The view from the Brooklyn Bridge over the skyline of New York and a walk on Brighton Beach

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hi Hive friends!
Have you ever been to New York or dreamed of a New York trip? Then you feel like I did a few years ago. New York was always one of the places I definitely wanted to visit and was on top of the list (and admittedly: there are a lot of places on this list :D). Some time ago it was then so far: A friend and I were looking for a vacation destination and it fell on New York. I can still remember that I was very excited at the departure, what would expect me in the U.S.. The flight didn't feel as long as I thought and then we had already landed. Today I'd like to tell you a little bit about the trip to the Brooklyn Bridge and Brighton Beach, in my next post I adnn take you to more places on our trip.

Once the longest suspension bridge in the world

8759e4a5-3789-44b0-aec6-8df7ec9b0cf5 (2).jpg
It wasn't super sunny weather, but at least it didn't rain. The Brooklyn Bridge is probably one of the most famous bridges in the world and the skyline was breathtaking. It connects the boroughs of Brooklyn and Manhattan and is the oldest bridge over the East River (it was completed in 1883). Before it was completed, people use ferries to cross the river. It was the longest suspension bridge in the world for about 20 years!
7b756745-dce8-4ac0-93bf-7ce289d2e690.jpg
which of course we immediately noticed everywhere when we walked around New York - all the bright yellow cabs. This reminded me a bit of the also very unusual color pink in Bangkok, Thailand.
342e3adf-7d33-40af-90be-655aae10192a.jpg
The construction of the bridge and the planning has unfortunately something sad about it: The construction engineer John Roebling had taken over the project and he had the idea when one day, when he wanted to cross the East River, he got stuck with the ferry because it was too cold. It took some time until he finally got the building permit, but then finally at the start of construction, he seriously injured himself and died as a result. His son took over the project; he had worked with his father many times before. The son also suffered an illness related to the construction process of the bridge, the so-called caisson disease (also called diver's disease) - he was from then on in a wheelchair. I did not know about these backgrounds to the famous bridge and thought I would share them with you, even though they are not so beautiful.
63ab8d70-e0bb-4163-8541-4631a38648f8.jpg
The bridge is one of the landmarks of New York. We preferred to discover it on foot - the bridge was also a little bit crooked, so it was very pleasant to walk on it (seen from Brooklyn to Manhattan). In total, we must have spent a whole hour on the bridge. It's easy to get there on the subway until you get to High st. You can find the entrance with a sign on Washington Street. Everything here is very tourist-oriented:) Often we also heard people next to or behind us, who also did not speak English with each other, there were a lot of tourists here.
3318e0b8-c240-4f0f-a5cf-385dbf9e6d24.JPG
Here's another photo of a kind of bar that I found super tasty and that also doesn't exist like this in Germany-at least I've never seen it in Germany. He was super crispy and if you are ever in New York, I can only recommend it to you!:)
Admittedly, you can of course also order them to take home, which I also considered.
aa4397d4-4385-4b09-b677-932688e9efa8.jpg
Brighton Beach
Immigrants from all parts of the former Soviet Union settled here on Brighton Beach. Russian is also spoken in some places. It is located at the end station of the Hochnahn and so we reached it relatively comfortably. What we also noticed: Here were significantly fewer tourists than at the Brooklyn Bridge - which is perhaps due to the one hour drive, or because everything is a bit more spacious. There is even a "St. Petersburg Bookstore"!
2f5bfc77-9586-4544-bd4a-495deeb0959d.jpg
3b73605c-f2aa-4b46-b124-7b8a453ba1d2.jpg

Nathan's shop on Brighton Beach

Later, we thought a perfect day in the city with the beautiful skyline would be topped off with a little beach walk- and headed to Brighton Beach! Here also some films were already shot, as you may know - eg Requiem for a dream or Two lovers. Unfortunately it was still a little cloudy, but we still found it beautiful. Later we got some hot dogs at Nathan's shop- we can recommend it very much! It takes about an hour to get there by Subway.
7fbb90ae-162d-47b9-a0f2-4aa37010a5b5.jpg
In 1916 the history of Nathan's Famous Store began with a single small hot dog stand, today it is a true force in the food business.
f7855c53-c9d6-4258-b7b9-c5c461ab5f69(2).jpg
At the beach we even found some nice shells - how do you like them? I do not know why, but whenever I'm on vacation I have the need to take one, two shells on the beach, so to speak, as a souvenir of the vacation. Most of the time I do not do it, what if everyone would do it? Nevertheless, I have a few pictures for you.
c3d0e281-cce4-43d6-81d7-b9216e654484.jpg
ee308d11-4a0d-4b00-9aa0-a3e6a94f778e.JPG
543bffe8-5ddc-4c1b-bc25-20d66375898b.JPG
5a3eac37-be2c-40f6-bc30-c98020f84a6d.JPG
After some time on the beach, however, it was getting chilly and the wind was picking up, so we decided to head back to the hotel. We still had a whole week ahead of us:) The day was full of impressions for us- huge crowds and everything felt extra big- different from what we were used to, but very exciting.
This year I will absolutely love to travel to New York again, maybe in winter- they say that New York has a special flair in winter and skating in the middle of these high-rise buildings would also be a dream! :) Would you rather go there in summer or in winter? If you've been to New York before, do you have any other secret tips for beautiful corners?
I hope you enjoyed my post about the trip in New York. In the next posts I will show you more beautiful corners of this great city. I hope you have a nice day!

Sort:  

I wish I have been here, nice post, thanks for sharing. You take amazing pictures too

if you go there let me know what you think about the beach and bridge:) thank you!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

thanks a lot for showing me @poshtoken and for posting on twitter @madushanka ! Its great to spread hive over to centtralized social media to get attention:)

Brooklyn Bridge is a legend, I saw it in some movies. And today you showed it in real. Thank you.

its really it! and so so big:) thanks for commenting;)

new york is wonderful

Oh yes it is definitly!

beautiful place, a must visit once in a lifetime, thanks for sharing! :)

this is what i think too, the us is amazing i wanna see more of it soon:) thanks for commenting:)

I have to tell you that my dream is to go to America, more precisely to New York and its surroundings, but for now it remains just a dream, because it is very difficult for me to get there for two reasons, one is the visa is hard to get and the second reason is the cost of such a holiday.
But until then I'm glad I can read and see my dream in the blogs of nice people.
Thank you for carrying me on the wings of the wind in these amazing areas.

i'm sure you'll achieve your dream if you stick to it. i can understand why the usa and new york are a dream for many people... the land of unlimited possibilities, as they say. even if you "only" go there for a holiday, you can feel it somehow. even if it has certainly changed again in recent years... yes, i can imagine that. for me as a german, i don't think it was that difficult to get a visa back then... but for a few weeks' holiday it should actually work out, shouldn't it? And i have to admit, new york was very expensive, a breakfast with cornflakes and milk already cost 30 dollars and that a few years ago! thank you very much for your lovely comment!:)

I have never been to New York yet and that suspension bridge is crazy.
We have one here in Vancouver, but its way smaller.

the bridge is so big and really amazing:) oh vancouver!! you have a cool place to live haha:)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much for the support again! It´s really appreciated:)

That's a really cool bridge. The walking path is really cool. That's good that you had a famous hotdog while you were there. I guess that would be considered a local delicacy

Ha ha. Even as an American I think that everyone should get hot dogs on the street in New York City!

That and pizza! right?

Yes, I think so, too. The bridge was a lot longer than I thought, but that way you can enjoy the view for longer

Think of a man that got so pissed off about waiting that he decided to build a bridge! I had to search for the caisson disease and damn, it sounds awful. Did you count how many bolts that bridge has? 😂

Yes, he must have waited a really long time or been very impatient, but he was full of energy! :D Unfortunately, the disease sounds really bad, at that time you probably didn't really know much about it. Unfortunately I didn't count them, how many do you estimate she has?

I got myself in trouble for that question, because I can't find the answer \o
I only found that the Empire State building used 100,000 rivets so I imagine the bridge might be on that range or more

100,000 rivets sounds a lot, of course it could be that the bridge is in the league. It's always admirable what people have created.

Die Geschichte der Brooklyn Bridge hört sich wirklich traurig an.. aber der Ausblick ist einfach atemberaubend.. so eine skyline hab ich noch nicht gesehen. Danke für den Tipp mit dem Riegel, wenn ich in nächster Zeit nicht in die USA komme werde ich ihn mir vielleicht mal bestellen haha!

Ja, so eine Geschichte hätte ich mir auch gar nicht gedacht. Die Skyline ist auf jeden Fall einen Besuch wert! Na klar, vielleicht magst du mir ja dann einen mitbestellen haha?!

Haha sehr gerne, du musst mir nur sagen welche Sorte:) Dann haben wir ein bisschen USA- Feeling in Deutschland:)

Oh yay I love NYC too. I didn't know that about the Roeblings. The Brooklyn Bridge is super great to talk across. I haven't been to Brighton Beach.

I didn't know either, my friend told me about the misfortune. Brighton beach is a really nice place, probably even more so in summer :) Thanks for looking!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1471.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I really like the feel of the bridge, the suspension, looks so old! I can see how one can spend 1 h here 😁
And as to shells, I am even worse. I have bags of shells and don't know what to do with them. But I still keep collecting them every time I am at the beach 🤣 And that's a person who grew up by the beach .... 😏
So you are alright!

Oh yes, you just have to enjoy this view!:) Haha that's good to know that I'm not alone with collecting, I always felt a bit weird but it feels good to know that I'm not the only one with this habit!:) Growing up on the beach must be beautiful.