A open air museum in La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain

in Pinmapple2 years ago

The other day I posted about taking a tram ride to La Laguna in Tenerife, Spain. La Laguna's proper name is San Cristobla de La Laguna, bit of a mouthful I know. The town dates back to the 15th century, has a rich history, so much that it is a UNESCO world heritage site. I love an open air museum walk around.

20220224_141925.jpg

livinguktaiwan divider.png

FIRST IMPRESSIONS

To be honest, when I arrived at La Laguna I wasn't really in the mood to walk around. Tenerife was the first port of call on my cruise holiday. I had been on the ship for three whole days and was just pleased to get on land. Plus it was starting to drizzle with rain and that is never nice when you're on holiday. The most important thing was that three days at sea means three days off grid with no internet access. I was eager to sit down somewhere and get on line. Sad I know 🙃
20220224_124659.jpg

20220224_151943.jpg


OPEN AIR MUSEUM

The sky cleared up after lunch just in time after I had finished using the free wifi in the cafe, and I was in a better mood to explore this beautiful historical town. I'm sorry La Laguna for not appreciating you before lunch.
20220224_140355.jpg

As usual, I had no plan on what to do here. It was another one of those stroll aimlessly around town to see what it has to offer day. The old town was perfect to wander around. Although it isn't a car free zone, there wasn't much traffic around. In fact there wasn't many people around. Brilliant, I love it when I have the whole place to myself.
20220224_141955.jpg

20220224_141810.jpg

20220224_141407.jpg

20220224_140223.jpg

20220224_144734.jpg


Ok, this isn't a leaning tower. It's just the angle of the photo, not that I had planned it. This is the Church of the Immaculate Conception and was founded in 1511. Apparently, the largest bell in the Canary Island is located at the top of the tower. Visitors can pay Euro 3 (I think) to climb to the top to see it, and you also get a magnificent view of the area. I didn't fancy too much exercise so didn't do that.
20220224_124712.jpg


The Plaza del Adelantado is the main square in La Laguna and is named after the Island's conqueror, Adelantado Alonso Fernández de Lugo. It's not a very big square, but then La Laguna isn't that big either. I loved how they trimmed the tree top into a square, very creative.
20220224_140522.jpg

I notice Spain has a lot of plants and floras that we don't normally see in UK. We lack the sunshine, so although I'm not a big nature person, I was still very happy to see the wide range of plants, flourish all over the place. They complement the beautiful buildings so well.
20220224_143850.jpg

20220224_144248.jpg

The problem with wandering around aimlessly is that you come across some really interesting places but forget to note down where you went. For example, this is the entrance to a museum. The side of the walls have beautiful yellow and blue tiles, that's what caught my eye when I walked past, dragging me inside. At the time, I'd never think these would be two colours the world would be seeing so much of today. The corridor leads into a courtyard and I think the museum is located in these buildings. The rest of my party weren't too keen with museums so I quickly took a few photos as they had wandered away already.
20220224_144714.jpg

20220224_144603.jpg


One place that I did manage to note is Instituto de Canarias. The building dates back to 1846 and was the first university in the Canary Island. Today it is a secondary school. There were a few other visitors here and they were were peeping through a wall on the right of this from entrance.

20220224_152909.jpg

This is what they were looking at. Impressive, right?!! A guy, I think he might be a local, was making a video of the place. I overhead him telling the other visitors about this part of the building used to be the monastery but was burnt down in the 60s. Everyone was peeping through this arch window to get a glimpse of what remains of the spectacular building. The fact the arches still stands after so many centuries, and survived a fire that burnt down the entire monastery is just unbelievable.
20220224_152950.jpg

Based on my brief visit to La Laguna, it proved to be an excellent open air museum, one where you can feel like you're walking back in time. It's just a pity I couldn't get to know it better.





You can checkout all my travel post on the Pinmapple here or click on Mr Pinmapple below

Sort:  

I seem to know that place, the facades of the houses and buildings are very similar to those that exist in several countries of America, such as Nicaragua, Peru and Venezuela.

Colonial towns, of course from the Spanish colony.

Thanks for the guided tour, I didn't think I would be in Spain today. I liked all your underlined🤣 @livinguktaiwan

You know you are absolutely right about the buildings being very similar to those in America. La Laguna was used as a model to build many cities in Latin America in the old days!

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It's a very nice town @livinguktaiwan. Although the weather is not favorable, it looks like you still have an interesting exploration. The town looks quite peaceful and what I like most is the houses with classic architecture and colors on both sides of the road. An open air museum...I guess it used to be a crowded place dates back to the 15th, I can see some plants on the top of the museum. That's interesting.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

What a beautiful open air museum.
It does look a lot like Latin America but a bit cleaner.
That school totally reminds me of a school my boys went in El Salvador. The sand goes for all the buildings.
Glad you enjoyed your visit and thanks for sharing it with us.

I didn't get the chance to visit too many sides of Spain other than Barcelona but my aunt gets on different parts of Spain pretty often and I also noticed there are lots of trees and exotic plants which I don't think we can see in other places. I love the way people are keeping those safe and make the country a beautiful place to be around when in search of new places to explore

Looks like this would be a perfect place for me to relax and take tons of photos. I love the architecture and the colors as well.

That monastery must have been beautiful back in the day, I can imagine how it looked like.

You still had a good weather and can be grateful there was no rain after all.

Lmao 🤣 your crossed out Comments are hilarious.

It's always good when there aren't a lot of people out. I have a feeling this year is going to be very busy with tourists now that most of the restrictions are lifted and since a lot of people have been locked up in their own countries for basically two years now. We will see.

The burnt down monastery is cool. I always like ruins like that. Some of those trees are pretty unique as well.

I am leaving April 1st for a week on Tenerife (fly drive)

I have never been to the Canary Islands but as others have said it looks like you were walking in some colonial area of Latin America. In fact, in Venezuela, there is a lot of affinity with the Canary Islands. Many of the people who migrated here were from the Canary Islands, our climates are similar and in the Canaries, they say that Venezuela is the eighth island, hehe.

I'm glad you enjoyed your walk-in Laguna.
Have a great day!😄

The places was amazing and beautiful. I really love the pictures

I think La Laguna is one of those towns on Tenerife that I somehow didn´t get to visit but I can see it´s beautiful. I really miss roaming around these picturesque Canarian towns, I love the combination of the impressive architecture, the pleasantly warm (but not too hot) climate and the lush subtropical flora everywhere. Thanks for bringing back these sweet memories, I really enjoyed your post, you took some very nice photos over there :)

Oh, you brought back very good memories! Several years ago I traveled to Tenerife and toured it for almost a month, I spent several days in La Laguna, which is very beautiful but the whole island is spectacular and exotic!

That's the wonder of wandering . you tend to collect beautiful experiences unexpectedly 😁 . . i had a great virtual tour here. Thanks

Congratulations @livinguktaiwan! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content is so beautiful
The photos are everything... It's good you apologized for judging wrongly at first

Thanks for sharing this with us 😇😇