Last Autumn Entry: Hiking in the Marsh

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

After getting my Japanese driver's license I had to start getting used to the narrow roads in Tokyo and the busy highways towards the Japanese country side. My first destination driving solo was in Nikko, Tochigi, a famous travel spot offering glorious temples and shrines, amazing mountain peaks, rejuvenating hot springs, picturesque lakes and waterfalls.

I decided to leave Kevin alone at home for his "me time", or non-stop gaming, rather. My friend, Astrid decided to join me; but since it was weekdays, she had to work remotely from the hotel.

Nikko is also a popular destination in autumn. It is where Lake Chuzenji, the highest natural lake in Japan, is located. I left home at 10am, got lost getting into the highway, exited at the wrong toll exit, and finally reached the hotel after 4 hours. 😅

The next day, while anticipating the flock of tourists around the lake, I decided to go further towards Senjogahara marshlands. In the recent years, even though the area has been so dry that it has become merely grasslands, it is still one of the most famous hiking spots in Japan.

It took about 40 minutes to drive from the hotel to the trail parking lot where, Mount Nantai, a sacred stratovolcano at 2486 meters, looked so close. One day I am going to be on its peak. 😉

IMG_5359.png

It was a cold sunny day, the breeze in that altitude was chilly. With just water in a thermal bottle, a pair of gloves and a pack of mixed nuts, I set into a 9-km loop trail from Senjogahara to Odashirogahara and back.

IMG_5290.jpg

IMG_5358.png

A few minutes in this gentle nature trail, I found myself in an endless sea of evergreen trees in the process of surrendering themselves to the changing season. It was like being on a trance, hearing only the birds and smelling the forest. I saw a woodpecker, for the first time, drumming on a tree.

IMG_5350.png

IMG_5319.png

IMG_5349.png

It was not that long until I reached the first observatory at Senjogahara.
IMG_5309.png
IMG_5316.png

It was too early to cool down, so after enjoying the view of what used to be a marshland, I continued towards Odashirogahara, where most of the hikers rested and ate their lunch.

IMG_5323.png

IMG_5330.png

IMG_5341.png

IMG_5352.png

Well, who would not enjoy having a picnic lunch with that scenery? If only I brought food, I would. 😒
The hunger pangs started to annoy me, so I quicken my pace and headed back to the parking lot. It was a good 2-hour forest bathing. I was sure Kevin would have loved it too.

Anyhow, I drove back towards the lake and stopped by Coffee House Yukon, where finally had my lunch. It was expensive, but the ambience was pleasant.

IMG_5385.jpg

IMG_5362.png

I sat near the lake and soaked up the mid-day sun, staring at the gentle ripples, freeing my mind off its regular loads: "what to do next", "where to go for dinner", "I should find a onsen (hot spring) near the hotel", "where should we hike tomorrow", it's usually endless. I sat on the ground of mixed dirt and pebbles, enjoying my solitude and tried to think about nothing. Man, it was hard, hahaha. 😒
IMG_5376.png

IMG_5384.png

IMG_5382.png

IMG_5377.png

After what felt like eternity, my face hurt (too much sun), I drove towards Kegon Waterfalls. Driving there was tedious; a traffic jam was not surprising. But it was all good. This giant 100-m falls never failed to amaze onlookers with its massive drops and mini falls around it. It looked more perfect together with the autumn colors.

IMG_5394.png

Driving on Irohazaka winding road was just so beautiful. The scenery was breath-taking, the overall drive experience made me so elated. I have been to Nikko so many times since the last decade, but each time is always better than the last.
There is, however, one secret area that I want check out the next time I go back. Let's see in spring. xoxo

Sort:  

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1733.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

hiiiiii @ybanezkim26 thank you for the mention im giggling heheh 😊

Wow, amazing place, love the photos and it is indeed an amazing place.

Being with nature is very realaxing.

heyyy, yes indeed, so we should get immersed in it as much as we can!
Thanks for stopping by. 😁

I would never feel so bored looking at the photos and your captions. Glad you found time and successfully went to this amazing natural place. 😍😍😍

heyyy @diding thanks for stopping by! kisses! 😊

I’ve always wanted to go there in Nikko but never had the chance. I heard there are so many curves going there when you drive? Wow, such a great driver 😅

Yes, the curvy road was in Irohazaka, it was amazing in autumn!
I can't believe you haven't been there yet.. detdet na dis!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @kebula! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of 3rd Place match
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Beautiful shots - would love to explore there one day