A few days in Ko Lanta

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Another throwback to my Thailand and Bangladesh trip from 2018 - 2019. Koh Lanta is a slightly less touristy island and I enjoyed my time there quite a bit. I did manage to pitch my tent in an ants nest there, which was, well lets say a bit less fortunate, haha! 😄 All in all I had a great time there as well as on my hitchhiking trip from there back to Bangkok. As always you can follow the entire trip on my Haveyoubeenhere profile exclusively.

Mu Ko Lanta National Park

There is a short hike you can do in Mu Ko Lanta National Park. There weren't many people here, meaning you can walk the trail in peace. It is a nice little hike, but nothing to go out of your way for in my opinion. The beach there is quite beautiful as well and if you go by scooter the drive down is quite fun as it is relatively steep! 😄 All in all, I would say it's worth a visit if you're on Ko Lanta!

My rating: 7/10







Khlong Chak Waterfall

I quite like this hike as it feels a bit like you have to make your own path from time to time (which I enjoy) and the nature around the trail is beautiful of course. The waterfall itself wasn't anything spectacular, but it's nice to get in the water and cool down some from the heat. If you're lucky you can also see some monkeys along the path. 😄

My rating: 8/10





Saladan Pier

After a few days at Koh Lanta, the road to the pier was my starting point to start hitchhiking back to Bangkok. I left early morning and arrived at night. I absolutely enjoy hitchhiking and this time was no different. Chilling in the back of a pick up or trying to have a conversation with a truck driver and having dinner with him and his buddies at a small but amazingly good roadside restaurant! Good times! 😄







Join me on Haveyoubeenhere! 😄


[//]:# (!pinmapple 7.470410599999998 lat 99.09921039999999 long d3scr)
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #826.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you team! 😄

You're welcome @martibis 🙂

I love Koh Lanta. I only spent a few days there way down in the south on Kantiang Bay I think it was called. We were on a cliffside bungalow operation that was quite likely the most chill place I have ever been.

I think the only downside that I remember from Lanta is that the beaches are quite rocky and this hurts my super sensitive feet when I am in the water :)

Yeah, I stopped at Katiang Bay I think. I think it's one of my favorite ones on Koh Lanta! Very tranquil if we're talking about the same beach! 😄

Oh yeah, that makes sense! Generally speaking I guess I like the North of Thailand more, but both Koh Lanta and Koh Chang were lovely experiences though!

Kantiang was very far south and there is a very expensive resort there called Pimalai. Obviously I did not stay in it because their top units are like $1000 a night. But no one owns the beach and that one was a winner!

Yup, than I am pretty sure we're talking about the same beach here! There aren't many building out there if I am right, but there is a little restaurant as well if my memory serves me right! Damn, yeah, 1000 USD a night is definitely out of my price range too, I usually travel 2 months or more on that kind of budget! 😄

that far down the beach there aren't many places... just a few shops and a beach bar or two. Of course there is also a 7-11 because I think it is require by the government to have one of those every km or so.

Oh how I miss my drunk toasties from 7/11, haha! 😄

lol, eventually that becomes a part of everyone's diet here. They're famous!

Congratulations @martibis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!