Pike National Forest - Colorado pics and video - Part 1 of 3

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

So, from his motivational post and direct urging, @galenkp convinced me to also get out and about this weekend. I was almost set to just sit inside again and dread going to work tomorrow, but his nudge helped me get out of the house.

I went to the Pikes National Forest and took some great pics, including some drone pics and video that I'll post tomorrow, and some great Wild Turkey pictures (not the drinking kind, the flying kind). See that post here:
https://peakd.com/hive-106444/@ksteem/wild-turkeys-7-photos

Anyway, this place (Sedalia Noddle) is only about 35 minute drive away from my house. yet I seem to only make it there once or twice a year. There are many hiking trails, but this is my favorite place.

The road has to twist up and down a few mountains (these little ones considered foothills up here). Here is a pic of the road at one twisty place (there are several on this route). Note the 10 mph sign, and Yes, they mean it!
K-Noddle-01-FB-2021-03-07.jpg
The picture on that sign is not just a visual aid, it really is just about like that.

Once at the trailhead, which only holds a few cars, I started walking. Luckily, it's only about a mile or two for me to get to my favorite place. There's a good ATV trail that goes through this section right to where I am going. Still over a foot of snow in the shade.

K-Noddle-02-FB-2021-03-07.jpg

Then we have some scenery along the path.

K-Noddle-03-FB-2021-03-07.jpg

K-Noddle-04-FB-2021-03-07.jpg

Finally, we get to the good part. Climbing out onto this giant boulder (called a Noddle) which looks out over this fantastic valley.

K-Noddle-05-FB-2021-03-07.jpg

K-Noddle-06-FB-2021-03-07.jpg

And finally, I'll just leave you with this little short panoramic video shot from my cellphone so you can take in the view.

All photos original work copyright 2021 by the author of this post.
These just the cellphone pics.
Stay tuned or follow for part 2 with additional pictures from the big camera and part 3 with drone pics and videos.
Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

Is that where the Pikes Peak is? I've been driving up there a couple of times in simulators - but never been doing 10 mph... :)

Ha, yeah Gran Turismo those speeds will lose you the race on pike's!

It would probably take 1 hour or so to get to the top at that speed. But at least its safer... :)

Yes, Pike's peak isn't too far away, probably about 60 miles south of where this was shot. The roads are definitely something to experience, especially some of those more like trails on the big mountains, where you're looking waaaaayyy down.

Well, 60 mls is not exactly around the corner. Not for Gernan standards anyway. :)
So it does seem Mr Pike got around a bit in his days. Did you know that the mountain was named after him - yet he never went up there? Must have been a smart guy... :)

Yeah, in the sim it looks scary already in some places. And then they have 100 lbs rocks along the edge of the gravel road, every 20 yards or so. As if that could stop a car that is doing 100 mph from going over the edge. And the way down is much quicker than the way up, that's for sure. :)

Yes, that is pretty realistic of the Pike's Peak highway. Although it has improved tremendously over the last 10-20 years. I remember driving it back in the early 80's when it was just a gravel road and could barely fit two cars passing each other. Now THAT was spooky, just knowing if that other car/truck bumped you a bit that you were going down.

Yeah, I can imagine that. Though I'd imagine, not many ordinary people had to use that road.
That simulation I mentioned is of course about the famous Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Race, so I'm not sure how realistic the road really is, and if it represents the conditions as they are today. In any case it's pretty hard to be fast there. Also because it's a rather long road with lots of turns. To be fast in a race you need to memorize every little detail of a track, and the longer it is, the harder it is to do that.
The record time (for real) is just a few seconds under 8 minutes, set in 2018 by Romain Dumas. And guess in what car - a all electric Volkswagen! But not a standard out of a shop one, its more like this:

Yes, I remember when that record was set. I am a big EV fan and was pleased to see it happen! I don't go up as fast as that, but what is cool is I live about an hour away, and even after driving there and then driving all the way up the mountain, my EV was fully re-charged when I got back to the bottom!

Yeah, with a good energy retrieval system it helps a lot to recharge. Unfortunatly we can't drive downhill all the time... :)
Also it prevents ruining your brakes on such a road. The traditional kind of American car is pretty bad for such roads. Big, heavy and with a automatic transmission - so you'll stand on the brake all the way down. Not good.

Oh wow...!!! It's beautiful trail there and you had some great captures ..!! Well- effort of Climbing up to Noddle- spectacular valley :)

Thanks, luckily for me there was no rock climbing involved. There's a nice, fairly easy walking/ATV trail up the back side! Check back tomorrow for the Drone video and shots, that adds an even better view!

Oh wow I can’t wait to check it tomorrow :)

So great! The only bad thing is that I wasn't there to join you for a hike! That's my sort of place Kris, and I'm really glad you got out of the house and into the wilderness!

It's a pretty good spot of the wild. Over 1,106,604 acres with vehicles only allowed on some limited portions. I don't usually get way out there any more. I used to like hiking away for a couple days or more, but now just short day trips are just fine to get my fix.

Camping at Pike with Kris...Sounds like a bro-date! Lol.

Lol, well my camping has gone from give me a few pine branches to maybe I'll sleep in the back of the covered truck with a padded foam mattress, sleeping bag, and warm insert, and space heater, lol. Or maybe we'll just drive the 45 minutes back home at night. But Yes! Heh, seriously I just love spending the night out and listening to all the wild forest sounds and would gladly suffer a night of back pain to experience with a friend. It would be great! Now if a person was so inclined, they could hike for days or weeks deeper into the wilderness. Posting the Drone view in a few!

I'm still camping a little more traditionally although I have a serious off-road camper trailer so...Hot water, queen-sized mattress, kitchen etc...So, maybe I'm getting soft!

I'll have a look at the drone vid now.

"Where we're going, there are no roads" lol Name that quote!

Lol...Back to the Future II

Some awesome stuff here man. I love having places like this only a short drive from home. I feel like this summer our son and I are going to be doing a lot of these nature walks and hikes!

I love seeing those giant boulders, where I grew up there was a giant national reserve and they had quite a few of them lying around, was a wild sight to see!

Wait until you see the size of the Bolder I'm sitting on for the Drone video and pics... It's bigger than house(s). I should get posted tonight, busy day at work.

Me thinking of my "home"...homesick and wanderlust now. I miss Colorado!

Awww, I'll keep sending you pictures so you can still feel the mountain energy!

Great, looking forward 😊

Very picturesque .. Glad you got out...

Tks, yes it was awesome. 2 feet of snow hitting us this weekend. Ugh.

Winters last gasp unfortunately..