​​​MY SON SANCTUARY IN MY HOMETOWN - WORLD CULTURAL HERITAGE

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hello guys. Have you had any memorable trip recently?
My last weekend was perfect when I went with my friends to visit one of the famous destinations in Quang Nam and recognized by UNESCO as a World Cultural Heritage, which is My Son Sanctuary. It’s located in Duy Phu commune, Duy Xuyen district, Quang Nam province, about 69 km from Da Nang city. This is my first time coming here even though it's in my hometown, the reason is that it's quite far from my house. And now, I am going to introduce to you some locations in My Son Sanctuary through my photos.

trip.png

On this trip, I also made new friends who I had not met before. We had the opportunity to meet through my best friend, who initiated this trip with her friends. I'm in my free time to do a project so I also want to join in with her, that's why I met them. Our house is quite far away so we decided to meet near my house. After the meeting, we started to leave at 8:15 am to go there by motorbike. This was our first time to My Son Sanctuary so our companion is Google Maps.

On the way to the My Son Sanctuary

Signpost to the Sanctuary (3 kilometers more)

Along the way, you can see stone statues on concrete pillars, surrounded by hills with thousands of Tram trees on both sides of the road. On the way, it started to rain, fortunately the rain was not heavy and long. After the rain, the air is so fresh, it's great to hang out.

Roadside Stone Statues

Finally, after 30 minutes driving motorbike, we arrived. It's more than I imagined before, it's very large and covered with huge green mountains. We parked the motorbike outside and started walking into the gate.

Welcome Gate to My Son Sanctuary

You had to buy tickets to visit at the ticket counter. For local people, the ticket price is 100.000 VND ⇔ $4,4, and for foreigners it is 150.000 VND ⇔ $6,7. We went in a group of 10 people, and we are all students so we got 2 free tickets. It is a reasonable price to admire the architecture and services here. To the right of the ticket gate are souvenir stalls, you can view and buy as gifts for loved ones or keep as a memory.

Entrance tickets

Plan Of The My Son Site Beside Entrance Gate

Me and my new friends at the entrance!

After entering the gate, we continued to walk about 500 meters. Because it rained before, the road was a bit wet and slippery. I think if it's sunny, the surrounding scenery will be better so you should check the weather forecast in advance if you plan to visit this place.

8.jpg

This is a bridge crossing a small stream which is also the official gate to enter the My Son Sanctuary including many Champa temples in different zones and Chăm Folk Art Performance Hall. Along both sides of the bridge are decorated with red flags of Vietnam.

The Valley Of Divinity And Art My Son

A small stream below

On the other side of the bridge is a shuttle to My Son Site 2km (free service). You will be transported to the temples by “Tuc Tuc” car, it takes 5 minutes to commute. During the journey, you can admire the charming scenery on both sides of the road, there are small vertical streams with clear water.

11.jpg

The transit parking area

Tuc Tuc Car

Along the road are big cliffs

After 5 minutes of traveling by car, we arrived and here is a view of the mountain covered white clouds in the distance. It really attracts me with the grandeur and poetic beauty of nature.

A huge mountain

After going up a small slope, you will see group H of the sanctuary. This is a diagram of the group H. It was constructed on a small hill and consisted of four constructions: the main sanctuary kanla (it was opened to the East), hall mandapa, tower-gate gopura and treasury tower/ tower of fire kosagrha. It was raining so the way up was very slippery, there was a lot of moss clinging to the bricks so we had to move carefully.
16.jpg

Overview Group H

19.jpg

Right below the foot of Group H is a Chăm Folk Art Performance Hall where you can watch the performance of the typical Cham dances of the artists here.

Chăm Folk Art Performance Hall

Performance Stage

After waiting for about 5 minutes, you will admire the unique performances from the dancers. The graceful dances on the cheerful music make me feel very excited. Cham girls are extremely gorgeous in their traditional dresses and dances. One of the special things is that while dancing, the girls always have smiles on their lips, expressing their joy and love for life.

22.jpg

23.jpg

In addition, there is a unique combination of Sakanai trumpet and Ginang drum sound creating an extremely heroic sound. In order to perform an extremely methodical performance like this, the trumpeter needs to practice a good vocal cord to be able to prolong his breath without missing a beat. I was very surprised when I saw this performance because the artist held his breath very well when he took one breath in a row for about minute.

24.jpg

Besides the flexible dances with long costumes, there are dances with sexy bodies of the girls, extremely delicate and accented shapes. This is considered one of the typical dances in the great festivals of the Champa people.

25.jpg

After enjoying the special performances, we continue to move to another area of the sanctuary place which is the group BCD.

30.jpg

Art and architecture through the layout of temples and towers has a great influence of Indian style. The Sanctuary is made up of multiple tower clusters, each with a large tower (Kalan) in the center and numerous smaller sub-towers surrounding it.

35.jpg

31.jpg

The female dancer carving

Linga and Yoni are worshiped quite popularly by the Champa people and have their own characteristics. People have symbolized (Linga and Yoni) to worship Siva, considering Linga as the expression of positive characteristics, Yoni as the expression of negative characteristics of the god.

Linga symbolizes male genitals

Yoni symbolizes female genitals

After about 2 hours of sightseeing and taking pictures here, we returned to the gate by Tuc Tuc car. The trip ended with a lot of knowledge about Champa culture through the historic site - My Son Sanctuary. I feel very grateful for the trip because it gives me not only knowledge but also new friends.

39.jpg

Thank you for reading and see you in my next posts!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @lanido, I also just visited this place last weekend? Don't know if you see me? hihi 😂

Yeah, I saw you and took some photos with you 😊

It has a ghostly beauty. I must go there one day. I love Champa culture and history. Thanks for sharing @lanido

Thank you for interesting in my post. Hope you have a great journey!

Nice place.

@tipu curate

Yes, It's so great place, thank you so much ❤️

My pleasure.

Congratulations @lanido! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I went there on the same day. Maybe we have met?😄

Well, I didn’t know we met or not, but I just remembered that you cut yourself lol 😊
Have a sweet day!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1441.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @ashikstd & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Amazing places, and you captured some nice shots.
Cheers!

Thank you so much. Greetings from Vietnam 😊