Kampung Kali Paremono A Riverside Eatery

in Pinmapple3 years ago

What comes to mind when I say the word Riverside Eatery?

image.png

thumbnail.jpg

The most obvious thing is that the location is next to a river. But unlike riverside in other countries, the riverside eatery in Indonesia is something quirky.Often located in small villages, this riverside eatery offers its own appeal especially for townspeople who are looking to spend some time rejuvenating in nature. Having the landscape of a tropical country, these places are often next to a swamp, a paddy field or straight up a rainforest. These places are also often decorated based on the local culture and serve the local’s cuisine. And these type of place is an alternative for many people to spend their weekend. Today, I got to visit one of these places. I visited a place called Kampung Kali Paremono. This place is located about 30 minutes from the main road of Mungkid, Magelang Central Java.

thumbnail.jpg

image.png

Along the way to the location, you will be pampered with the mountain view and the paddy field with coconut trees on the side of it. But for me, I happened to stay in the middle of these paddy fields and the location is only a 6 minutes ride from the place I am staying.

I found this place on google after researching sites to visit other than the temples. Apparently, there are some natural spots that I can explore in this place. So, I can see myself staying more than a week. To get to the place, I took a Grab ride which surprisingly there was only one person who does this around this area.

thumbnail.jpg

image.png

It was still drizzling when I reached the place. The front place of the place is called a joglo, a traditional central javanese vernacular house. At that time, as far as my eyes could see, it was only myself. So, I walked up to the counter and the staff was friendly enough to show me the menu. As I expected, this place serves traditional javanese food and also a family menu. Basically, that includes various types of fish, chicken, and duck cuisine. I ordered fried catfish and fried mushrooms at this place. In this place, you have to order then pay for it. After that, you can choose the place that you want to sit. While waiting for my order, I explored the place more. I wanted to see the so-called riverside and the hype around this place.

thumbnail.jpg

image.png

On the left of the main entrance, there are some steps that will lead us to more wooden small huts with wooden chairs. And next to it, there’s a river that somewhat looks natural and rather clean without trash. I wouldn’t say the water is clean but at least there was no trash as far as I could see.

image.png

Had it not rained, I would have gotten better pictures as the place was wet and the whole place looks pretty damp.

image.png

They also provide some backgrounds for people to take pictures as if they’re somewhere else.

thumbnail.jpg

The weather in this town is often below 27C so, lounging in this place whilst hearing the sound of the river and the animals nearby is quite nice. I don’t know why I didn’t visit this place more often. Perhaps because sometimes I am too lazy to move. But anyhow, next to the small hut-like building there’s two small ponds filled with fishes.

image.png

For the locals, like my brother this is something quite usual but for me, this is something interesting to visit. Though obviously, there are better places with better service but to me, it was a good adventure.

image.png

"stop looking at me"

image.png

Oh yeah, speaking about the food, I have heard in many places catfish are not served with its head. But here, generally in Indonesia especially java, the fried catfish is served with its head, along with vegetable, rice and sambal, the spicy paste.

image.png

The fried mushroom was good as well. Overall, the food here is equal to regular Indonesian family restaurants. I have no complaints about the food. Overall, I could see how this place could be fun to visit with family during the weekend and when it is not raining.

The other place that I want to visit is the reservation-only coffee shop which many say has amazing views and is only located about 5 minutes from where I am staying. So, stay tuned for more adventures from me!

thumbnail.jpg

Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.