Sabah Rainforest: Leeches and Waterfalls

in Pinmapplelast year

Warning: If you have not encountered leeches before, you'll see them here. 😁

A week before I summitted Mount Kinabalu (blog entry here) I did a waterfall trek with my Malaysian friends in Sabah. To maximize our trip, we drove up to Kundasang and visited Desa Dairy Farm, a day before our trek. Maaan, it felt like I was in New Zealand (though I have never been to New Zealand!)

IMG_20220209_165750.jpg

IMG_20220209_165925_1.jpg

IMG-20220209-WA0022.jpg

IMG_20220209_163405.jpg

IMG_20220209_162948.jpg

Our waterfall trek destination, the Langanan Waterfall, was located deep into the rainforest in Ranau. We got up a little earlier than usual to make breakfast; fuel up some energy for the hike.

Sure, it was just another waterfall, I told myself. Maybe nature heard my arrogance and decided to pour that morning. It was not raining heavily so we decided to go ahead as planned, even though the trail was slippery and muddy.

The trail was accessible inside Poring Hot Spring, another tourist destination in the area. For some reason I could not comprehend, locals were required to pay about 25% of what was charged for foreigners. 😏 I have to confess that we cheated. My friends asked me to stay quiet while they paid the local fee for all of us. Our excuse was that I looked local anyway 🙃.

IMG_20220210_100853.jpg

IMG_20220210_100843.jpg

We passed by rivers and walked on concrete bridges, hot spring pools and a cute hobbit house, until we reached Kipungit Waterfall 15 minutes later. From there, it got ugly haha.

IMG_20220210_101713.jpg

IMG_20220210_102450.jpg

It started drizzling again, just as we crossed the river. Scared of the inconveniences of walking with wet shoes, I took them off every time we crossed some water. As we went deeper into the forest and hiked up a muddy trail, I realized I underestimated the intensity of this hike. So we took a slower pace and observed how raw the forest was.

IMG_20220210_110346_1.jpg

IMG_20220210_150008.jpg

IMG_20220210_142147.jpg

I could sense the exhaustion and discomfort. I played some relaxing anime piano melodies, but to no avail. We stopped to check on everyone from time to time. We were about half way when these blood-sucking creature really started to annoy us. Because it was raining, and the trails were narrow, it was so easy for them to stick to our legs and shoes. I screamed every time I felt them crawling underneath my socks (yes, they did that too).

IMG_6249.JPG

IMG_6251.JPG

IMG_20220210_130839.jpg

After accepting they were part of our journey, we just focused on the trek and other curious things we found along the way, like this colony of ants.

IMG_6247.JPG

Or remnants of a poor guy's bad luck while trekking; I could imagine someone walking barefoot. Well, it's actually not that bad.

IMG_20220210_114612.jpg

We passed by a bat cave, with a sign saying it was not recommended to go inside, but it was also not prohibited. "Not today", we told ourselves.

IMG_20220210_105615_1.jpg

IMG_20220210_114157.jpg

About 2 hours later, we saw a sign saying we were almost there, about 1.5km more. I was suddenly filled with energy. I couldn't wait to reach the waterfall, also because I was also eager to have our lunch.
IMG_20220210_120201.jpg

Every time we heard gushing stream of water, we would think we had reached; but it would just be some other waterfalls like this.
IMG_20220210_130421.jpg

Then that adrenaline faded too soon and it became the longest 1.5km of my life, lol. I then developed trust issues on hiking distance signs. 🤣

Finally, lo and behold, after eternity and loads of leeches, we reached this 120-meter gigantic waterfall. Because of its height, the nearby surroundings were super misty and cold. We quickly took our lunch out - bread, canned salmon flakes, and chocolates. The rain clouds were getting worse and it was getting darker, so we decided not to stay longer and headed back.

IMG_20220210_131009.jpg

IMG_20220210_133805.jpg

IMG_6253.JPG

Then I felt my back was tingly and itchy. Just as I thought, I made that leech super fat with my blood; I did not know how long it had been there.

On the way back, we passed by this huge tree, that made me freeze. There was a big hive of hornets, so we passed by quietly. This was one of the many dangers hiking inside rainforests; we were still lucky we did not encounter some green vipers, which are quite common in Malaysia. Or maybe we did, we just did not notice.

IMG_20220210_113200_1.jpg

It was past 4 in the afternoon when we reached Poring Hot Spring. We were dripping in a mixture of sweat and rain. We went to eat banana fritters and teh tarik (milk tea) at a nearby cafe. It's also when I saw some leeches still stuck on my friend's heel. I think she even flashed it to everyone while we were eating.🤣

Looking back, if not for the bad weather, leeches and inadequate stamina, it would have been an easy hike. But then, it would have been boring too, right? See you around, dear hivers! xoxo

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1728.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Oh wow! This is one heck of an adventure. Leeches is a no, no! 😫😅

Ya it was absolutely an adventure, I still have a leech bite scar on my back 😭

Waaaa the dangers of this hike 🥲
It’s really an adventure but I also don’t like leeches! Ewwww and those ants omg nooo

Yaaasss they are disgusting blood suckers! But i was really more afraid of the hornets, like thinking about it now still makes me shiver. Lots of kids die of hornets attack even outside the forests in malaysia.

OMG that's really scary! This was kinda a dangerous hike trail LOL

Ohh my did they hurt you they are annoying in my eyes my dear. But all in all the photos are amazing

Heyyyy thanks for stopping by! The bites did not hurt, it's just itchy days later. 😭

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!