Back Home Series Episode 002: Hiking in Upstate New York

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



When I tell people I'm from New York, they instantly assume I mean New York City. It's extremely difficult to explain that NY is much bigger than just NYC. 

There is a huge area of the state that is covered by nature. Between the Catskill and Adirondack mountains you can hike, camp, and enjoy the outdoors every weekend year-round. 

Black Mountain, New York
Black Mountain, New York

Hiking in the Adirondacks

Living about 2 hours north of NYC has its perks. There is always somewhere to hike. I've spent more weekends in the Adirondacks than I can count.

There are 46 peaks you can hike in the Adirondack State Park. The hikes range from short and easy to extremely difficult.  While I haven't made it to the top of all of them yet, it's a goal that I'll try to achieve if I ever make it back to the states.

Fall is amazing in Upstate New York
Fall is amazing in Upstate New York

What is the best time of year to hike in the Adirondacks? 

It gets cold up here. Be safe while on the trails during the winter!
It gets cold up here. Be safe while on the trails during the winter!

Most of the hikes can be completed year-round. While hikes in the winter are allowed, understand it can be extremely dangerous. Every year there are news reports of lost hikers who die on a mountain after getting lost in a blizzard. Please take every precaution possible if hiking in the winter.

Always be prepared during any winter hikes in Upstate New York
Always be prepared during any winter hikes in Upstate New York

There are also regulations during spring and fall to reduce erosion during wet seasons. 

While Summer hikes are fine, the insects in the Adirondacks can be unbearable. Mosquitoes are everywhere and you also risk encounters with ticks that can cause serious health issues. Always check for ticks after your hike!

Fall can be one of the best times to hike the Adirondacks. Upstate New York comes alive during fall. The vibrant colors of the foliage can be breathtaking. It's also cooler but not too cold. If you have the opportunity, I would suggest checking the trails out in autumn.

I swear I wasn’t on acid when I took this picture of the foliage
I swear I wasn't on acid when I took this picture of the foliage

Fire Towers in the Catskills and the Adirondack Mountains

One cool feature on many hikes is the fire towers. There are 30 fire towers located across New York State. On top of many mountain peaks, they were constructed in the early 1900s to help prevent forest fires.

Black Mountain Peak, NY
Black Mountain Peak, NY

The fire towers were manned up until the 1970s. Now they stand as a relic of the past. The remaining towers are available to tourists to climb and check out giving you an extra high view of the surrounding landscape. Climb one with your friends and have a celebration beer on me!

Another fire tower challenge down
Another fire tower challenge down

Hiking in New York State

Hiking in upstate NY is one of the things I miss the most while traveling the world. Hopefully one day soon, I can catch up with my friends from back home on a peak and overlook my hometown again. 

Have you been hiking in New York?

Have you had the pleasure of hiking in New York? I'd love to hear from you. The Adirondacks are truly one of my favorite places on the planet and I miss them every day while I'm on the road. One of these days, I'll be back.

Let's Connect and grow together!

I'm loving the hive community so far. Thanks to Travelfeed for providing a great tool to post about my adventures! I'd love to hear from anyone and chat about travel stories from around the world. Feel free to reach out here or on my socials below!

Facebook Instagram Twitter Website


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @mantis-tobaggon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1299.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

awesome, thanks for all the support!

Congratulations @mantis-tobaggon! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!