A Day To Remember: Our Journey to Bukidnon Province

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

DSC_0258.JPG

Inspired by one of the best bloggers here on HIVE @ybanezkim26 I am now trying to start my own post featuring places I visited perhaps both in the Philippines and abroad.

And to start with I will feature my birthplace BUKIDNON, a province in the Northern Mindanao, Philippines.

I’ve been away from this place I call my home for more than 20 years but every time I have a chance I make it sure that I could visit Bukidnon and thank God for the chance. Before this pandemic started I used to go to Bukidnon during special occasions like All Soul’s Day, Fiesta Celebration, and sometimes during birthdays of my relatives. Now it’s been more than 6 months since I last visited my hometown.

I was born in Bukidnon, Kibawe in particular. I finished both my elementary and high school in the same place until such time that I need to leave the place to enter College.

When I finished college I was fortunate enough to be hired by one of the largest drug chain of stores in the Philippines and was assigned in Zamboanga City, that made me live away from Bukidnon until such time that I was able to raise a family of my own and reside in Cagayan de Oro City until now.

Last year I got the chance to visit my hometown together with my family. I was with my wife and 4 kids since my eldest was in Davao at that time.

Our first stop was in Malaybalay, the capital city of Bukidnon. Malaybalay is tagged as the little Baguio because of its cold weather especially at night. I remember staying in this place for 5 straight months and truly, taking a bath in the morning was for me is a continuous agony LOL.

Since it was around lunchtime, we decided to stop in the Capitol area, here you can find big trees and beautiful flowers. Before we took our lunch we had a picture taking, as a remembrance for such a chance to be there is quite rare considering our busy life both being students and workers.

So this area is adjacent to Kaamulan Park, a perfect place to stay if you want peace and serenity or simply want to be with nature or you can also have a dry picnic with the family, indeed great place to play and enjoy with a lot of trees scattered around.


If we had a lot of time we should have stayed a little longer for we really love the ambiance, it's too far from the big city. In that place even if it was lunchtime we still wore our jackets because it's really cold.


My kids enjoyed taking pictures, they already accumulated a lot of photos during our first stop, after a while, we took our lunch and heed on to our next stopover.

BUK3.jpg


MONASTERY OF THE TRANSFIGURATION

DSC_0215.JPG

DSC_0253.JPG

Is one of the top destination in Malaybalay City during Holy Week. It took us only about 10 minutes from the highway to the chapel. Not too much has changed since I last visited this pyramid chapel, perhaps after 10 years’ time, I still find it extraordinary, not a usual chapel, its serenity really makes it special.

DSC_0214.JPG

I used to have a one day recollection in this place when I was still in college. It is truly an ideal place for recollection and retreat, indeed a perfect place for reflection. If you want peace of mind and calmness of soul and spirit, spend an hour or two here in the Transfiguration Monastery specifically located in San Jose, Malaybalay City.

DSC_0260.JPG

DSC_0261.JPG

Special masses are also celebrated here, and I think they also allow exceptional wedding ceremony although I know it’s a bit expensive.

You can also buy something in their souvenir shop, by doing so you are helping the local farmers in the area.

DSC_0236.jpg

DSC_0254.jpg

It was my kid’s first time to visit this magnificent place and they really treasured the moment. I'm sure they won't hesitate to go back there if given the chance.

So after spending a few moments and after offering prayers, we went back to our journey and in about 3 hours we arrived in Kibawe, Bukidnon, the place where I was born and raised. Maybe I will write about it in the future. For the meantime....

Please visit my previous blogs:

Travel Destination Blog 03: Welcome to the Home of the Cute Big-Eyed Tarsier 😎, Bohol, Philippines!https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@long888/travel-blog-03-welcome-to-the-home-of-the-cute-big-eyed-tarsier-bohol-philippines
Travel Destination Blog 02: The Island Born of Fire, CAMIGUINhttps://hive.blog/hive-174578/@long888/travel-blog-02-the-island-born-of-fire-camiguin

That's all ladies and gentlemen, thank you for reading and till next!

ALL PHOTOS ARE MINE.

Please support @surpassinggoogle as witness.
To vote his witness, simply visit
https://wallet.hive.blog/~witnesses
and type in "steemgigs" into the first search box for witnesses.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 24/32)

Thank you very much!

😱 I'm touched by this mention! Thank you! By the way, next time you'll post a travel blog, you need to add a map coordinates in order to have a chance to be curated. The coordinates will notify the team to review your post to see if it's worthy of feature or mention.

In this post for example, I chose the Abbey of Transfiguration as the highlight of this trip of yours so it will be the one to be pinned in the map. You can edit your post and simply add this coordinates at the end of your post:

[//]:# (!pinmapple 8.116178 lat 125.136803 long d3scr)

Here are the steps next time:

  1. Go to pinmapple.com

    Screenshot_2020070521571773.png

  2. In the search bar, type the city or town you visited. In this case, I typed Malaybalay City. Once you see the location of your trip, click the "get code" button. And then click the map where you want to pin your location.

    Screenshot_2020070521585730.png

  3. After clicking the map, it will show the code. Copy that code and add it at the end of your post.

    Screenshot_2020070521591095.png

I hope this helps. See you around!

Wow thank you so much Engr. I will edit my post now, God bless!

Im done but i can't see it in my blog, is it something hidden?☺ Sorry i really don't know about this, tnx again for the help.
.

Yes, it's hidden. It won't show in your preview, but it's there. Just wait for a reply from pinmapple.

I think I've done it right coz I received a comment from pinmapple, thank you very much!

No problem.

Ganahan kay ko daara sa Bukidnon ai kay bugnaw. Dili uso ang panington.

Bugnaw gyod sa Bukidnon car labi na diha sa Malaybalay.

Kaanha ko dara sir. Naa man koy mga relatives dara side sako Mama. Mao magtravel ko kay magdeluxe lang kay lami kaayu ang hangin.

Bitaw bugnaw gyod ang hangin

Aso aso na bro. That's good. Sundoga ang mga tag na gigamit ni Kim para mas daghan ang makakita sa imu post. Good work and good post. I look at your kids and they are really happy. Your decision to relocate back to the country has really paid off.

Naningkamot kog sundog sa iya presentation sa pics di pa gyod nako makuha tanan pero makabalo rako pohon hehe, tnx sir im happy also na for almost 2 years uban na gyod mi sa ako family.

Kato diay sa mga iring wala ka nagpost? Kada Sabado to bro. Kung naa kay mga pics sa mga iring i-post nimu sa caturday community. Kung wala, kuha lang ka sa internet unya himoan nimu og istorya. Naa ni siyay following. Sulaya daw bro.

yes sir salamat ako na gilista ang saturday mga iring, ang friday katong marketfriday, wedenesday dayon wednesday walk, hopefully mapareha na sa imo ako earnings per blog dagko na kaayo hehe, unsaon diay tuod pagpa upvote ni bobbylee? murag naa siya pirmi sa imo mga posts

Bro ikaw man mao ang nag-refer sa iyaha. Remember? Ingon ka padad-i siya og gamay nga Steem, bisan .01 lang unya i-refer imung post for consideration of an upvote ibutang sa transfer memo. So kada magpost ko kaniadto ako siya padalhan og .01 Steem unya sa memo ako i-refer ang post nako. Usahay iyahang i-upvote. Usahay dili. Sa kadugayan, murag na-automatic naman siya og upvote bisan wala na ko nagrefer sa akoang post. Nakaila pa to sa imuha bro. Sulaya daw padala lang ka .01 Hive. Sa comments ingna siya na before naga-upvote siya sa imu post pero nagbakasyon ka 2 years so nawala ka. Pero karon nag-active na pud ka. Ibutang ang latest post nimu. Buotan man bobbylee. Palangga niya kaayo mga Pilipino. Daghan siya gina-upvote na pinoy.

lagi ako etry ug send ako link ako man gud hunahuna basin bawal na mga in ana like atong mag upvote2 bitaw sauna kato mga upme appreciator, etc

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #901.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much!

Hi bro, I'm from Quezon City, my province is Nueva Ecija, I've been planning to visit Bukidnon. Keep them coming.