Japan Adventures Series Part 2: Hello Deer / Happy Muggle

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Japan Nara Arashiyama Universal Studios.png

My, my...

Everything seems exciting at the beginning. Just like my first travel post and at the same time, Part 1 to my Japan Adventure Series. I woke up excited yesterday morning when I heard @LivingUKTaiwan and the @pinmapple team featured my post in Daily Travel Digest #910 along with @phortun and @borjan! My, my! Thank you 😊

I suck at consistency but I hope I could provide more great content. I'mma try to keep the excitement rolling with...

A continuation with Part 2 of my Japan Adventures Series!

Let’s pick up where we left off.


Nara Park Japan.png


Nara Park

I’ve never interacted and went up close with a live deer before. So it was much to my excitement when less than an hour away from Kyoto, wild deers roam freely around Nara Park. They might not be considered wild because they are very accustomed to humans. You can see the deers roaming freely everywhere, even crossing the roads!

When we rode a bus from JR Nara station, we passed by several deers along the road. We stopped where we deemed it right to stop - where we saw the most deers and where most of the passengers got off. We bought snacks from vendors nearby to feed the deers. Just a warning tho, the deers can get a little aggressive. They will nudge you when they see you got snacks in your hands. Just keep it cool. Most of the deer’s antlers were cut to avoid accidents, especially when kids are around.

deer feeding nara japan.gif

On our second day, we finally got to visit temples in daylight! The temples were close to each other and within walking distance. Well, that “walking distance” is subjective but what better way for a tourist to enjoy an unfamiliar place than to walk around the neighborhood?

nara temples.png

We visited Todaji temple, Kofokuji temple, and some more. You could see direction signs and estimated distances to the temples along the way so we just went freestyle. Where we went, so did the deers!

Arashiyama Bamboo Forest

After taking our lunch (tonkatsu!), we rode the bus back to the station. This time we’re headed to JR Saga-Arashiyama station to visit the bamboo forest. After a 12-minute walk, you will arrive at the place. You’ll reach the forest itself through a narrow street where food vendors do their usual business.

arashiyama bamboo forest 1.png

We went late afternoon already at almost closing time, but the place was still swarming with tourists. The pictures above may seem like I’m the only person in the place. I got to give credit to my father who took the picture. He just hid the tourists behind me and waited for the sides to clear. The window of opportunity is very slim, so when you see it, take your shots right away!

I noticed they’ve got this tourist gig where you get to ride a two-wheeled vehicle powered by a human. It's called a pulled rickshaw.

A bit of a history trivia right here, the word "rickshaw" comes from the Japanese word "jinrikisha", which means human-powered vehicle. These were a popular mode of transportation in Japan during the mid-1800s. I figured this must be a cultural experience offered to tourists. It's like time traveling. However, I was still quite bothered by the sight that every time they pass by, my face just involuntarily contorts. I respect the Japanese culture and these men earning for a living. But, as a personal preference, I think it’s better for us to walk around. I could still experience the Japanese culture with my feet both on the ground.

On Our Way to Osaka

We had to check out from K’s House that night because we were transferring to an Airbnb apartment in Osaka. Before we went on our way to Osaka, we had dinner in one of the restaurants in Kyoto station. I swear, I had the fluffiest, tastiest Jasmine rice in that restaurant. Paired with crispy and juicy tonkatsu. Ugh, I love you too much, Japan.

 
Contrary to the quiet Kyoto at night, Osaka was a lovely busy sight with flashing neon lights. We dragged our huge suitcases and heavy backpacks through the busy roads of Osaka for a good 30 minutes.

I think we were lost.

We were trying to follow the pinned location from the Airbnb app. However, the place did not match what was in the pictures even if Google Maps insisted that we have arrived. We can’t continue with this any longer.

So, my mother approached a group of young adults peacefully chatting among themselves while smoking. By the looks of them, I was expecting that they would dismiss us immediately and go on with their tourist-free evening. But they were very helpful. I’m in so much awe with Japan already. They took a look at the apartment picture, read the Japanese characters written on the face of the building, and googled it on their smartphones.

When they were finally sure it was the right place, they set the address on my phone so that we’re good to follow the directions. Apparently, it was a 20-minute walk from where we were! I think we’ve pestered them long enough already so we thanked them profusely. We then rode a taxi cab.

Osaka airbnb.png

As per the instructions of the property owner, there was a key box labeled "For Guest" (lower right picture), containing our key to our room on the 4th floor. We can find the key box inside the meter box (upper right picture) beside the stairway. When we entered the apartment, I saw a stairway and a meter box.

This must be it.

I entered the code [0501] but it wouldn’t budge open. We thought it must be in reverse order since Japanese write that way, right? But no, it still wouldn’t open.

We’re so dead tired decoding this challenge already. We just wanted to sleep 😫

So, I messaged the owner. She asked if it was the stairway BESIDE our door?

...

Well, Sherlock, you did not say BESIDE OUR ROOM in the instructions! She just said, when you check-in, you’ll see a meter box beside the stairway. I saw one on the ground floor, so I assumed that was it.

Anyway, we went up to the 4th floor. Lo and behold, there was another meter box. Apparently, every floor has a meter box. If only she cared to give out the information, we could’ve saved 20 minutes of all that decoding. Oh dear, you won't be getting 5 stars.


universal studios japan.png


Universal Studios Japan

We were so tired from yesterday’s hunt for the Airbnb house that we woke up late around 8 AM. We were supposed to be at the USJ entrance gate at 8 AM when it opens. But when we arrived, the place was not that crowded. Probably because of the light rain and the somewhat strong winds. We just scanned the QR code provided by Klook at the entrance.

I’m a huge fan of extreme rides. I practically run to them at first sight. But not when it's cold. As if I can’t bear the cold enough already, I won’t enjoy it as much with all the wind freezing me over. So, I was the ever Tita of Cebu who just opted for the indoor rides.

the wizarding world of harry potter Osaka japan.jpg

But first things first - HARRY POTTER!

I went crazy over the Harry Potter franchise in my early college days after I read the books. The Harry Potter series were my first reads, and it made me appreciate reading books. One thing led to another and now I’m a serial reader.

I felt like my feet had springs beneath them because I kept bouncing happily as I went from the Weasleys’ flying car, the Hogwarts Express, the Diagon Alley with Ollivander’s Wand Shop, the Hogsmeade with Honeydukes and Zonko’s Joke Shop. I figuratively peed my pants when I saw the Hogwarts Castle. I swear I saw magic come to life. Oh, the wonders of creative writing. Thank you, J.K. Rowling.

honeydukes.png

After I spent a good portion of my time in the Wizarding World, we also went to different theme parks like the Minion Park, New York, San Francisco, Wonderland and many more!

Here are some of the indoor rides and attractions that we took:

  1. Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey - this is a must! This ride will let you have a tour inside the Hogwarts castle as what we see in the movies. You also get to embark on the trio’s adventures. Warning: moist air and water spray may attack your face, but all in good fun!
  2. Ollivanders - I personally think the experience was okay. It only gets exciting when Ollivander picks you to choose a wand. But if you’re not a kid, don’t get your hopes up.
3. Despicable Me Minion Mayhem - this experience was also just okay. Looking back, I don’t remember much from the ride. Just some cute minions in the park.

4.The Amazing Adventures of Spider-Man - this was good! You get thrown around your seat as you go with Spider Man’s adventures. No air or water going to your face, this time!

Those are the only ones that I could remember. During this visit, I soaked up all the visual beauty of the theme parks. I would definitely be back next time to try on the rides. You know, when you’re screaming because you enjoy the ride and not because you can’t take the cold anymore.😅
 

The rain was only light drizzle from time to time but the winds were kinda strong. The winds itself were not a bother; it’s the heightened cold that comes with it. No, Elsa, the cold bothers me. My teeth were seriously chattering from the cold. Because of the bad weather, the Night Parade was canceled. I was quite disappointed because I was looking forward to it the most! I seem to have bad luck with international theme parks. I remembered our first time to Hongkong Disneyland, the park closed and canceled their parade as well because a storm was coming. We had to come back the next year after. I guess I’ll have to come back to USJ again then.

harry potter diagon alley night japan.png

Nevertheless, we went back to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter to witness the Illumination Show through the Hogwarts Castle. As beautiful as it was in daylight, it's more magical at night. The Diagon Alley was so believable as the stores do really sell Harry Potter merchandise. They also have a few replicas of movie props displayed through the windows.

harry potter illumination show.jpg

The Hogwarts Castle acted as a backdrop for the projected visuals and lights that showed scenes from the movies. By the end of the show, when Hedwig’s theme was playing over the light show, everyone watching was awe-stricken. I can't quite wrap my head around the idea that this world could have only been inside J.K. Rowling's head. But there we all were, sharing the admiration of this make-believe world. Sometimes, the power of the mind is dumbfounding.

Capping the Cold Day with Hot Ichiran Ramen

We left USJ in quite a hurry because it was getting cold already. What a relief if we were to eat hot ramen for dinner. Oh, good thing we’re in Osaka - the food capital of Japan! Dotonburi, here we come! We went back to Osaka and hunted along Dotunburi to find the famous Ichiran. The queue was quite long but it was all worth it. Foodgasm!


Closing Notes: What's Next?

That's it for Part 2.

In the next post, I’m going to dedicate it to the main event of this trip: Queen + Adam Lambert Concert. See you in Part 3!

Reference for the info on pulled rickshaw: https://taiken.co/single/a-history-of-the-rickshaw/


In the cyberspace, Kaycee Ports is a freelance writer who does blog writing, SEO copywriting, and web content for bloggers, entrepreneurs, website designers and authors. In the mundane world, Kaycee Ports is a licensed chemical engineer practicing her degree in the field of environmental science. She is based in Manila, Philippines as an industrial hygienist. But the strong Bisaya accent still shows at times. In an alternate universe, she believes she's a Beyoncé.

 

Feel free to follow her if your interests are on personal development, travel and literary arts!
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Shared this in Twitter

Congratulations @kayceeports2020! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #28.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write ups and dont forget to include #hiveph to your every post.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

You can also follow us on Follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.

Wow! Such a great place and experience with the deer! I've visited a similar place 2 years ago and gave them corn. Even after I ran out of food they were still so friendly and wanting to stay a little bit more with them! Animals are so amazing creatures we have so many things to learn from! :)

I agree! We should really have more parks around where animals and humans co-exist. Much better than zoos ❤️

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #912.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Wow, thank you 😍

Ichiran ramen is the best. Especially after a cold and long day of walking.

Ichiran Ramen! Brings so many memories, lol.