Holy Place Touching Heavens

in Pinmapple3 years ago

When earlier today it got to my knowledge there have been several earthquakes in Greece, some of them around the magnitude of 6 by Richter's scale I got worried about my Greek friends. There isn't much I could do considering the world situation and the distance. Prayers. Good thoughts and vibes too. Putting up a story, sharing about one of the most impressive and spiritual places in Greece. These - I can do.

Here is today my travel story from the very first time I went to Meteora in Greece. I've been there few more time since then. I would say - that is a place to discover many things. God, Universe, Peace, Nature, Yourself. Many others as well, I suppose.

Meteora is the name of several monasteries, built upon very tall cliffs, they seem like reaching for heaven. Some of them are open for visits, some not. As they are Orthodox Christian establishments, there are rules if you want to step inside them. Different rules apply to women and men.

The location is close to the town of Kalampaka and the village of Kastraki. Both of them have a lot of places to stay, I would recommend planning a stay for at least 4-5 days if you want to have the proper time to view them all monasteries and perhaps hike, despite the latitudes there a good trails from the town to the monasteries.

Some views are really breathtaking, check out for scale my friends on that photo below, waiving hello from the bottom left-hand corner. It's absolute WOW, isn't it :)

DDH_3969.jpg

Another thing I would recommend is to check in advance and plan carefully as there are different days of the weeks you could visit each of the monasteries. Perhaps contact and ask a local. Most of them are involved with tourism anyway so you'll get the best advice :)

Imagine living and serving the higher power at such place, huh?

DDH_3788.jpg

There are so so many impressive things you could stumble upon there. Have you noticed the "wires" at the top left-hand side of the photo above? Now check the next photo. This small booth actually hangs on those lines and it's purpose is to transport one monk and goods between two of the monasteries. I don't know about you but I wouldn't take that risk. True, it takes hours to walk between them, I tried that myself.

DDH_3938.jpg

In the season of fogs the views are really unique. Scenery!

DDH_3793.jpg

The world below is quite different with its modern noise and all other civilizational artifacts.

DDH_3842.jpg

DDH_3865.jpg

Rocks and cliffs around draw fantastic scenes.

DDH_3888.jpg

It looks unreal, doesn't it?

DDH_3895.jpg

DDH_3976.jpg

My prayers today are with the people of Greece. Hopefully there are no casualties. I love Greece. I've been there probably hundreds of times and I would love to go there again. Soon!

DDH_3904.jpg

Stay strong and safe!


Copyright: Damian Hadjiyvanov, Light Captured


My photo site: https://hadjiyvanov.com/


For licensing my photos, please drop me a message on Discord: lightcaptured#2698

Thank you for all the support!

Have a great photo! :P


lightcapturedbanner.jpeg

Sort:  

I am speechless and in awe at the beauty you captured, Damian! Learning for the first time as I read your post about the earthquakes in Greece. Prayers for your friends' safety and everyone impacted! @lightcaptured

Thanks so much, Nina :) Stay safe!

Never having managed to get to Greece the scenery is stunning, although I must be honest the mountains is where one would most probably find the old ways still very much alive.

Those priests sure picked themselves a place with a view, lots of magic happening up high with clouds passing through as part of the view.

Yes Greece has had some tough times recently watched a documentary on the Mediterranean sea, some idea about the many islands and part of the mainland. Our thoughts with the people during more natural devastation today @lightcaptured

@tipu curate

Thanks so much, Joan! Closer to the sky :) From what I know they have been original built at those high places for defensive purposes too. The Ottoman empire had been at those lands for few centuries.

So many arrived over the ages, building high up must have been quite something to witness how it was achieved.

View for miles around both strategic and beautiful enough to keep people up there considering the walk to get water and food supplies continuously.

Crazy amazing.... Hope your friends and the people there are safe... 🙏

Thanks so much, @ackhoo! Hopefully they are!

Nice post

Everyone, please be careful when interacting with the account above (ronasoliva...), it has been stolen by phishing. Don't click on any link that promises to give you HIVE airdrop!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you all :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 46 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
8

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1132.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks, Kim, @ybanezkim26! Always a pleasure to contribute to your great community! :)

You're welcome! The pleasure's ours when we highlight some awesome travel posts. Your contributions made Haveyoubeenhere the premier travel community in Hive. Let's keep growing!

Oh, thanks for your inspirational words :) I have plenty of places to tell about, probably I should be more persistent in posting about beautiful places :) Let's keep it up, yes :)


Hey @lightcaptured, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You really chose the right title for this post Greece has always been one place on this planet i love to get to your photos make it so much more inviting time to consider this venture.

Thank you, Andrew! I love going to Greece too! Plans are already in motion! :) Have a great weekend!

Good one see you there 🤣🤣

Amen to that! :D

Dear @lightcaptured Impressive place and great photos, definitely a place to visit.

Thanks, Piotr, it's definitely a great place to get in touch with Nature. Thank you for stopping by!

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thank you :) Greece is really a very very beautiful country. I hope to be able to freely travel there soon :) I have plans to go to few islands. I've been to Santorini, Corfu and few other already but there are so many to be explored :)

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Me too, buddy, browsing through my old precovid photo folders only is... phew, I can't find the proper word but you know what I mean :) Have a great Sunday!