A day of ups and downs

in Pinmapple4 years ago

My third day in Italy was really one of ups and downs, but looking back at it now, the ups far outshone the downs though! 😄

Colline del Candia, Massa-Carrara

I set out quite early in the morning to continue my hike along the Via Francigena. Unfortunately Sofia, my host for the bight wad still sleeping. The plan was to finish up my hike to Massa, which was about three hours and then keep going as far as we can. At the start of my hike, halfway to Massa, I found myself at the top of this hill, with a stunning view of the valley below. Where I decided to get some second breakfast! 😄

My rating: 7/10



Caffè Puccini

Eventually I decided to hitchhike a bit whilst hiking along the Via Francigena as there simply wasn't enough time to get to Rome in time otherwise. Quickly I got my first ride into Massa, after some lovely conversation I decided to grab a coffee before and write in my travel diary. There were a few tables set out on a square next to a fountain. The coffee was grear, the owner lovely and I felt that good kind of peace setting in on me whilst I sat there writing.

My rating: 8/10



Polle di Malbacco - Pozzo della Madonna

Out of Massa the Via Francigena went up and up and up again. Giving way to several beautiful views. Eventually I decided to hitchhike some again. I get picked up by Michele, we talk a bit and on the way he mentions he's going to some natural pools in a river with his girlfriend. I didn't want to intrude, so I didn't ask. But when we arrive Eva (the girlfriend) immediately invites me with. With had some wonderful conversations about life and afterwards jumped in the cold river. There was nearly noone else and the area and river are stunning. I felt so relaxed and completely ready tackle the next part of my trip. Of course this detour meant it was getting quite late for my last leg, which I decided would be to Camaiore.

My rating: 9/10



Via Matraia Bv.Ciciana

Eventually I arrived in Camaiore. The sun was setting, I was exhausted from all the hiking. When I arrive at the hostel the reception is already closed. When I call the woman is fairly rude on the phone. To top it all off, I get an email telling me pretty much "Sorry, you're too adventurous for this job". I drag myself up after 10 minutes and keep walking out of Camaiore and out of the bad vibe that suddenly overcame me. I decide to hitchhike to Lucca and hopefully make it there and look for a bed and mostly a shower. Eventually I get picked up by Duccho in an old timer cabrio. I tell him my story and he tells me he might have a place for me to camp out. That's how I got to meet Clio, her boyfriend, friends and mum, whom took me in like they'd known me my entire life. It was an amazing feeling of coming home somehow. Getting a big plate of pasta and a beer shoved in my hand, before I am well seated. 😄 I ended up staying here for two nights, but more about that in my next post. Most importantly I'd go back in an instant.

My rating: 10/10





Join me on Haveyoubeenhere! 😄


[//]:# (!pinmapple 44.0507772 lat 10.1057047 long d3scr)
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Italy is amazing and very nice :-) Love this country ...

It definitely is, I almost didn't go on this trip, so glad I did though! 😄

hahaha okay :)

You're so lucky meeting so many great people on the road, and willing to take you in under these crucial times!

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 14/21)

I definitely agree. I think when I travel I realize it most often, that my believe in human kindness is not misplaced! 😄

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #926.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: