You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Live action at Brighton beach : A decent place for a business meeting

in Pinmapple3 years ago

I read 38 years and instantly thought that you could have paid off a mortgage, I then calculated my age and working yrs and I'm not that far behind.

I remember my first job, safeway/Woolworths earning $1.75 an hr. I'd look forward to weekend work or public holidays which would take my fortnightly earnings upto $75.

Slades! The recycling drink thingy. I remember them, I loved them as a kid. Wish they were still around and far better than the plastic on offer in today's day and age. The youth of today are missing out on driving in and filling your own crate of different flavours.

When I read Brighton, I thought of the snobby upper-class town in Melbourne's East. Clearly the direct opposite to me 🤪

Great post, enjoyed the read!

!WINE

Sort:  

I read 38 years and instantly thought that you could have paid off a mortgage

Paid a few in my day...Still doing so. :)

Back in the day in South Australia there was a 0.20 return on 1 litre soft drink bottles. So, you pay more to buy the drink then the repay you the 0.20 when you take it back for the refund. People rarely did and so others would collect them and bring them into the supermarket. They'd be counted at the service counter and placed in a massive cage on wheels, all stacked and jumbled together. I'd come along, roll this thing to the cage out the back and sort them into Coke, Schweppes and Woodrofe brands and put them in their plastic crates, a dozen in each. Once stacked and we had enough the respective company would send a truck and take them away.

We still have deposits on cans and bottles here, 0.5c each and people can be found sifting bins to pick them up for the deposit.

I figured someone would mention Brighton in the UK...Although yep, there's the suburb of Melbourne too I guess now you mention it.

I'd love to learn a bit more about housing and real estate. I tell ya what. Out in Melbourne's West its a booming business. Growth corridor has opened up which is seeing boomers sell and move further out into new homes. Former outer west now in the cusp if becoming inner west are selling between $750k and some as far as $1.2m 20yrs ago these homes were 90k -$150k

Commission cost me on 440k sale a whopping 13k includes conveyancing.

Anyway was a lil off subject Here's a !BEER

$13K...So about 2.7% plus the conveyancing...That's not too bad. I wouldn't work for less then 3% + GST back in the day but over the course of my selling career it averaged out at 2.8+ which is strong.

I've been doing property for 20 years so know some stuff but still it's very difficult to make predictions. We have areas that have performed like those you mentioned. I actually gains 367% in value on a place I bought in 1997 by the year 2003. I bought two in 2002 that gained well too although I sold them quite rapidly. Should have held two more years. Live and learn, and as I said, it's hard to know.

There's places you can go to get information but the best information is paid for, like the systems we use in the industry. But a private person can still get loads of stuff, one just needs to know what's relevant and what cause and affect different things have: Schools, malls, sporting infrastructure, new roads, public transport and so on.

If you scratch deep enough you'll find plenty.


Hey @galenkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @melbourneswest for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.