนในครอบครัวของตนเอง เราจะได้เรียนรู้เรื่องการปล่อยวาง และการใข้ชีวิตอย่างมีสติและการรักษาหลักการของศีลห้าในพุทธศาสนา เราเห็นเลยว่าคนในครอบครัวที่ละเลยการรักษาศีลนั้น ชีวิตจะลำบากและไม่ค่อยสงบสุข เราก็ต้องทำใจเพราะกฎแห่งกรรมนั้นทำงานตลอดเวลา เราเห็นตัวเองตอนเป็นเด็กเดินอยู่ตามตรอกในสำเพ็ง ใครจะคิดว่าเด็กตัวน้อยได้กลายเป็นผู้ใหญ่ที่เปลี่ยนแปลงไปมาก เราโชคดีมากที่มีการเปลี่ยนแปลงไปในทางที่ดีและเป็นบวกมากกว่าหลายๆคนในหมู่ญาติพี่น้อง ทั้งนี้ต้องเป็นเพราะอานิสงส์ของการที่ได้ปฎิบัติธรรมมานั่นเอง

img_9106.jpg

img_9105.jpg

เราเห็นแม่ค้าไม่ค่อยยิ้มและดูค่อนข้างเครียดกับความลำบากเพราะเศรษฐกิจที่แย่มาก เขาคงไม่รู้ตัวว่ากำลังส่งพลังลบออกมาไล่ลูกค้า เราก็พยายามเดินห่างๆกระแสพลังแบบนี้ตลอด เวลาเห็นคนแก่ต้องมาทำงานหนักและขายของนั้น เรามีความสงสารมาก และคิดว่าเขาควรจะหยุดทำงานได้แล้ว ลูกหลานน่าจะคอยดูแลพวกเขาได้แล้ว เราก็ได้แต่สวดมนต์และแผ่เมตตาขอให้ชีวิตเขามีความสุขสบายมากขึ้น เราคิดว่าคนที่มาเดินเที่ยวแถวนี้ คงไม่รู้ว่าไม่ไกลนักมีศาลเจ้าที่มีพลังดีๆ ที่น่าจะไปไหว้เพื่อเป็นศิริมงคล และรับพลังดีๆกลับไปด้วย แต่คนส่วนใหญ่ชอบไปจ้างหมอดูทำพิธี เพราะสะดวกและรวดเร็ว คนส่วนใหญ่ทำบุญด้วยการซื้อบุญ เขาไม่เข้าใจคำสอนทางพุทธศาสนาและเขาไม่เข้าใจเรื่องการมีศีลห้า เราก็หวังว่าคนที่เรารู้จักในครอบครัวและญาติพี่น้องคงจะมีดวงตาเห็นธรรมมากขึ้นเรื่อยๆ เพราะอนาคตเต็มไปด้วยความไม่แน่นอน เราเองคงต้องเร่งปฎิบัติธรรมให้สม่ำเสมอด้วย

img_9084.jpg

img_9101.jpg

img_9078.jpg

img_9085.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you very much for your good work!

hmm... so many red lanterns around.
you guys put it up other than Chinese New Year?

I guess they are for the Thai New Year in mid April. We have four days’ holiday right now!! Roads are very quiet.

There are always a lot of people on the streets!
You might think that no one is working ;-)))

Well, it’s the weekend!

There are few people on the streets in Cyprus and on weekends.
There are still limitations

A very nice walking street along the canal 😃 Wish you a HaPpY Songkran @kaminchan 😉

Thank you very much! Yup! It’s Songkran without throwing water!!🙀😻😻

If you're the black sheep, they would have ex-communicated me right at birth... 🤣 Everyone has their own virtues and faults. Only God can judge.

Quite right! Thanks.

It's always a pleasure to tour the streets with you.

I wish I could be the lotus that emerges without mud. It's something to think about.

Thank you very much for your kind support.
Yep! I also wondered about the lotus after I saw it in real life. No matter how dirty the water is in the pond, the lotus leaves and flowers always come up from the water clean and untouched by the mud.

The Buddha told his students to be like the lotus flower. So, I should learn to live peacefully amidst very annoying or frustrating situation. One would need a lot of wisdom and the presence of mind to do this! Quite difficult! 😂😻😻