A tower surrounded by flat land...? Let's visit Subotica!

in Pinmapple2 years ago

DSC_5440.JPG

The tower of the town hall proudly rises with its beauty and height in this plain, Vojvodina. The city of Subotica, surrounded by fields, charmingly shows off its buildings in the very centre of the city. However, outside the centre, we would get confused and think that we might have found ourselves in a provincial village. It also has its own beauty and charm, but today we will take a walk through the centre of this city. Do you want to join me?

DSC_5412.JPG

I arrived at Subotica around noon, but I didn't complain about the heat. It was warm, but not that unbearable. Anyway, when I choose something to do, as was the case of visiting Subotica for leisure time, I don't pay attention to heat or cold. I am driven by my wish, and then nothing else really matters.

DSC_5414.JPG

Our first stop in this post is The Cathedral of St. Theresa of Avila. It was built in the baroque style, like many of the churches in the area. Around the cathedral, I saw a temporary protective fence. We can conclude why it was installed if we notice that the facade of the building is cracked. Actually, I think it is not just the facade that is broken, but the building itself. I have the feeling that each tower is pulling to its side and because of that force, the middle of the church has suffered this break.

DSC_5415.JPG

This church is not in the strict city centre, but a few minutes away from it. I headed towards the more interesting part of this place, where I could see the town hall, theatre, and the main street. I passed by a building that is probably a small chapel. I didn't go closer to see the name of it, so an unidentified object is what we see here {I would not be surprised if you ditch me now from the role of your touristic guide through Subotica :D}.

DSC_5462.JPG

Still not in the centre, but the buildings from the time when this region was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire started to appear in front of my eyes. Also, the tall trees, with their rich canopy, are giving a so nice view. I just love this scenery. I know, that when I will be back in Spain, I will miss the green tall trees on the streets.

DSC_5418.JPG

DSC_5420.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Just a few steps from the main attraction of Subotica, the town hall. The only thing I have to do is to cross the street and the small square with a statue and a fountain.

DSC_5421.JPG

DSC_5423.JPG

The blue fountain. I know, it is not a super-duper fancy fountain to see... but it is here for a long time, the citizens of Subotica (and the tourists that come here) already know it very well and spend time around it to refresh themselves a bit.

DSC_5428.JPG

The town hall itself is a symbol of Subotica and the interesting facade of the building is inviting us to learn a bit more about its history. The first feature that we see is the high tower. It goes up 76m.

DSC_5427.JPG

The architecs were Marcel Komor and Dezső Jakab from Budapest. We see on the facade of this century-old building patterns of stylized flowers, which are here due to the Hungarian romantic influence. Nowadays, apart from housing the historical archives and city administration, the town hall physically gives place to banks and little shops. I don't like to see when a building of historical and cultural importance of a place is used for these purposes.

DSC_5435.JPG

From the other angle, looking towards the same building, we see another fountain and a bigger square. There were some children playing around the water... Perfect on a warm summer day!

DSC_5459.JPG

DSC_5442.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Next to the town hall, we come across the National Theatre. It is a stunning building, now reconstructed as it was in a very bad shape. It was built in the 1854 year. Part of the building received a modern look and it was a topic of discussion for many. Luckily, the entrance stayed faithful to its original appearance.

DSC_5439.JPG

DSC_5434.JPG

My next stop, hence your as well if you follow my post, is a small square, with a model of Subotica centre and its main buildings. Next to it, there is a statue, featuring one of the majors of this town, Bíró Károly.

DSC_5425.JPG

DSC_5426.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

The main street is the favourite promenade of the residents of Subotica. The street is full of palaces ranging from Neo-Renaissance to Classicist, Eclectic, Art Nouveau and all the way to modern buildings. Today, we find shops in most of those houses and palaces and I think this is the fate of most buildings that are found in the narrow centre of an old city.

DSC_5446.JPG

DSC_5444.JPG

The facades of the palaces are beautiful, though what I miss here are trees. There are some small ones planted, but those trees still need some years or decades to grow up and give that great shade I like.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

In a side street, the atmosphere is different. Shade, restaurants and cafes, instead of the sun, huge palaces and shops.

DSC_5452.JPG

The interesting fence you see in the next photo and the palace inside with the garden is now a nice restaurant. The garden contains several statues. I will enter to see them... just a minute!

DSC_5447.JPG

DSC_5448.JPG

So, I met this violinist...

DSC_5450.JPG

...and the lady with the bicycle...

DSC_5451.JPG

...and one or two houses later, a saxophonist. Must be that a sculptor had an outdoor exhibition, or these statues are already here for a long time? I am not sure, however, they were a nice addition to this side street.

DSC_5453.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Our last stop is the building of the Consulate of Hungary. We see again the very marked influence of the Hungarian style, with the shape of the windows and facade, as well as the flower decoration and patterns. It is close to the railway station and a small park.

DSC_5456.JPG

DSC_5454.JPG

I stayed for a few moments there, in that park which is surrounded by that railway station, the Consulate of Hungary and a street with more of those buildings, so typical for Subotica.

DSC_5458.JPG

My visit to this city finished with having ice cream to cool down in one of the pastry shops. Was it a good decision to eat ice cream for lunch? I assure you, it was!

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

I've heard it's a nice city but have never been there. Thank you for showing me this beautiful city 😍. The art nouveau architecture is absolutely amazing and what is more amazing than the architecture is those statues. Last time I saw similar ones was in Bratislava.

It is pretty close to the Hungarian border, so the influence in this whole area in traditions, culture and architecture is significant!
Now you saw Szabadka (as it is the Hu name of it)! Maybe you take an excursion here one day. There is also a lake, Palics close to it, but I let my car to my other half hahaha, so I couldn't go on foot there as it is not in the city.
I am glad you liked the city 😇

Very beautiful buildings, places!
I love these!

Incredible photos!

I agree with you :)

I so much like this kind of architecture that I can go to places like this without any other goal, just to be around and see those buildings. Thank you so much for your comment, this is one more post where I am coming late with my reaction, but I do appreciate your visits 😇

It's okay, I'm late too, because now there are a lot of things to do.

I also really like this architecture and I always admire it with pleasure.

Looks like a very nice city. The town hall building is pretty cool. I like the color and the design of it. The large crack in the cathedral is crazy. That thing is huge. It looks like it's going to split apart at some point. Hopefully not when people are inside or close to it.

Yeah, it looks like it would split apart. But I think they will try to fix it, somehow... though I don't know if it is possible at this stage already.
The rest of the city is nice and clean, at least the city centre!

Hopefully they are able to fix it. It would be a shame to lose such a nice building.

wow wee wow... those are some really amazing buildings in this place I had never heard of before!

Thanks for taking us along!

There are many places in this world we have never heard of before :)) But you see, thanks to hive we can see some of them :))

Thank you for checking out this post @fraenk 😇

Que gran viaje @mipiano muchas gracias,por lo menos virtualmente puedo salir de Venezuela jaja,hay tanta belleza arquitectonica y natural en las fotos que deslumbra,un abrazote.

Me alegro que has podido pasear por aquí conmigo y salir de tu país. Yo estoy de viaje, pues comparto aquí los lugares que visito :)

Subotica is magnificent, beautiful 😍 Prelepo i interesantno

It is cool to visit it, a nice place. Thanks and pozdrav :)

I love that the tower is surrounded by a lot of trees, it's important to have that green corner in the city.

For sure that it is important to have greenery around in the cities, I like that too! :)

Never heard of subotica before, so I browsed about it and discovered that it is a city in the country of Serbia, somewhere in Europe..

Wow, Subotica is such a beautiful city, with magnificent and gigantic buildings..

Thank you for taking me round your continent with these amazing post.@mipiano

Enjoy the rest of your trip..

Much love ❤❤

Yay, you searched for it :) Cool. Yes, you are right, it is a country somewhere in Europe, where I am right now.
I am glad you stopped by and take this tour with me being a guide hehehhe :D

Much love ❤❤

💙

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1630.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much @ybanezkim26 for the support :)))

You're welcome!

Ice cream is always a good idea, how it was, which flavour? :D

Haven't been there since the school trip, the architecture is beautiful...

Yes, ice cream is never a bad idea. It was a combination of fruit flavours... :)

What a beautiful visit @mipiano 😊😁 such a history and beautiful architectural buildings.
Love them. And the statues everywhere… so cool. I love the violin player. All the details and the birds on his feet. So cute.
Thank you so much for sharing this visit with us.
Have a wonderful day further 👋🏻😁

Hey little girl, yes, the violin player is a cute one, isn't he? The small birds on his feet are a nice detail too, though I like a bit more the lady with the bike :)
Reminds me of my bicycle ride from last week 😂

Hola @mipiano 👋🏻😁
He is cute indeed.
She is nice too, you saw so many there. I like when places have so much art around and so much to see. Love the architecture.
You did cycle… hehehe 🤭 I haven’t since school… many many moons ago 🤣😂🤣😂🤣
Hope it was fun and nice.

Good evening to you 👋🏻🤗

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @cute-cactus.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much, @cute-cactus and @ecency :))

The visit was wonderful with its simple narrative and pictures. Thank you very much. :)

Hi @mipiano, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rehan12!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you for your support ☺️

This post is pure rock, I love how you guide us through every passage of your adventure 🙌😀💛!!!!!

From what I see the city is small but very cozy, I love imagining places like this at night, it must be even more beautiful 😍

I thought the City Hall Tower was spectacular, followed by the Theater that certainly has a mix of modern and old architecture that doesn't really match 😅 and finally the Hungarian consulate building 🔥🔥🔥; the places where you passed by that had many trees certainly rock a lot 🌳💞!!!!

What a beautiful place, I think I would also disregard the heat or the cold because it's just about enjoying and appreciating the art in everything you see!!!!!

If I were in a place like this I would have a good coffee at sunset ☕🌇, at night some cold beers 🍻🌃and I would take out my guitar and play in the square near the fountain hehe 🎸🌟(vampire mode on 🧛... 😁).

Thanks for this mini tour, which wasn't so mini in real life, the pictures were amazing .... You Classically Rock!!! 👍😉🔥🎹📷🎶❤️🌟🥂💥💫💯

Hey Fernando,
I am getting a bit late to respond, but I am sure you understand the reasons :D

The City Hall is beautiful, I know, I also see it that way - spectacular. So many lovely buildings can be seen there, the style they were built is beautiful.

Oh, playing your guitar by that fountain would be an event for that city!! You would get for free any coffee or beer you want to consume hehehe. And more of it 👏 👏

Thank you so much for checking out my posts. I know how busy you are and still you find time to comment on friends' posts! 🙌 🙌
The one who rocks is you actually :))

Don't worry I understand very well, rather I'm still surprised that you can answer so many messages hehehehe, I sometimes collapse, I had never had since I started in Hive my notifications to the top hahahahaha, but it's great at the same time!!!!

This would be great 👉 "Oh, playing your guitar by that fountain would be an event for that city!! You would get for free any coffee or beer you want to consume hehehe. And more of it 👏 👏" Ouuu Yeahhhh 😁

My friends will always be priority here, every time I can I will visit you, your posts are the best. I hope all goes well, I send you a big hug and thanks for always being there for us..... You Rockkk!!!! 👍😉🔥🎹📷🎶❤️🌟🥂💥💫💯

It is wow @mipiano for sure you really had a great experience for that day. The place is so cool and its really good to unwind in that place. The things you see around is refreshing too. I love that second fountain and i imagined to be there in front of it enjoying the cool breeze as the water is going up. Hoe nice to be there. Thanks for showing it up to us.

Well, you are right, it is a calm place to unwind a bit. And exactly that is what I did. I had no other tasks or things to do there, I just strolled around and enjoyed :)

It is summer, warm days... those fountains bring some refreshment, that is true :)

Let me say something deeply honest to you... What you just post, is so relaxing and beauty as the same moment, that makes me smile quite often. I mean It. Keep doing that!

Hey @freakshow90

Not getting to respond to the comments on time, though here I am :)
Thank you for checking out the place I have visited. It was a calm day, as you say relaxing. I was not in hurry, I had nothing to do. Just to walk around and enjoy that architecture :)