If I had $1000... I would go on a camper trip on the Wild Atlantic way (in Ireland) and visit Connemara National Park

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

emmy-c-O5tj59BZghk-unsplash.jpg
Source: Unsplash

I have already written one article in the contest about exotic Japanese islands, but of course I have a lot of travel ideas and in this post I would like to write about another - a camper trip on the wild, west coast of Ireland.

ir1a.jpg

I would start my journey from the South West of Ireland. I would visit the places I wrote about in the blog posts once again, namely the amazing cliffs of Kilkee and the cliffs of Moher.

kli1a.jpg

kli3a.jpg

Visiting these amazing places, seeing the power of the ocean up close would charge me with good energy for the further route. It would lead along the ocean. Driving, I would have wonderful views on my left.

ireland-2902_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

At night, I would probably set up a camper in such a place that I could have a view of the ocean from the green hill, and during the day I would eat meals in such surroundings.

manuel-meurisse-flWsg878m_I-unsplash.jpg

Source: Unsplash

If the weather was nice, I would put a blanket on the meadow, thanks to which I would feel connected with the surrounding nature. I would probably not be alone, because you can often find a lot o birds, sheep, cows, and other animals grazing on the nearby meadows on the way.

puffin-5404178_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

ireland-2324895_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

I would definitely visit Irish castles on the way. Or maybe I would even spend the night in one (if it's legal). It could be an amazing experience.

castle-2695680_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

dunguaire-castle-2435562_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Driving north, I would visit the city of Galway. I wrote an article about this town once. This is my favorite town in Ireland. If I were lucky, I could come across an artistic festival taking place there and visit tourist attractions that I haven't seen yet.

house-3175921_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Connemara National Park

con ma.jpg

Source: openstreetmap

After visiting Galway, I would go to an amazing natural place that my wild soul always craved and which I wanted to visit for a long time, but unfortunately I have not had the opportunity so far - Connemara National Park.

ireland-1977895_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

The most common vegetation in Connemara National Park are western blanket bog and heathland. The most bountiful plant is purple moorgrass.

ireland-1971997_1920.jpg
Source: Pixabay

There are no crowds of tourists there, if someone like me loves large spaces with wild nature, very secluded areas, Connemara is perfect.

ireland-4533594_1920.jpg
Source: Pixabay

ireland-5267777_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

When I read about Connemara, I really liked the name of the popular mountain peak - Diamond Hill. It is situated on a cone-shaped mountain.

500 metres high, Diamond Hill rises above the small village of Letterfrack. This is one of the finest hikes in the country. It commands huge ocean, island and mountain views in all directions. From its sharp edge summit it looks down on Kylemore Abbey and deep into the Twelve Bens mountain range. On the slopes of the mountain are the remains of an abandoned 19th century farm and a megalithic tomb built by the first farmers of the area 5,000 years ago.

Source: connemara.net

ireland-1971994_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Walking, bird watching, recognizing plant species I did not know before. If I went there, I would probably create a blog post with lots of my own photos :)

ireland-3800814_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Hope to visit this place someday. It would also be nice to have a camper trip around Ireland.

panorama-2407492_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

This is my entry to the Pinmapple If I had $1000 Contest

Sort:  

Oh gosh yes that would be amazing! I've been to some parts of Ireland but many years ago now - in fact, when I got to Dublin via ferry, it was THAT September 11th, so it was pretty intense. Still, I loved the Dingle Peninsula and enjoyed what I saw of it.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!