The Unification Day / Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Yesterday was 6th of September. For us, the bulgarians, this date is a national holiday of our country. We called this day "The Unification Day", because it commemorates the unification of Eastern Rumelia and Bulgaria in 1885. If you are interested to learn more about this event, you can check this article .

I'm not going to tell you historical tales that you may find boring, but I will show you how we celebrate this holiday nowadays.

Before I begin, I want to tell you that this is not our most important holiday.
If you make an analogy with the American 4th of July, it should be compared to the 3rd of March, when it is our "Liberation Day".
The other thing which is very important is that our nation is very proud of our land and of course with our history. Bulgaria is one of the oldest countries in Europe.

im

Me and my sister Lilly had not seen each other for several months, as she lives in the capital Sofia and I was in Varna.
Due to the national holiday, Monday is a non-working day and that is why we both returned to our hometown of Veliko Tarnovo.
We decided to walk around the historic part of our city.

i

We went to the castle of "Tsarevets". This is one of the biggest landmarks of the city.

In fact, every holiday has a festive show "Sound and Light", which is performed in the evening. Since we had an appointment with our family to have dinner, we went in the late afternoon.
I'm promising you guys that next time I will show you this performance - It is really amazing.

i

This castle is one of my favourite places in Bulgaria.
It is renovated in 1877, but back in the time it is build а long, long time ago.
There are a lot of information and facts that the castle was built around the fifth (V) century.

i

Тhis is the Lion, howding the flag of the city.

Looking on it makes me think that it is going to be a very cool idea to make a T-shirts with it. I will think about it.

In principle, to enter and see the whole castle you have to pay a ticket. Of course when there is a holiday it is free.
Unfortunately we went there quite late and the castle could not be visited as people who are working for the Castle were preparing for the upcoming show.

im

We saw a few americans who really were enjoying their time. I spoke with them, because when I was in th USA I saw that the americans are very polite and they are always trying to help you, so I am trying to "pass it on".

My sister visited "Tsarevets" for last time 4 years ago, so she enjoyed the time spend with me there.
Of course, she wanted me to take her a few photos. As @gigiii says I am a good photographer.

i

She is my younger sister. The other, Violina, lives in London. I hope that soon I will meet her as well.

im

Lilly is 32 years old and she is working as notary assistant in Sofia.
She is very smart and always with a smile in her face.

im

My sister is also born and raised in the beautiful city of Veliko Tarnovo. She is a little bit shy and she didn't want me to post her photos in the HIVE platforms, but I hope that she would't be very angry. Support her with kind comments please 😂

Of course she took a photo of me.. for the records.. 😏

i

I've been wearing a lot of visor hats lately.

From the place where I am sitting you can see the "Trapezitsa Hills". Check the view:

ic

It is pretty, right?
Going back from the castle, you can see how many people were also trying to have a walk around.

i

A couple (maybe a man and a woman) made a very good impression on me, so I decided to take pictures of them. I hope if they somehow see this post, wouldn't get angry.

i

What is a blog without #selfie ?

Time was pressing on us, so we left earlier.

im

I think that Veliko Tarnovo ( The meaning of "Veliko" is "Great") it is very beautiful city.

Whichever way you catch it, you can enjoy the beauty of nature and the snatches, as the city is built so that you can see amazing views from every side.

i

We decided to take the road leading to the center.

As you may have noticed, most of the houses are quite old.

As you can see, this one, for example, was built 1776.

i

The contrast of a very old house with ridiculous graffiti is great. This is the case in a large part of our city.

I mean, I really like the street art, but tagging your "crew" is no art to me personally, and it only spoils the beauty and authenticity.

i

A lot of people were waiting to enter in the church which is called "Nativity of the Virgin". The majority of the people not only in our city, but in the whole Bulgaria are an Orthodox Christians.

im

From the church you can also see the castle. Actually a lot of people were standing near the church because this is one of the best places to watch the show "Sound and light".

im

I am always saying that one of my favourite things in the USA is that everywhere are nationals flags. In our county this is not very common. Actually I think that Veliko Tarnovo is one of the very few places where the people are putting the flag in their facilities, but in the other cities the flags are only putted in the town halls and etc. Anyways, I really love when I see that flag.

im

Of course I had my own. I will always say that I am proud Bulgarian. Also I am proud of my city. If the Bulgarian people are united, woe to the enemies!

i

During communism, many historic buildings and monuments were allowed, others were destroyed. A large part of the young population of Bulgaria hates communism!

i

Because of the holiday a lot of people were waiting in the shops were normally no one enters. Here we have a quote which says " A single day can make this year prosperous."

im

Of course almost everywhere they are a souvenirs shops.
The population of Veliko Tarnovo is about 70 000, but every year more than 550 000 people are visiting the city. Most of them are from other countries ( such as UK, Germany, Russia, China and etc.).

im

I can't miss to say that the current mayor does a lot for the city. New buildings are being built, schools and kindergartens are being helped, roads are being changed.

i

In the central part of the city (where the old one ends) life is different. You can see many boutique shops, expensive jewelry studios, full of people restaurants and cafes ... and of course discos and pubs.

There is a university in the city that is quite famous. The city also has a football team that plays in the first division of Bulgaria. Even the team became champions in 1991.

That mas walk with my sister Lilly in Veliko Tarnovo.

The Unification Day reminds us that if we are together, everything is possible.

Thank you all for reading and for the support. I really appreciate it! As you can see, I am very motivated to create quality content and every comment, vote and reblog motivates me even more. Thank you again :) Hive up!

Sort:  

Our beautiful town ;)

Namaste 🙏

Thanks bro!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #964.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you 💙💙💙

Amazing post! The national holiday are one of my favourite days :) 🇧🇬Да живее България!🇧🇬

Mine too. We live in a beautiful land 🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬

Nice post my friend.
Small reward for your effort!

@tipu curate 4

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 20/60)

@crazy-andy Thank you so much 💪 Appreciate it!!

🍻Cheers!🍻

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you so much for the answer!

Wish you all the best! :))

You should take off the hat and put on a smile @lyubo19.
Your sister is quite good looking, a man next to a
Fine looking woman (even if it IS his sister)
Should have a smile on his face. 😜
Great images of the city,
Great post as well.
U&R
image.png

Haha thank you for your feedback Sir :)

Greetings from Lilly 👍

@pinmapple That's my second post using your services ( a hashtag and code location).

I tried to put it on your map, but I am not sure if I did it right.

Please check if I did it correct 🙏

I am very motivated and I will keep the good work.

Greetings from Bulgaria :)

Congratulations @lyubo19! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day