Fužine - a beautiful forest heaven on the shores of Lake Bajer

in Pinmapple2 years ago

All of us who live in cities require an escape from the concrete jungle, noise, tension, and day-to-day issues. So I invite you to accompany me on my escape from all of the above into a tranquil oasis of a small place that, with its houses, gorgeous environment, and peaceful surroundings, restores peace in both me and everyone who visits it.

IMG_20200808_164844.jpg

There are lovely stone houses to rent for many events, a lake where you may take a walk, and great restaurants serving the tastiest apple strudels. In the winter, there is a true winter snow idyll that we all enjoy, or at least the majority of us do: snowboarding and skiing. Gorski Kotar is a spot where you can unwind and recharge your batteries.
I recall coming here in the summer to get away from the heat of the city asphalt. I'd drop my feet briefly in the lake, feeling great, but not for too long because the water is icy and not much fun when it starts to freeze.:))

IMG_20200808_170359.jpg

IMG_20200808_171740.jpg

Always an inevitable walk along the lake, somehow it seems to me that it has become a habit to do this round of walks first, and only then a little research in the forest areas, hoping that I will not encounter any bears. People tell me bears are afraid of us, so I can tell you that my case is not such that I would like to know. I have too much awe for those giants from the forest.

IMG_20210520_112142.jpg

IMG_20210520_112152_edit_698309167266362.jpg

IMG_20210520_112201.jpg

How much better it is to capture such beauty, however I must say that for the first time in a long time, I simply focused on the tranquility around me. I took advantage of the time to relax as much as possible and to be present in the moment of peace and thoughts. I'm not sure how it is with you who otherwise enjoy photography, but I've started to look through the lens too much, less focusing solely on the place where I am to absorb simply with my eyes.

IMG_20200725_171830.jpg

IMG_20200725_172434.jpg

IMG_20200725_172859.jpg

Lake Bajer and the Vrelo Cave are two of the most well-known cultural and natural attractions in Fužine. The cave was discovered during the construction of Lake Bajer in the 1950s, and it is properly illuminated and set up for tours with an expert guide. It stretches for 300 meters and is unique in that it is Croatia's only tourist cave with groundwater flowing through it. I must confess that the last time I went to the cave was when I was in elementary school. Despite the fact that I am 30 minutes away from Fužine and the cave.

IMG_20200808_170118.jpg

IMG_20200808_171835.jpg

Please extend your greetings to this beautiful creature that goes by the name of Aga. (Beautiful German sheppherd) He is an essential member of the team in the woods. He enjoys long walks, I don't even have to mention water because he is always diving into it, and he is, of course, a huge fan of dog treets. Isn't he fantastic? :))

I would surely share a lot more images of Aga with you, but since my external hard drive died with all of my photos on it, I just have this one for the moment. I'm still expecting to be able to save the photographs I worked so hard to create....:/

IMG_20200808_192457.jpg

If you want to try something different, there's a 45-minute tourist train journey with a panoramic view of Lakes Bajer and Lepenica. Another thing I haven't tried, but it's on my to-do list. I'll definitely save that for the summer, because it's a lot cooler right now, and driving outside doesn't seem like the best idea to me.

IMG_20200808_184035.jpg

IMG_20211003_170757.jpg

Numerous bicycle pathways have been established around the lake and across the Fužine area, so it is not unexpected that mountain bike cycling enthusiasts frequently visit Fužine.

I'm more for recreational cycling, and those "I'm starting on Monday" cycling (which almost never happens) while being on diets and such torments. :))

IMG_20200808_183308.jpg

IMG_20200808_183324.jpg

See for yourself how wonderful nature can be, surrounded by beautiful trees, meadows, flowers, and animal life.

Lake Bajer takes on a special allure in December, when thousands of travelers flock to Fužine. Fužine was the first in Croatia to say farewell to the old year at noon 20 years ago! The Torchlight celebration is then organized around the lake. Bayer then transforms into a stunning figure. A mile and a half of track along the lake looks wonderful on any other day of the year.

IMG_20200808_174818.jpg

fhf.jpg

IMG_20200808_175034.jpg

We were already on our way back from the forest, travelling through long clear meadows surrounded by lovely pines and spruces.
Of course, like any woman, I made time to shoot photos of myself because, well, why not? Ha ha :))

sdfg.jpg

It was an unusually warm day, with the sun high in the sky, giving the impression that we were in the midst of Spring. Simply said, it was a wonderful and warm winter day... but as the night began to fall, it became considerably colder, necessitating the use of a much warmer jacket.

A little piece of history

Fužine is a relatively new community that began in the 17th century when Zrinski began mining iron ore there. The job was quickly abandoned due to unprofitability, although Fužine has a name from that time. "Fužinarstvo" is a phrase for the extraction and processing of (iron) ore, and the word's etymology is likely derived from the Italian term "fucina" or the German "fusioniren." The settlement grew on Karolinska cesta (1726-1737), which connects the interior and the sea, later on the Zagreb-Rijeka railway (1873), and now on the Rijeka-Zagreb motorway (1995) with the junction in Vrata.

Exciting adventures

IMG_20211003_180331.jpg

Almost 50 years after the German cult film "Winnetou" was shot, the German RTL shot a new three-part remake near Fužine in 2016, which premiered on the German RTL.

IMG_20211003_181545.jpg

Tourists can now visit one of the most appealing filming settings, the cowboy community of Roswell, which is located near Lake Bayer. Specifically, the entire backdrop of this western town still exists along the lake and welcomes visitors.

I captured these photographs of these lovely horses while going through the woods. I'm not sure whose amazing animals they are, but they are without a doubt among the most magnificent animals I've ever seen in my life. Aren't they one-of-a-kind? They clearly fit in this section of the post about Roswell, in my opinion.

Thank you for your interest; I can honestly assert that this is one of my favorite posts I've written. With all of those forest idylls, flowers, and practically everything, one of my working days turned into a completely pleasant day that I thoroughly liked. This day ended at a gorgeous restaurant with a warm vanilla and chokeberry strudel. A one-of-a-kind flavor that is nothing short of amazing, sorry for no photo, I've ate it before it came. Ha ha :))

Thank you for your time, and I hope you had a good time. Feel free to contact me or leave a comment if I was able to transmit even a small portion of the beauty to you...
#haveyoubeenhere.

"A walk in nature walks the soul back home."

-Mary Davis

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @lensational! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1394.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: