Stalking a vendor who led me to the best PadThai in Bangrak, ผัดไทที่บางรัก

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #thaiphotocontest76 on food photography hosted by @thaiteam. Two weeks ago I was taking photos of street food in a side street in Bangrak, just opposite Robinson mall. As I was quietly taking photos of all the vendors and their food stalls, I was shocked to find out that a vendor has been following me around. She asked me in very loud voice why I was taking detailed photos of everything. After explaining to her about being a writer or blogger who wanted to promote this area as a tourist spot on the internet, she became very nice and urged me to take photos of her sweet stall. I felt so embarrassed that I decided to stalk her back after my lunch meeting with my old friends.

img_6239.jpg

(The vendor who quietly stalked me.)

I did manage to follow her around as she left her stall to have her lunch at a small PadThai stall in a narrow alley. Initially I just wanted to show her the photos I took and an example of a previous post on the area. I did surprise her in return by tapping on her shoulder to say that I would be back to show her the post after it has been published. It was late in the afternoon and she was about to order her lunch. I noticed this PadThai stall belonged to a very old lady whose body was slightly deformed. So, I decided to hang around to observe how the old lady managed to prepare PadThai all by herself. Her ability to be totally independent and capable of being responsible for all the detailed work was really awesome and wonderful. I took some photos and dashed off in a hurry but I promised myself to get back there to get some PadThai soon.

FBFD7BFE82394ABE8BC37153DC06CFAC.jpeg

img_6362.jpg

Finally I managed to visit this PadThai stall a few days later. This time I chatted with the old lady and ordered a take-away PadThai. Her friends were sitting at a table having lunch while staring at me taking photos of the vendor. I told her that I wished to promote her PadThai so she would have more customers. The three old ladies became very friendly and were very obliging. I could arrange bottles and buckets for better framing of the photos. The old vendor is eighty-one years’ old and she has been selling PadThai for the last thirty years!

2E642C9345B742F4859EF8D029C04F77.jpeg

img_6365.jpg

The old lady prepares all the ingredients herself everyday; she grinds the chili and peanuts by hands, she carefully cuts the tofu into small pieces and roasts the red chili herself. The PadThai sauce is freshly made with sour tamarind,coconut sugar and other ingredients. In the afternoon, she has to scrub all the heavy pots and pans herself everyday too. She seems like a wonder-woman or iron-lady to me. I could never imagine myself to be able to do heavy work at eighty years old. She’s chatting happily like a teenage girl showing how proud she is of her own accomplishment during my interview. How could an eighty years old lady still earn her own living by cooking PadThai everyday?! Her lively fighting spirit is very infectious. I totally forget the fact that she has some deformity with her spine and could not hold her head straight. This handicap seems irrelevant to her ability to fend for herself single-handedly. But I wish she would have some younger family members to help and look after her too.

img_6572.jpg

The PadThai stall is in front of the old cinema (Prince Rama) which has turned into a hostel and restaurant.

img_7285.jpg

img_7286.jpg

I had my PadThai without any sugar, red chili and MSG; so it did not have strong taste except for the sour tamarind sauce and lemon juice. It was very kind of her to follow my request; though her friends thought I had very weird taste for PadThai. I was happy to know that all the ingredients were freshly made, clean and healthy. I gave her fifty baht instead of forty baht. She thanked me with a big smile. I did enjoy my PadThai at home with added chili sauce and more lemon juice. It was so nice to meet lively old lady whose cheerfulness in cooking PadThai made it such a memorable experience.

31A23D6A807942A39E3BD06EB6936458.jpeg

img_7275.jpg

img_7276.jpg

เราบังเอิญไปเจอร้านผัดไทที่ดีมากในบริเวณเขตบางรัก เมื่อสองสัปดาห์ก่อนเราไปเดินถ่ายรูปที่ถนนศรีเวียง ตรงข้ามกับห้างโรบินสัน เราโดนคนขายขนมครกสะกดรอยตามเราตลอดทาง และตะโกนถามเราว่ามำไมจึงถ่ายรูปมากมายขนานนั้น และทำไปเพื่ออะไร เราก็อธิบายว่าเราเป็นนักเขียนเรื่องท่องเที่ยว และเราต้องการโปรโมทสถานที่แก่งนี้ให้เป็นจุดที่นักท่องเที่ยวมาแวะกินข้าวกัน เขาก็ดีใจในความตั้งใจของเรา และบอกให้เราถ่ายรูปร้านจองเขาด้วย เราต้องการเอาคืนที่เขามาสะกดรอยตามเราเงียบๆ พอเราไปกินข้าวกลางวันกับเพื่อนเราเสร็จ เราก็กลับมาสะกดรอยคนขายขนมครกบ้างเป็นการเอาคืน

img_7269.jpg

img_7278.jpg

เราเพียงอยากจะให้เขาดูรูปที่เราถ่ายไป และให้ดูบทความที่เราเคยเขียนเกี่ยวกับบางรัก แต่เขาพาเราเดินไปตามถนนจนไปหยุด อยู่ที่หน้าร้านขายผัดไท เขาไปสั่งผัดไทกินเป็นอาหารกลางวัน เราเห็นคนขายเป็นหญิงชราที่มีความพิการทางกระดูกสันหลัง เราก็ยืนสังเกตว่าเขาจะทำผัดไทอย่างไร เราทึ่งมากที่หญิงชราคนนี้สามารถหาเลี้ยงตนเองได้ เราถ่ายรูปนิดหน่อยแล้วต้องรีบกลับ แต่เรากสัญญากับตนเองว่าจะกลับมาลองชิมผัดไทให้ได้ แล้วอีกสามวันต่อมา เราก็กลับมาอีก เราสั่งผัดไทไปกินที่บ้านหนึ่งห่อ

2F052F5008F64B5C9EECF206CD0B7A63.jpeg

img_7272.jpg

img_7273.jpg

คนขายผัดไทมีอายุแปดสิบเอ็ดปี และขายผัดไทมาแล้วกว่าสามสิบปี หญิงชราคนนี้มีความผิดปกติที่กระดูก เธอไม่สามารถยืนตรงโดยให้ศีรษะตั้งตรงได้ แต่นั่นไม่ใช่อุปสรรคในการทำมาหากินเพื่อเลี้ยงชีพตนเอง เธอบอกว่าส่วนแระกอบทกุอย่างนั้น เธอเตรียมเองหมด ตั้งแต่ตำพริก คั่วพริกป่น ทำถั่วลิสงคั่ว หั่นเต้าหู้เป็นลูกเต๋าเล็กๆ ทำนํ้าราดผัดไทเอง ทุกอย่างต้องทำด้วยมือตนเองทุกวัน ของจึงสดและสะอาด พอตอนเย็นก็ต้องขัดล้างหม้อและกระทะด้วยตนเอง เราทึ่งและงงมากที่เห็นหญิงชราที่มึความพิการ สามารถหาเบี้ยงตนเองได้อย่างสง่างาม เสียงของเธอมีความสดใสร่าเริง แสดงความภาคภูมิใจเวลาเล่าเรื่องต่างๆให้เราฟัง เราชื่นชมและนับถือความเป็นนักสู้ชีวิตของหญิงชราคนนี้มากๆ แต่เราก็อยากเห็นคนในครอบครัวเธอมาคอยช่วยและดูแลเธอบ้าง เรากลับมาชิมผัดไทที่บ้าน เราไม่ได้ให้เขาใส่น้ำตาล ผงชูรสหรือพริกป่น มันจึงค่อนข้างจืด เราก็ต้องใส่ซอสพริกและบีบมะนาวใส่เพิ่ม รสชาดอร่อยตามแบบของเราที่ชอบกินอาหารสะอาดและมีรสไม่จัด เราดีใจมาที่ได้เจอผัดไทที่ถนนศรีเวียง หญิงเจ้าของร้านทำให้เรามีตัวอย่างดีๆ สำหรับการใชัชีวิตอย่างมีพลังความรื่นเริง และ ภูมิใจในความสามารถของตนเอง เราก็หวังว่าหญิงผัดไทคนนี้ คงมีสุขภาพแข็งแรงและมีลูกค้ามาอุดหนุนอย่างต่อเนื่อง และขอให้เธอสามารถหารายได้มากพอกินพอใช้ตลอดไป

img_7277.jpg

img_7281.jpg

img_7282.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay warm and cheerful.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you very much for your kind support and great map!

This is a lovely post @kaminchan, I loved how you expressed the human side of the Thai people and food. It wasn't quite a travel post so wasn't curated by Pinmapple, so I nominated it OCD for support instead. Thanks for sharing

Hi! Thank you very much for your generous support. I am glad you found the story interesting and wonderful in a human relationship aspect. I was quite touched by all the vendors in this area. They are all on first name term; it’s like walking in a small village market where everyone knows each other and helps looking after each other. You won’t see this in various food courts in shopping malls!

All the best!

Often the best food is homemade on the streets. The only thing that may put people off is the hygiene, especially if you're not used to Asian culture. Personally for me, if the raw ingredients looks fresh and aren't placed on the ground and I can see the dish freshly cooked in high temperature, normally I'm ok. You're certainly doing a great job in promoting them!

It really is amazing to think that an eighty year old supports herself with hard work and even a bad spine. That would not likely happen here. I have known thirty year old's that claim health problems and collect government disability checks even though they seem fine.

Anyway I really wish I had some of that Pad Thai right now!

Yep! This old lady just overwhelmed my sense perception with respect and admiration. Her high spirit and cheerfulness are just wonderful! She’s always smiling and cheerful. She didn’t blame her destiny or feel sorry for herself!

She’s a shining example of fighting spirit and optimism!

She’s very generous with the diced tofu and dried shrimps too!

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Wonderful! Thanks for your lovely support!

Have a nice day!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you very much for your kind support!

Have a nice day!

You've got an interesting and "tasty" walk :-)

Yup! Thanks! Glad you like these food photos.