Hiking Lake Barmsee Germany

in Pinmapple2 years ago

20210822_104958~2.jpg

On the morning of day two of our trip in the Bavaria region of Germany we did a hike through the forest and around Lake Barmsee.

image.jpg

The weather was quite cloudy and dreary that day but we didn't let that stop us from enjoying the lovely scenery around our home base of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The lake is only a 20 minute drive from the city.

20210822_124409~2.jpg

The hike begins at a tiny little village called Gerold. It only has a few homes and maybe a hotel or two but there's not much to look at there other than the scenery. No one's complaining about the scenery though.

20210822_101513~2.jpg

From there you follow a dirt trail that takes you through a field dotted with little wooden huts that are presumably used to store hay over the winter for livestock. I read online that this area happens to be one of the most photographed sites in the area. I can only imagine how beautiful it is when the weather is nice.

20210822_101036~2.jpg

20210822_101757~2.jpg

A short distance away is a small lake which is actually more like a pond. Stoney mountains in the distance remind you that you're still located just on the edge of the Alpine mountain range.

20210822_101853~2.jpg

20210822_101531~2.jpg

There was one person fly fishing in the pond, which was a bit surprising to me given it's size. I don't know how the fish survive the winter there. Maybe it's stocked with trout each spring?

There were also tons of really pretty lily's in the water.

20210822_102340~2.jpg

20210822_102326~2.jpg

20210822_102333~2.jpg

I believe the sign below translates to "No Lawn" - a gentle reminder that you're actually walking through private property.

20210822_102423~2.jpg

I'm sure the area gets a lot of tourists and the owner probably doesn't want to have to fight a stranger for his own dock when he wants to go fishing.

20210822_115652~2.jpg

It doesn't take long to reach Lake Barmsee. A mere 10 minute walk or so and you'll find yourself standing at the edge of the much larger body of water.

20210822_105158~2.jpg

Still, glassy water reflecting the surrounding mountains and trees.

20210822_105207~2.jpg

The walk around the lake takes about an hour and a half and the scenery varies quite a bit along the way.

20210822_104937~2.jpg

Some parts are next to the lake itself,

20210822_105311~2.jpg

while others have you walking along a creek next to a large field of tall grass.

20210822_113146~2.jpg

20210822_113215~2.jpg

Then you're in the forest again.

20210822_114521~2.jpg

20210822_114533~2.jpg

I don't usually take photos in the trees but I think these create a neat sort of effect.

20210822_114605~2.jpg

20210822_114554~2.jpg

20210822_114540~2.jpg

The trail is a circuit and eventually it loops back on itself. Sometimes it's nice seeing the same sights but from the opposite perspective.

20210822_122427~2.jpg

It wasn't even midday by the time we finished our hike, so we still had plenty of time to explore the area.

20210822_122518~2.jpg

We didn't have a specific plan for the day but I typically have a few options lined up just in case we finish things early or if the weather is unpredictable.

20210822_103241~2.jpg

For the afternoon we decided to check out the town of Mittenwald, so that will be the subject of my next post if you're interested.

20210822_101906~2.jpg

Well, that's it for now. If you are interested in reading more on our trip to Germany then stay tuned, there is more to come. Until then, thanks for stopping by. For the previous post simply click the link below.

Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Sort:  

I think the weather is perfect, the little bit of mist adds to the ambience up in the mountains. And I love those huts in the middle of the fields

Btw, congrats on becoming a Dolphin!!?

Yeah the cloud effect is pretty neat.
Thanks! My next milestone is 72 reputation. Hopefully I reach that by the end of the month :)

In Bavaria are wonderful places, my mother is from Bavaria, so I am half Bayrisch 😃

Yes I agree that there are definitely a lot of nice places there.

I am half Bayrisch

Interesting!

I can only imagine how beautiful it is when the weather is nice.

I also enjoy the cloudy weather, I like it when the clouds descent on the land.

Imagine doing the hike on horse riding! I think it would work great! Congrats on becoming a dolphin, soon I'll follow you, give me a month 🙂

Yeah its neat when the clouds sort of get caught in the trees.

On horseback would be awesome. I haven't ridden a horse in a long time.

Thanks. Yeah I don't know what threshold I crossed to become a dolphin. Is it wallet holdings, reputation? I don't know. 🤷

It has to do with your voting power!

Oh OK. Interesting. Thanks for clarifying

Just catching up since having been away from Hive for quite a long time. I'll take a mental note of that signage. Could be useful one day to avoid trespassing on someone's property. I miss forest bathing and that looks like a great spot to do that. There's a certain charm in hiking a loop trail, you're able to see certain views in reverse that are often missed in a point-to-point trail.

Shooting the pines like that was a good call.

Yeah? Thanks! It's the first time I've ever looked up to take a photo of the trees. It's a pretty neat perspective though.

Oh, I missed this post of yours, wow, greeeeeeeeeen. You know that my favorite color is blue, but this green from your photos is invading my sight now in a very pleasant way!!

Yeah I think that all the rain we got this summer did that lol. There was more rain than sun this summer it seemed. Great for the grass but not so much for vacations lol

Great for the grass but not so much for vacations lol

😂😂😂

Vacation and rain. We have been three times in Vicenza, different years. Each time it was raining 😂😂

That's unfortunate.
This year it rained a lot all over northern Europe. Just a bad year I guess. The weather was incredible the previous year though so I'm hopeful for 2020 lol

Very nice post. Now, remember the compound nouns? "Liegewiese" is a "lawn for sunbathing". So it's people hanging out and partying that's being objected to, not walking on it. BTW, did you meet any fluffy cows on your hike?

Okay interesting. That makes sense.
No cows this time. Are they in that area as well? Maybe they were still in the mountains. This was back in August and my understanding is that Alpine cows stay in higher altitude until September.

Yes, I believe you're right about the cows.

This looks like a corner of heaven. The little huts, the green fields, the forest and the clouds....I can imagine a perfect retreat in here. Wonderful reflections!

Yeah the little huts were really cool and the water and mountains make it a nice spot.
Thanks for the comment :)

Oh!! Those pine trees! Your pictures are incredible! The little villages are always so peaceful, what a wonderful place to grow up.

The sign actually says no sunbathers. Either way, people, keep your clothes on.

What a wonderful trip and I am so glad that you split it up like this as opposed to throwing it all up in one post. One cannot appreciate all that beauty in one sitting. Thank you!

Thanks for clearing up the translation for me. Google translate doesn't always work well, especially when you don't know where to put the space between words lol.
Thanks for the kind words as well. Have a good day 😊

Wow. Your photos are so therapeutic to look at.

Photo therapy! Glad you liked them :)

Dude, those photos are surreal! Its the forest and tree shots for me. Seems like I'm walking with you really.

People seem to really like the tree photos. I'll have to take more pictures of trees in the future lol.
Thanks for the comment :)

Your photos look great - what a cool place. I will be going to Germany and Austria next April. Just starting to research it now. Thanks for your post.

That's awesome. We'll my next few posts and the previous few were about Germany. Maybe that will help generate some ideas. :)
Do you have any places you know you'll go at this point?

Looks like your on an amazing trip, very nice photos with beautiful scenery, what did you use for taking photos?

Thanks! I'm just using the camera on my phone. It's a Samsung Galaxy lol

Hell yeah Galaxy family! Impressive, it's surely a newer model, I'm still hanging on to my good old S7 Edge buddy :)
Thank you, have a great sunday

Yeah it's an A52 5G. I chose it because I read that it had a good camera for an inexpensive, mid-range phone and my last phone was a galaxy and I was quite pleased with it. I had it 4 years and it still worked fine, still held a charge all day...etc. the only issue was that it was a 16G memory, which is too small nowadays, with the size of apps and how many photos I have at this point. I basically had to delete an app if I wanted to download a new one hahaha 🤣
I've learned since that phone to always go with the higher memory option lol.

Haha deleting app for an update had to be dramatic :D
I see, I might be looking into it, because I got mine since 2017 and baterry doesn't last till the end of the day at normal usage in and out of work, might start using it only for work and get new one for myself primarly to make photos as only social media for me is Hive.

Aye mine had 32G and is plenty, but work related takesalmost half of the space and make around 900/1000+ photos per 3 months.

Thank you for the info and it's been nice meeting you! :)

No problem. Nice meet you as well

Wow that's a perfect place for hiking. The sceneries are stunning! I love the pine trees and the small village, it looks so peaceful. Thank you for sharing! @leaky20 .

You're welcome. I'm glad you liked them.

Wow, you did a really good job capturing these beautiful sceneries! I can say that the photo quality looks better than on my dslr camera...i'm jealous! And I like the weather here, it perfectly matches with the sceneries.

Thanks. I'm glad you like them. Yeah sometimes poor weather makes for interesting photos :)

Lovely photos! This place is so beautiful 🥰

Thanks, I'm glad you liked them.

the ascent through those mountains must have been a very good walk, each time you advance the images are better, the place is very beautiful

Yes the walk was quite nice. I'm glad you liked the photos. Thanks for the comment :)

What a beautiful lake!

So beautiful! I would like to visit there 🌍

Well I hope you get to!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Congratulations @leaky20!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow, Bavaria is such a beautiful land. I shall visit it next year.

That's excellent. I hope you enjoy it!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1376.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: