Brean Fort at the end of the world

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Want to know where I'm heading? Come and join me on my travels today and see for yourself. By the way, if you missed my last post about the beginning of my walk, you can read it here, it will help put things in perspective for you, and you'll understand the significance of where we're going.


I kept on walking and walking, not sure how far I was to go. There was nothing in sight. All I could see was an idyllic path ahead of me. I would have gladly come this way even if it led to the end of the world. Lush green downs on either side of the path, and the sounds of waves some 100 meters beneath me crashing against the cliff. I couldn't wait to see what was ahead of me.

GOPR4299_Moment_edited.jpg

Gradually the terrain change, the path had opened up to a wide walkway replacing the downs. Now it looked like I was walking into the sea.
GOPR4302_Moment_edited.jpg

There's a trig point in the middle of the path, this is the view looking back to where I just came from.
GOPR4305_Moment_edited.jpg
There was some sort of triangulation marking at the top of the trig point. I'm not sure what it was or if it meant anything as there was no marking. At the base on one side was a plate with the trig point details. OS stands for Ordanance Survey, they're the agency responsible for mapping in UK. And BMS stands for Benchmarks, these are markings carved on fixed structures to measure the height of a location. I'm guessing 3270 is the reference for this benchmark. Benchmarks are part of history now as height survey in UK is done by GPS. However, it remain a hobby for many who enjoy benchmark bagging.

After the trig point, the terrain changed once again. The path became hilly and I was starting to go downhill. There were some buildings ahead of me, right by the edge of the cliff. Things were getting intriguing now. As I approached it, I could see a group of buildings, and given their remote location, they were in very good condition.
GOPR4308_Moment_edited.jpg

GOPR4313_Moment.jpg
livinguktaiwan divider.png

BREAN FORT

This is Brean Fort. It was built in the 1860s and forms part of Britain's strategic coastal defence system against our frog friends (we love them really 😀) across the English channel during the Napolean war. Today the site is maintained by the National Trust, and is open to visitor to wander around and get a feel of what it was like to man the fort during the wars.

As I enter the gate, the Officers Quarters is on the right, and the barracks on the left.
GOPR4315_Moment2.jpg

GOPR4315_Moment 8_edited.jpg

GOPR4321_Moment_edited.jpg


This is the barracks, and you can see the fire place at the far end of the room. This is where the soldiers used to live. By the 1940's during the second world war, the soldiers used to live outside in huts, and this was used as the canteen and leisure area. I tried to imagine living here and what it would feel like. Being 100 meters up on a cliff and around 3 km away from the road which was itself at a rather remote place. Perhaps it would make a great camping spot. You're shielded from the bitter wind, yet you get to listen to the waves swishing throughout the night, and I imagine it would be a great spot for star gazing.

DSC_9512_edited.jpg

GOPR4315_Moment3_edited.jpg

This is another building at the Fort. Apart from these windows, there were two small windows on each of the other two walls, but none on this side of the wall. I don't know its purpose and there was no sign giving me any hint. I'm guessing perhaps it could be the toilet? There were no water outlets or anything, and certainly no stinky smell though...
GOPR4315_Moment4_edited.jpg


During the wars, Brean Fort was used for training purposes by the soldiers, but no shots were ever fired in action. The guns were located here at the Gun emplacement which overlooked the Bristol Channels.
GOPR4315_Moment 7.jpg

DSC_9514_edited.jpg

This is hubby standing at the edge of the gun emplacement. But don't worry, he won't fall into the sea or anything. There quite large area in front of the emplacement.
GOPR4315_Moment6_edited.jpg

DSC_9509_edited.jpg


The ammunition was stored at the Gunpowder Magazine opposite the barracks. It's an underground vault about 6 meters deep. I was quite tempted to walk down the stairs to see what it was like. I'm guessing you can't go inside, and I don't like dark places so gave it a pass.


My favourite part of Brean Fort is this outermost area, I don't know what it's called. Seems like it was used for some secretive spying activities back in the days. There's an outpost right at the very end of the cliff, you had to climb over the rocks to access it. I actually saw two brave souls inside. The problem is with the tide, and you have to make sure you don't slip, if anything happens it will take a while for the rescue operation to reach you.
GOPR4318_Moment_edited.jpg

DSC_9507_edited.jpg

Whilst I may be a bit of a chicken, I do like a bit of adventure, only that my adventurous limits are much lower than others. I made my way down the steps towards the end of the end. I mean I'd made it this far at Brean Down, how could I not go the last mile to see the end of the world for myself?
GOPR4318_Moment2.jpg

It was surreal and I was speechless. Let's just leave it at that. Thanks for joining me on my travels today.
DSC_9530_edited.jpg

DSC_9529_edited.jpg

DSC_9520_edited.jpg

DSC_9528.JPG
livinguktaiwan divider.png





You can checkout all my travel post on the Pinmapple here or click on Mr Pinmapple below

Sort:  

Another great place that has most of the things I love. You're so lucky t be able to visit these places. I need to move to the UK so I can roam around all day, take photos and admire the sea, stone buildings, castles and whatever the country has to offer.
Thanks for these wonderful posts! Keep them coming 😊

Come on over some time, I'll be your guide!!!!

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Your balance is below 0.3 HIVE. Your account is running low and should be replenished. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://hive.blog/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-s-faq

It's always interesting to come across sites that contain so much history during long walks and it does look fun to hike along this kind of landscape.

This was certainly an eye opener for me and the two parts of the walk were so distinctively different. Glad you liked it!

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

really great place I really want to that place

You're welcome

Thats an interesting place. I like a good history lesson. The pictures are really something as well. Thats quite the landscape. The hike near the water looks awesome

Glad you liked it @leaky20, thanks for dropping by

@ENGAGE 20

certainly a lovely sight of nature with history facts about the fort. Definitely a good educational site for kids these days.

!tip

Now I can see why the long hike to the clifftop of Brean Down was worthwhile. At the end of this journey, you get to enjoy a golden prize waiting to be explored - the beautiful Brean Fort, one of UK’s historic treasures. Thank you for taking us on this adventure!

You're welcome @storiesoferne, sharing our travels is one of the best thing we can do on Hive.

Fascinating. Have you been to Kinmen of Taiwan? Looks alike in some way...

I've said for three years I want to go, and I still haven't been to any outlying islands
When I go back, I'm definitely going to see more of Taiwan, never know when I'm going to be kicked out again 😌
!ENGAGE 20

Now that you mentioned star gazing, I wonder how clear you can see the stars from here at night 😍 looks like a good spot from what you've written

would be interesting to find, but tbh i'm not sure if they allow camping, not that there's anyone who patrols though!

Beautiful locations, also very informative

Good post

Thanks for dropping by

This post has been rewarded with an upvote from city trail as part of Neoxian City Curation program . We are glad to see you using #neoxian tag in your posts. If you still not in our discord, you can join our Discord Server for more goodies and giveaways.

Do you know that you can earn NEOXAG tokens as passive income by delegating to @neoxiancityvb. Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP. Read more about the bot in this post. Note: The liquid neoxag reward of this comment will be burned and stake will be used for curation.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

I was very surprised about itd condition, but I did read online that they did some renovation works some years ago. Yhe good thing is that it's still kept very well and there were little signs of vadalism or anything.

 4 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment