Sandringham House, UK - the Queen's private home and special memories

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Everyone, ok maybe not everyone, but definitely everyone who visits UK, will have heard of Buckingham Palace, and probably Windsor Castle. Buckingham Palace is the Queen's official home, call it the royal family's HQ if you want. Windsor Castle is outside of London and is where the Queen and her husband Prince Philip stayed during Covid. It's also where Prince Philip died a few months ago. Both properties are owned by the Crown and the Queen gets to live there as long as she's the Queen. She doesn't own them.

The Queen does however, personally own a few houses, which in you and I eyes, we'd call mansions. One of them is called Sandringham House at Norfolk, in the east of England.
DSC_4228.JPG
livinguktaiwan divider.png

Sandringham Estate

Sandringham Estate was bought by Queen Victoria in 1862 for her eldest son Edward VII, he was the Queen's great grandfather. The entire estate has about 8000 hactares of land and includes the main house, a 16th century church, vast gardens and woodland and many other smaller properties rented out to tenants. Queen Victoria paid £220k for it back in 1862, which in today's moneyis about £27.4m!!! Today, the estate is estimated to be worth £48.5m!!!

This is the Queen's country retreat and apparently, she really enjoys it here. It is therefore not surprising that she normally spends Christmas here with her family every year.
20210701_152835.jpg

THE FRONT ENTRANCE

During summer, the house is open to public and this is a great way to see how the other half lives in England. The house has three floors, but only the ground floor is open to public. Sadly, no photos were permitted inside so I can't show you what it looked like. I'll leave you at the front entrance.
20210701_143451.jpg
Having done a tour of the house, I can report the house is old but not drapey, and you can feel it's someone's home although not the type of home you and I are accustomed to. I think it's probably the nearest the general public can get to the Queen, to see how she lives. Which to be honest, isn't that much different from everyone else, having your family by your side, gathering round the dinner table. The thing that amused me most, was the Queen's prized trophy from one of the major horse races (I can't remember which one). The Queen keeps it on the dinner table as part of the silverware and uses it as a fruit bowl! Even the Queen likes to show off her proud moments!!

THE REAR OF THE HOUSE

Considering this is the Queen's house, it actually isn't large, especially when you compare it to Buckingham Palace which has 775 rooms. This is the rear of the house and the tour included rooms on the left hand side up to the green dome part.
20210701_143227.jpg

THE SIDE OF THE HOUSE

And this is the side of the house. It's two rooms deep, even though you can see three windows on the side. You have to remember, you can't compare the size of the rooms here with the rooms in our house!!!
20210701_153523.jpg


THE GARDENS

The garden outside the house covers around 24 hectares and is included in the price of the house tour. The landscape has changed over the years as each monarch has added his/her mark to it. I probably didn't spend as much time here as I should because it was getting a bit late after I came out from the house tour. I strolled around the North Garden which extended out from the side of the house.

Then walked across the rear of the house, around the lake looking back to the house. The view was gorgeous from this angle and I can imagine how enchanting it would look in the winter when the snow falls on the trees.
20210701_160151.jpg
20210701_160449.jpg


ST MARY MAGDALENE CHURCH

Another must visit location on the Sandringham Estate, which is free by the way, is the 16th century St Mary Magdalene Church. This is where the Royal family attends their Christmas service, and has baptised many royalty. This included the King Olav V of Norway who was the great grandchild of Queen Victoria. Other royalties baptised here were Princess Diane, and her grand daughter Princess Charlotte whom she sadly never met.
20210701_141359.jpg

Due to social distancing, there was a short queue to go inside the church. I didn't have to wait very long as the church was quite small and people don't spend that much time inside.
DSC_4214.JPG

And once inside, it felt very relaxing. It's quite a low key church in my non church goer opinion, save the silver bling altar and the beautifully decorative panels on the sides.
20210701_141628.jpg

20210701_141749.jpg

This pair of plaque honours the Queen's parents. Her father King George VI died at Sandringham when she was away on a state visit to Kenya in 1952. He was lay in state in this church for two days before moving back to Westminister Hall in London. That's another reason why Sandringham holds special memories for the Queen as she was not present when her father passed away.
20210701_141700.jpg

England's has a plethora of privage grand houses that belongs to the wealthy and noble. I've been to quite a few but Sandringham House is the closest I've come to royalty.


相信所有人都會聽過英國白金漢宮, 是英女皇的皇宮。 但聞說,英女皇其實至愛是位於英國東部諾福克郡,她的私人住所山靜咸府。 她每年都會跟家人在這裏度過聖誕節。

山靜咸府在1862年由維多利亞女王用22萬英磅購買給其長子愛德華七世。 這個銀碼相等於今天的2700萬英鎊! 而據估計山靜咸府整個莊園今天價值4800萬英鎊。

最近我到山靜咸府莊園遊覽, 可惜大宅內不能拍照跟大家分享。 內裏裝潢顯得高貴但仍 透著優雅的氛圍。 雖然貴為英女王,其實她也跟普通人一樣喜歡展示自己得到的重要獎項。 英女皇愛賽馬是眾所周知, 她自己養了幾匹賽馬在大賽中贏得的獎盃,放在餐桌上 做生果盤。 我覺得這點很可愛。

莊園另一個必看景點是St Mary Magdalene Church 。這座教堂建於16 世紀,當英女皇及家人入住山靜咸府時,就會到這裏參加主日崇拜及每年一度最重要的聖誕崇拜。小小一座教堂,多年來也見證了不少皇室公主公子的領洗 ,而最近一位就是英女皇的6歲曾孫夏洛特小公主。

英國有很多私人莊園大宅開放給觀眾參觀,而我也去過好幾家。山靜咸府莊園應該是能夠最接近皇室的一家,在英國的話很值得去走一趟。

DSC_4228.JPG





You can checkout all my travel post on the Pinmapple here or click on Mr Pinmapple below

Sort:  

Great Travel

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

History! Awesome!

Thanks for droppping by @silversaver888

Always looking forward to your articles, @livinguktaiwan!

Hi, I have manually curated your content as you have posted a photo that I found interesting. Your post will be included in my Photophile series of posts in my blog. Keep on sharing great photos!

Here's a slice of !PIZZA for you!

Thanks, but please note I do not grant you permission to use my images in your blog. All your Photophile series do is to profit from other people's work.

Another great post, another great opportunity for me to see a piece of history and a piece of your country.

Although I come from a non royal country and I think it's too much for them what they hold, or should I say what they use, as tourism point of view, this is absolutely fantastic! It's something that you definitely don't find elsewhere in the world, even though there are other countries ruled by royal families.

Thanks again for this lovely post! 🙂
Have a great day and I'm looking forward to seeing the next one.

Royalty, particularly in UK always tend to divide people on whether they should still exist at all. Personally, I think they are great for tourism as you say, and I reckon that brings a lot of economic value to the country, not to mention gossip from the younger generation to keep UK in the picture!!!

Thats so quirky and cool that the Queens trophy sits on the table and is used as a fruit bowl lol. Little tidbits of fun information like that can really make a tour interesting and memorable. The photos of the side of the estate and the one where it is poking through the trees looking over the pond are really beautiful.

This was one of those self guided audio tours so it was really good they threw in these little trivia. As to the photos, the credit goes to my nephew, which is the kiddo I mentioned in my post the other week ago when I went to Budapest. Kids are so much better at taking photos!

Kids grow up with cameras and social media these days so naturally they are much better then the rest of us. I didn't get my first cell phone until I was 24 lol. Those are great shots though. He's definitely got talent!

Nice beautifull pics and excelent review of Sandringham House in your post.

I really love this post ❤️

Blessings.

Thank you for your kind words!

WOW... Absolutly LOOVE this 😍
Such a beautiful castle (castles are a favorite) and the envirement around this one is AMAZING.
You captured it well and it looks majestic from distance but even more close up. The garden is gorgeous and I love the water around the castle.
Definitly a place that I would love to visit, and another thing I love to is a place with history 😉

Thank you for sharing and again, killer shots.
Have a great week. Cheers 🌹

Thanks a lot @saffisara, wouldn't expect anything less from the Queen's private residence 😉

But seriously, I think it is a very charming place for a day out

Only the best is enogh for a Queen 😁 lol
And it really is a beautiful place, and I bet it was a Great experience to see it up close.
Now I want a castle to 💒 😁 lol

Wow this is a great place! I book marked it as a place I want to go visit when I am in England. Historic houses are great and I love gardens and land. This is beautiful. Thanks for the cool tour.

You must come back again sometime Sara, I'm sure we can find enough places to keep you here for a whole month (or more!!!)

For sure. That would be so fun.

Very cool! I like these old buildings. Living history!
!PIZZA

Congratulations @livinguktaiwan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 17500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 18000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hey a question may be not related to the topic but I'm still curious about your nick name. Are you English Taiwanese? 😁 sorry for my curiosity.

No worries @dodovietnam, account names is a great topic for discussion. I'm from UK, and started living in Taiwan 5 years ago when I started blogging. I came back to UK last year for a visit but then got stranded here because Taiwan closed their borders to foreigners. I guess if I'm stranded in a country during Covid, I'd rather be my home country 🙃

Thanks @livinguktaiwan. Yeah it's interesting to look at someone's account name and make some guesses about it. I usually do it.

Wow, that is a very impressive estate. I have learned something today - about the Crown and the Queen.

It's amazing what trivia you can pick up from Hive sometimes!

Mmm... I'm pretty sure I replied to this comment. Weird...

Anyway, if you ever have a chance to go to UK, this part of the country will make a great day out

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Actually I wonder if the Queen has ever swam in the sea before 🤔, but yeah, I get what you mean!

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment