Hiking to the National Park of Pena

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Why take an Uber when you can walk?

20220514_103051~2.jpg

That's sort of become my philosophy on trip vacations, and life in general for that matter, at least where feasible.

20220514_104714~2.jpg

My wife and I rarely take buses or metros once we reach a destination and even more rarely Ubers or cabs.

20220514_104747~2.jpg

This was the case for our Sintra Portugal trip as well, which I mention a few days ago back in that post. We walked the hour or so distance from the small town, up the mountain (more like a large hill) to the National Palace of Pena.

20220514_104621~2.jpg

We treated it as an activity in and of itself, and thought of it as a hike of sorts, which it really was.

20220514_103627~2.jpg
My Wife Admiring the View

20220514_104405~2.jpg

It started in town and took us along the main roads to a few other very small villages on the hillside.

20220514_104542~2.jpg

We also passed through a large park where we met some curious geese.

20220514_142214~2.jpg

I don't know what it was about them, but in a very weird way they kind of gave me the creeps a bit. It was the way that they walked together in unison as if they were one being. They walked towards me as I passed and stared into my eyes with an intent look on their faces.

20220514_142223~2.jpg

There's something about 10 sets of eyes fixated on you that really gets under your skin (at least for me, that is).

20220514_110602~2.jpg

From there the path veered off into a woodsey forested area, which eventually lead to another main road that took us to the gates of the National Park of Pena.

20220514_131154~2.jpg

I've included our time spent in the gardens and forest of the Palace as well.

20220514_131704~2.jpg

In actuality National Park was much more forest than gardens, though we did see one small area with some flowers in it.

20220514_134608~2.jpg

Nonetheless, the forest itself was really quite beautiful.

20220514_132056~2.jpg

We saw some Birds of Paradise, which are one of my wife's favorite flowers.

20220514_134738~2.jpg

Sometimes they really do look like birds.

20220514_134713~2.jpg

One of the main things to do in the forest is to climb to the peak of the small mountain (more like a foothill) to see the High Cross located at the top.

20220514_133040~2.jpg

It's about a kilometer from the Palace itself (give or take), and a completely uphill walk to get there.

20220514_132507~2.jpg

It's really nothing more than a large cement cross sitting on top of a pile of rocks, but in my mind it was worth the effort.

20220514_132559~2.jpg

The view of the landscape below was pretty decent, and it gave me the chance to climb up and take a triumphant photo on top of the rocks. Hashtag, totally worth it.

20220514_132638~2-01.jpeg

Well thats it for now. If you are interested in seeing more of our trip to Portugal than stay tuned, theres more to come. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1568206649139003394 twitter metadata:am95dW5kaXNwdXRlZHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9qb3l1bmRpc3B1dGVkL3N0YXR1cy8xNTY4MjA2NjQ5MTM5MDAzMzk0fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @aplusd, @joydukeson ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Ooh! Birds of Paradise is one of my favourite flowers too. I haven't seen them since I left Jamaica. When I was a wedding coordinator at the resort, the florist always came to my desk with a big smile whenever she added that flower to the Bride's bouquet. She knew I loved them.

Hmm, this post is like a nudge in my backside to go for a walk in the woods. It's just that there has been so much rain, that I'm afraid of what I might see come out.

Hmm, I'm not so familiar with geese, but I saw some recently that gave me strange looks from their unusual eyes.

Why take an Uber when you can walk?

Some scenes there!

Indeed!

I love being able to walk. That's one thing I love about Europe, and it's the walking culture. I'm gonna miss that when I go back to Jamaica.

Yeah they are a really pretty flower.

That's one thing I love about Europe, and it's the walking culture. I'm gonna miss that when I go back to Jamaica.

Yeah that's my feelings as well. Europe is awesome for a walking lifestyle. In almost any city (in France at least, but probably many other countries as well) you can easily walk to just about anything. We walk to the bakery and fish monger multiple times per week and I could walk to get groceries if I needed to (its about 30 minutes round trip). Canada is horrible for walking. Cities are built for cars so everything is too far away to make walking feasible. The closest thing we have to our house is a coffee shop, and that is a 30 minute walk round trip, so we only do it on the odd weekend. Unless you live in the downtown core, you're driving for everything you want or need.

Yeah, I get the feeling that's one of the things you'll miss the most when you go back to Canada. My American friends could not get my lifestyle when I lived in the Netherlands. They though my bicycle with bicycle bags were backward. I was so happy to not have to drive a car.

Biking in the Netherlands is unreal. That was one of my favorite things about the country. In terms of meeting greenhouse emission reductions, which is becoming more and more of a concern globally across the board, the biking infrastructure will help significantly in that regard.

Note: I wrote that in a super confusing way but you get the idea

Yes, I agree.
In 2007 when I was studying there, that was always the subject of discussion and a strong selling point of the country. It was all part of the big Obama debate.
That might be a confusing reply too 🤣

😂😂

It's beautiful. Wow! 👀

I could so live there. Again. What a place.

I'm surprised at the Birds of Paradise being there? Who knew? I thought those were local only (I'm in ZA). But I guess our climate is similar so they could work there.

Geese are renowned for being aggressive. So aggressive that some folks use them as guard dogs in fact! So well avoided 😆

Those look ready to attack!

Have a great weekend. Looking forward to more of Portugal...

Haha yeah geese in Canada will literally hiss at you and chase you away in the spring when they have goslings. 😂

Yeah! I've been chased off by 'em too!

Watch out for Geese 👀😁

Ha, those geese!

We love to walk too, it is my one regret that with the kids, even though we try to get them as active as poss they are not up for long walks and it becomes a nightmare of carry me or please stop this madness! :OD

Haha yeah I don't recall being a fan of walking when I was a kid. You appreciate such things a little more as you get older I suppose. Then you inevitably hit a point where walking becomes a burden again haha

Lovely to be able to walk safely in any region enjoying a walk taking all the sites in.

Enjoyed going along with you to this lovely place in Portugal, a country I sadly never have seen.

Geese were protecting their road !LOLZ

@tipu curate

Well you can visit Portugal vicariously through me. That's what I do for many other places - experience them through the eyes of others. You're probably right about the geese.

Geese make excellent 'watch dogs' protecting property, have been known to attack unwanted visitors, just as well you kept moving....

Always enjoy visiting through the lens of others, learning more by reading experiences in far off lands.

That's interesting. I've never seen it but I totally believe it.

Wow what a great hike. Love the views… so beautiful.
Funny that you say that. We tend to walk at our destinations too. And make around 15 - 20 km a day on foot exploring the areas.
That way you really experience it. See so much more.

I soooo got what you meant with the geese. Even in the photo, they truly stared at you… hahaha eerie in a way.
Thanks for sharing this beautiful part of your trip @leaky20 👋🏻😊
Have a great weekend!

Yeah we get a ton of steps during trips because we walk everywhere.

Yeah the geese were a little off putting the way they followed and stared 😆

It’s great for exploring and healthy… keeps one moving. 😉

Scary geese hehehe 🤭 fit right into a scary movie.

Those curious geese and in unison so funny😂 What a descent hike and descent view.
Birds of paradise didnt able to escape from your sight too, their lovely.

Yeah the geese were quite funny and a little off putting haha 😂

I agree walking especially when the weather is so nice and warm and surrounding so beautiful with such architecture and cobble stones. Love the pics with geese, they look curious and have no problem to be so close to people.

Yeah good weather is always a plus when you go for a walk. Yeah the geese were a funny encounter lol

Such a wonderful trip, and your birds of paradise are very nice 😁

Yeah they are a very pretty flower 🌼

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @leaky20! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 90000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 95000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Woow, I love this photo, is so cute

Such a lovely view😍
Hiking with taht beautiful nature will makes me not get to tired😍

Me neither! 😁👍

What a very nice place! It seems that when you are here you can relax completely.

Yeah that's true indeed. Nature is very relaxing.

I love walking too especially with this spectacular view.

Yeah I totally agree 👍

This Park is very beautiful, the lushness of the paths makes you think that you are in places far removed from human presence.

Yeah that's true. The paths through the forest were really nice

So beautiful
Thank you

I'm glad you liked it 😁

Your photography is beautiful, i like this

Great, thanks 😊

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sagarkothari88.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Loved the photos!
Nicely captured brother.

Thanks. 😁👍