If I Had $1,000 (and the Confidence), I'd Pack My Bags to The Emerald Isle

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Hello, Hivers!

It's been a while.

I know I've been MIA for 2 months. I would like to say I was busy, but it's more of shirking in a lot of areas in my life. I kinda miss the purposeful months of July, August, and September. But it's a cycle, some days are just heavy-laden.

Anyhow, what pushed me to come back is @pinmapple's milestone celebration of reaching 1,000 travel digests. This is one way of showing appreciation to the team's support as they've featured a few of my travel posts in their digests. As a first-time blogger, it meant a lot to me when they recognized my first travel series in Japan. I wasn't sure if my posts deserved attention, but when @pinmapple especially thru @livinguktaiwan, @choogirl, and @lizanomadsoul recognized my work, I truly felt welcomed and relieved that I may have a place in the Hive platform. So, it's only fitting that I participate in their milestone.

This is my entry to the Pinmapple "If I Had $1,000' Writing Contest.

When I thought of the contest title, without any hesitation or much thought whatsoever, what came up to my mind is my dream destination...

Adventure Script Travel Facebook Cover.png

Ireland: The Emerald Isle

I fell in love with Ireland after I watched the 2010 romantic comedy film, "Leap Year", starring Amy Adams and Matthew Goode.

Image from IMDb

I was dazzled by everything!

Green landscapes.
Irish music.
Irish accent.
Castles.
Rock cliffs.

I fell in love with the simplicity of driving down narrow roads which can be blocked anytime by cows or sheep. Going to pubs and dancing to lively Irish music. My most favorite of all, listening to them Irish people talk! This is probably why I love listening to Irish or Scottish actors--Saoirse Ronan and James McAvoy, for example.

Now, hold up. I know $1,000 will not even cover half of my dream Irish trip. It'll probably just cover a cheap roundtrip ticket Manila-Dublin vv. Or maybe get a one-way ticket and live off of my cousin who's staying in Ireland for work. I could find a job there just to survive to live my Irish dream. Hahaha! Thinking of settling down in Ireland sounds...cozy. Comfortable. Homely. Come to think of it, I never really had a specific spot in mind why I want to go to Ireland. I just want to be surrounded by lush greens. It's as simple as that.

But I still got to grow balls for that to happen.

In the meantime, I gotta use this inspiration to have a rough outline of where I'd go to Ireland. They say a goal without a plan is just a dream. Well, I better start planning! Here are the Top 5 destinations I want to visit in Ireland--both the Republic and Northern Ireland.

Cliffs of Moher at County Clare, Ireland

Image by @eoinderham @ Pixabay

Image by @rocinante_11 @ Unsplash

I mean, look at that beauty. Watching the sunset near the edge of the cliff brings solace to the spirit, I would imagine. I'm itching to feel the cool breeze and the sound of the sea waves already! I could also imagine the dragons of Khaleesi flying above the clouds. Lol. Speaking of, one of the main reasons that excite me to go to Northern Ireland is visiting film locations of Game of Thrones!

Shoutout to @r00sj3's Ireland & the back arse of nowhere #2: Cliffs of Moherand @crimsonclad's Sunset at the Edge of the World — O'Brien's Tower as Night Falls O'er the Cliffs of Moher featuring the Cliffs of Moher.

Game of Thrones Tour at Belfast, Northern Ireland

Image from from Gameofthronestours.com

Image by @phoebezzf @ Unsplash

I'm an avid fangirl, and part of that is being a film nerd. To prove that, I know that Belfast, Northern Ireland is the second home to the Game of Thrones' actors, particularly the Starks. Most of the film locations for Winterfell and the Iron Islands are in Belfast.

Thanks to pinmapple's challenge, I now have an idea of how much the tour costs. According to Game of Thrones Tours, the Winterfell Trek and the Iron Islands Tour from Belfast costs as low as 45 British pounds. The guide is an extra from the HBO series, so they have firsthand experience of how the filming went in a location. You get to dress up as a Stark! Haha, the nerdy me gets so hyped with all this info.

Titanic Museum at Belfast, Northern Ireland



Picture by @kmitchhodge @ Unsplash



Image by Irek Marcinkowski from Pixabay

 
One of my early memories as a child is watching James Cameron's Titanic. It's one of the reasons why my favorite song of Celine Dion's is My Heart Will Go On. Aside from the star-crossed lovers plot, after rewatching it a couple more times (I recently watched it on Netflix again) I was more interested in the tragedy of what was then called an "unsinkable ship". After a quick Google search, I learned that Titanic was built in Belfast by about 3,000 men from 1909 to 1912. The people on board the ship on its maiden voyage were the first people to use the plates, beds, etc. It was just damn bad luck that the ship hit the iceberg and made its last voyage, killing almost 1,500 people.

In honor of the Titanic passengers, everyone who goes into the museum tour is given a name. A real passenger or crew in Titanic. At the end of the tour, the visitors would get to know if their name survived or not. You'll get to see artifacts and stories from survivors. They even have a section where you can dip your hand into the water which was as cold as the water the night Titanic sank!

The general admission for adults costs 19 British pounds.

Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge and Giant's Causeway at Northern Ireland

Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge // Image by @anikineearthwalker @ Unsplash

Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge // Image by @baerhard @ Unsplash

Giant's Causeway // Image by @gregoryallen @ Unsplash

Giant's Causeway // Image by @batjko @ Unsplash

Shoutout to @vegoutt-travel for sharing her Northern Ireland experience! Thanks to her lovely pictures and writing descriptive accounts of her experience, I felt like I was there with her. I'm a chaser of adventures, so I got excited hearing and seeing the narrow rope bridge. No doubt, I would be up for the challenge despite the cold wind.

You can also read @vegoutt-travel's blog about The Giant's Causeway alone. The landscapes are extraordinary, and I won't let stories of legends pass me by. Here's an excerpt from Gemma's travel post:

The legend claims that the stones and columns are what remain of a causeway built by an Irish giant named Finn MacCool. He was building a causeway from Ireland to Scotland. In Gaelic mythology, it is said that as he was building the causeway, he was met by a Scottish giant named Benandonner. They battled each other in an even match where in the process ended up destroying the causeway.

Locals in Ireland believe that if you go to the site on Christmas day, you will be able to hear Finn play his accordion. The accordion is a magnificent formation in the cliffside overlooking the stones that does in fact resemble an accordion. Amazingly, when the wind passes it in a certain direction, the columns produce a beautiful sound.

How fascinating! But if you prefer a scientific reason to the obscure landscape, the answer is volcanic activity. Go see Gemma's travel posts about Northern Ireland for the beautiful pictures!

Dún Aonghasa, Inishmore in Aran Islands, Ireland

I saved the best for last. The proposal scene in Leap Year 😍

Well, excuse the thumbnail of the video. Haha! Here's a stunning photo of the cliff.



Image by sktlloyd3 from Pixabay

 
My goodness, I could take a picnic over there! What is with this affair between me and Ireland's cliffs? 😅

I hope I can visit these places soon. And when I do, I'll share the actual breakdown of costs other than my self-captured pictures. For sure, it's more than $1,000 but no matter. The achievement of your dreams starts with inspiration, ladies and gentlemen 😉

💚 ☘️ END 💚 ☘️

 


In the cyberspace, Kaycee Ports is a freelance writer who does blog writing, SEO copywriting, and web content for bloggers, entrepreneurs, website designers, and authors. In the mundane world, Kaycee Ports is a licensed chemical engineer practicing her degree in the field of environmental science. She is based in Manila, Philippines as an industrial hygienist. But the strong Bisaya accent still shows at times. In an alternate universe, she believes she's a Beyoncé.
Feel free to follow her if your interests are on personal development, travel and literary arts!

Sort:  

Good to see you blogging again! This is the first time I am seeing Ireland in this challenge but the place you picked is really breathtaking. Very tempting, thanks for the tip. Here is one from me ;)

@tipu curate

Yeah, feels good to let the creative juice flow again. The dream destination made it so easy to write 💚

Thank you for your support @phortun and @tipu!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @kayceeports2020! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hey ;) Thanks for the shoutout. If you'll come from so far, you should also include Donegal (Slieve League cliffs),the Dingle Peninsula and Gap of Dunloe...
The whole Wild Atlantic Way in total is breathtaking, so you'll be busy :D

Anyway.... fingers crossed. Ireland is worth it!
(Travel suggestion.... May/June)

Hey, I really enjoyed your post. Kinda jealous that you've been to the cliffs more than once. Haha! But I'll definitely save your post as reference in the future.

I've heard of Dingle Peninsula (beautiful too!), but the rest of what you've mentioned, I'll have to check it out. Thank you for the tips! I'll take note of May-June trips so I'll chance upon a good weather on the cliffs. Go big or go home 😆

What a sweet post! It made me so happy reading it, kinda like I was in Ireland myself... or rather, kinda like sharing your dream of visiting Ireland. Thank you for sharing! One day we'll be there, one day...

Awwee, thank you! Glad to hear you enjoyed my post, and most importantly Ireland, even if we've never been there yet. Haha! But yeah, fingers crossed. I'll share my own travel experience in Ireland soon here in Hive 💚

Ah Northern Ireland. It would be an understatement to call it beautiful; the place screams of such stunning beauty! I really enjoyed myself there and I know you will too. I may share a post about it soon if I don't feel too lazy to do it lol