Beginnings of a trip through Italy

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

Normally I was supposed to go to Georgia. I bought some hacker flights with layovers in Milan and Rome respectively. Because of Covid-19 the flights out and to Italy from Georgia were cancelled. So I thought, Italy it is? And I am glad I did. It was an incredible trip and you'll be able to follow along bit by bit while I write it all out. This was my first day off getting to and arriving in Italy. As always the best place to follow my travels is the Haveyoubeenhere app.

Charleroi Airport

After taking the train ride from Ghent to the Charleroi airport, I was immediately surprised by how empty it was. A combination of Covid-19 and the fact that there weren't any flights the moment I arrived. I ended up spending the night there. The amenities in the airport are very basic, and there are no real benches to lay on (the have metal bars splitting it up in seats), so I was grateful for my sleeping bag and mat even before I arrived in Italy! 😄



Bergamo Airport

After catching my flight in the early morning I arrived at Bergame airport. The kiosks for buying a bus ticket into town were closed, but eventually I found out you can buy it outside at the bus station as well and so I set out for the Central train station of Milan.



Stazione Centrale P.za Duca d'Aosta



Sentiero 1 Levanto-Monterosso

After taking the train from Milan I ended up in Levanto. From here the hiking starts. The plan was to wild camp just before the national park starts (as fines are steep if you get caught in a national park). But before I know it I find myself hiking in Cinque Terre. For me this hike on the first day of my trip was still the best one. I found an incredible spot to camp out (if you're looking for it, hike until the point where High Trail meets the Azure Trail which you will be on, hike about 5 minutes onto the high trail, et voila)! Finally it started to sink in I am in Italy. After finding my spot I sit outside for a while, watching the sun set. During this part of my hike I didn't see a single person on trail. The effect of Covid-19. I had the trail all to myself.

My rating: 10/10







Join me on Haveyoubeenhere! 😄


[//]:# (!pinmapple 50.4709819 lat 4.4732303 long d3scr)
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!