Pre-Covid Series: Death Valley in 360 Degrees

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



So before I was on the road as a "digital nomad" I worked for a great company that would take us on yearly trips and adventures. Back in 2018, we had a week-long trip to Las Vegas and Death Valley. 

Ninjas in Death Valley National Park
Ninjas in Death Valley National Park

This trip was the first chance I had to play with a new toy as well. A 360 camera. Today is just a short post about Death Valley. 

That’s no moon
That's no moon

Death Valley, Nevada

Death Valley is located approximately 2 hours west of Las Vegas. It is a desolate and barren wasteland. If you were lost on these desert plains, it wouldn't be long until you succumbed to heat and sun.

I think I’m lost and I need a beer!
I think I'm lost and I need a beer!

Luckily, we were staying at a wonderful resort. The Inn at Death Valley is amazing and was a perfect oasis away from the heat and sun of Death Valley.

An oasis in Death Valley
An oasis in Death Valley

Sometimes I get fancy
Sometimes I get fancy

On our 3 day stay, we ended up taking a few hikes throughout the area. I also ventured out at night to try and capture some cool nighttime shots. Unfortunately, the full moon was so bright it was difficult to capture any good nighttime sky shots. 

I was able to get quite a few cool 360-degree images with my 360 camera.

We were somewhere around Barstow on the edge of the desert when the drugs began to take hold.
We were somewhere around Barstow on the edge of the desert when the drugs began to take hold.

Things to do in Death Valley

Honestly, there isn't much to do, but that was perfect. After a rough 3 nights of nonstop partying in Las Vegas, it was great to relax by the pool all day and have a great meal at night. 

The tours we went on were short enough that you didn't die of heat exhaustion but you were still able to take in the majesty of the park. Seeing this massive desert up close is truly amazing. At times it feels like you are on a different planet.

You'll experience sand dunes, salt fields, towering rock formations, and more while adventuring in Death Valley. 

I would encourage anyone visiting Vegas to spend a few extra days and venture out to Death Valley if you have a chance. 

360 Photography in Death Valley

Most of the photos in this article were captured with my Madventure 360 camera. This camera uses two action cameras to quickly capture 360-degree images and video. In the future, I'll post some 360 video tutorials. For now, just enjoy the pictures.

Time for Home

Vegas and Death Valley was a hell of a trip but I feel I needed another vacation right after the trip!

Let's Connect

I hope everyone is enjoying these posts. I'm sure everyone is anxious to get back out on the road and enjoy life the way we could before the pandemic.

I encourage everyone to do what they can to stay safe and stop the spread of Covid. This doesn't mean living in fear. Do what's right and do what you can to stay healthy! Let's beat this thing and get back to traveling!

Currently based in Siem Reap, Cambodia, I'm a solo-traveling, digital nomad. Due to the pandemic, I've been living in Siem Reap for almost 2 years now. While I'm hoping to get back on the road soon, I'm not in a rush. 

I'd love to connect with other travelers, digital nomads, gamers, or residents of Cambodia. Don't hesitate to say hi or send me an upvote!

You can learn more about me and my company at OneZen.me.

Socials 

Facebook Instagram Twitter Website


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Those pictures are awesome :) Have you thought about using fractal overlays over some for an even wilder effect?

!PIZZA and !ALIVE

I haven't use fractals but have done some other interesting digital manipulation before. I'll have to post them sometime soon

I look forward to seeing them :)

!PIZZA

Havent been able to travel to a dessert yet! Love your 360 photos.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @mantis-tobaggon! Your post brought a smile to the TravelFeed team so we have sent you a smiley. Keep up the good job. 🙂

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Congratulations @mantis-tobaggon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Quick feedback
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day