The Castle of Chulilla

in Pinmapple2 years ago

DSC_4779.JPG

The Castle of Chulilla surprised us with its beauty. Not the castle itself, as there is not much left from it, but the views. Magnificent views, wherever we looked left me in awe. Do you know that feeling? I could not know how to explain it in words, but I was so happy to be there, at that moment, sharing it with our friends.

That was the day when the coin was flipped, several times to decide where would we go and what would we do. In case you don't know that story, you can check it here when we visited the village and here, a walking route in nature.

The castle visit was not planned either. But when we finished the walking route around Charco Azul and rested a bit in the shade, we gained the last atoms of our energy and adventured ourselves to climb up. To the ruins of that fortress.

DSC_4813.JPG

Following the signs in the village where to find the route to the fortress, we were still asking ourselves. Do we have enough energy to do all of this? Somehow we didn't allow the doubts to attack with more power but scared them away with our jokes. It is always easier to achieve a goal if you are in a good company. So slowly, we were on the right path and started to see the walls of the fortress, growing from the rocks.

DSC_4776.JPG

DSC_4810.JPG

Actually, the walls are in the best condition, it is in a well-conserved state. It is a long but narrow fortress, built already in the times of the Roman empire, but the actual visible parts of the whole complex are re-built later, in the age of Christianity.

DSC_4777.JPG

At this point the climbing became interesting. We found ourselves in the past, walking on that path, inside of the fortress, surrounded by the tall walls gave that special feeling. As a history lesson, but seeing and feeling that history with our own eyes. Walking through it with our own feet.

DSC_4781.JPG

The holes in the walls served for observing the enemy. This area was a place many wanted to conquer. The village is surrounded by the river, which also means having fertile lands, and the good position of the fortress made this place great for the defence.

DSC_4775.JPG

We arrived at the main entrance, which was impressive for me. It had a gate too, but it was destroyed in the battles at the beginning of the 19th century. As the majority of the buildings too. We can see just the ruins and some of the walls that have withstood the test of time and battles.

DSC_4782.JPG

DSC_4783.JPG

DSC_4791.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

As I mentioned, the buildings and the castle that once stood here are not conserved. We just saw the ruins of some of the facilities and at the end of the walking route in this fortress, there was the only conserved wall with two windows facing the valleys. It gave breathtaking views, though.

DSC_4802.JPG

DSC_4789.JPG

From this point, we could observe the village and its medieval structure. The streets and the houses that are descending towards the river Turia.

DSC_4787.JPG

DSC_4786.JPG

At the end of the fortress, we came to the main area of the castle. There was a tower that looked directly to the river and above it, there was another corner tower. I climbed to one of the windows. Maybe they seem not that big, but in reality, they were. I looked down and at that moment I was so scared. It was very high. You practically see the whole valley.
I sat down to be safer and spent some time there. Alone. It was just wonderful. The feeling, something just extraordinary. Later I made a video, to try to record what the photography can not show.

DSC_4796.JPG

DSC_4803.JPG

My son went to the other northern part of the fortress, where the river and the canyon can be seen. He liked it and waved to me to come to see, so I left my friends to rest and climbed to that northern part. It was also amazing, though a completely different view.

DSC_4808.JPG

After some time spent there, filling my soul with all that landscape, we had to go back. We had to walk again through the village and walk on the road to reach the car (that we parked by the road... who read my previous posts knows that we didn't find any free parking space so we parked just by the road).

DSC_4792.JPG

The photos maybe don't do justice, as the place has to be seen and felt. I recorded some video footage from there, what the views were like, not to forget this place. My memory of this Castle-fortress is still fresh, we visited it maybe a month ago, but I would like to refresh my memory even when more time passes. Another option not to forget the experience is to visit this fortress again, one day.

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

Magnificent piece of ancient architecture. The views are amazing too, great shots! :)

@tipu curate

Thank you @phortun

The whole day was just great, and this fortress was a perfect addition to it ;)

Many thanks for your support 🙌

Great photos!

Gorgeous castle and amazing view!

Indeed, amazing view and a great day we spent there. :))

👍

What a lovely place! Flipping the coin took you to a magnificent place!

A huge hug!

Yes, indeed. It was a very funny day, we enjoyed it and the coin thing was a source of a lot of laughter.

You would also love this place, lot higher mountains than what we visited together in Guadalest valley.

Hope you are doing well, it's been a while!

Hug flying back your way :))

You would also love this place, lot higher mountains than what we visited together in Guadalest valley.

For sure!

Hope you are doing well, it's been a while!

I peeked with google maps and it looks like a wonderful area!

Yes, we are all doing well: thank you!
It is very hot here: several degrees above the seasonal average! I want to install an electric air conditioner (and, maybe, a sola panel) so we can stay cool even when the space shuttle is off... 😜

Do you have any idea yet when you will be passing through here?

It is pretty warm here too, the warm weather came just a few days ago.

We will pass through your area at the beginning of July probably. I will let you know when knowing more exact dates :D

It looks like a really impressive one. Seeing the landscape and area dominance around the castle, I can better understand why they built such lofty castles in mountainous areas. Very nice post @mipiano. :))

Yes, exactly. The strategic advantage is obvious.

Thank you for reding @veliozdemiroglu 🎶👋

Wow, it's huge! Beautiful pictures!
I know you took some videos, but I dare say, only going there and seeing it will do it justice!
Amazing!

I know, the real thing is to be there are literally feel it :)
Nothing can be compared to the experience in real life :)
Thanks Anna for checking out 😇

You are always top of my list! I love your posts, always so well written, admirable! 😀
As I say, I don't know how you get it all done so expertly in such a short time!
I don't even always find the time to comment, but you've always got loads, so that's probably not a bad thing.. 😄
Hope, you have a lovely day!

As I say, I don't know how you get it all done so expertly in such a short time!

Doing all this in a short time is not the case. I am basically spending several hours a day on hive hahahaha. It is like work, family, and hive. Full stop. 😆 But still, don't get on time for everything.

I love your posts, always so well written, admirable!

Thank you for your compliment, I do try to give my best though English is not my native language. Surprisingly, I started to think in English since a year ago o so. There are mistakes, the vocabulary could be wider, and the structure of my sentences might sound sometimes weird, but I can communicate at least, right? :D
I guess you can feel a huge difference while reading a post written by a native or us who just try to write some regular to decent English :D

Have a lovely day you too 😇

I am basically spending several hours

Sorry, that came over wrong.. 😄 I gathered that it's not a short job, but still, you write up an interesting post of 800 words much, much quicker than I would! 😀 I guess, it comes with practice.
I'm still learning to make mental notes, can't even always remember to take pictures, lol. But I'm getting into the habit now to do that and take things in more consciously, which is great! :)

Your English is excellent! It's not my native language either, but I guess living here helps.. 😀

👋

Oh, that is why you were singing so well in German :D

It comes with practice, indeed. And consistency.
If I don't write for some time, it is difficult to start again, even if it is just some days. If I am able to write something every day, or every second day, it goes easier. :))
And inspiration. Very important thing. 😃

Indeed... I'm fluent in German.. 😄 ...and it was one of my childhood songs..
Great points there! Consistency and inspiration! I'll keep that in mind! 👍

Un paseo muy hermoso e inolvidable⚘
Disfruté mucho leyendo tu experiencia y observando las bellas fotografías😍
Con mucha razón dicen que "la lectura es el viaje de los que no pueden tomar el tren"🤗
¡Saludos y bendiciones @mipiano!💙

Gracias por leer mi publicación @yohanys
La frase que dejaste es hermosa y verdadera, me gusta mucho!
Grcais de nuevo, y saludos igualmete :))

When it comes to the view, no castle has ever disappointed me so far! And I always find it so comforting to be among thick stone walls :)
Lovely post, thank you for letting us join you and your friends!

I suppose they knew where to build those fortresses and castles. Strategic places, here in Spain many times on high rock formations, and then the views from there... an additional pleasure :)

Thank you for stopping by :)
Hive friends are also welcome to take any of my adventures with me, at least in this way through a post!

Looks like a lovely place to visit - thanks for sharing !
!ALIVE

And thank you for stopping by :)

A place to visit - for sure!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1563.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Many thanks, Kim 🙌

Castles and castle ruins on a hill with a view are always great to see. Those thin windows are also for shooting arrows as well as observing the enemy. The thin slit protects the archer and makes them difficult to hit.

Oh, yes, those tiny windows were used for that too, to shoot. You guys know that better ;)
Btw, there were also some facilities that were used for storage of the guns and also a jail where the captured enemies were kept. Now all in ruins, but that was at least what I read on one of informative the boards there.

Imagine, a jail with views :D

Could not be a bad experience, right? hahaha

Yeah a lot of the old castles and forts were used as prisons for a time. If the jail had a window then definitely a better place than some of the medeival jails out there. I saw one that was just a large pit in the floor, with the only access point being a man sized hole in the ceiling. The prisoner was lowered into it with a rope and sat in pitch black for..who knows how long. I'd choose the jail with a view any day over that place hahaha

Ow, yeah, I know.
The typical medieval jail, a hole, without light. I saw some too, not being captured there but as a tourist :D

I'd choose the jail with a view any day over that place hahaha

You think, if we would be captured by an enemy, they would ask us where to be kept? 😂

not being captured there but as a tourist :D

Haha, good thing :D

You think, if we would be captured by an enemy, they would ask us where to be kept?

Probably not, no. 😂

Probably not, no.

Very probably 😂😂

I'm always impressed to discover this kind of historical buildings which even though they are mostly ruins these days, they can still share lots of emotion 😃

Of course, they can provide us with a lot of emotions, seeing it, feeling it, and learning something new. I try not to miss out on these things and visit as many places as possible, but it also depends on my hiking gang, and for sure, on the coin hahaha 😂

Wow, an incredible castle! I am always fascinated by this antiquity and mystery of the walls!

@darine.darine ;)
Mystery, indeed! I am also asking myself, many times I visit a similar place how was it really in the past? Who walked here, what was the real story there etc. As you say, a mystery :)

Hermoso lugar! Las vistas son impresionantes.

Que maravilloso cuando uno se siente tan feliz por estar en un lugar mágico con gente bonita 😊

Sí, bueno yo siempre estoy feliz haha, bueno, casi simepre, pero me encanta viajar, visitar sitios como este y sobre todo si estoy con buenos amigos.
La vida hay que vivirla, hoy! :))

Gracias por pasar @paolazun 😇

Siii! la vida es para disfrutar y ser feliz 😁

Good evening dear @mipiano 👋🏻
I remember the flip of the coin 🪙 and the walk that didn’t happen.
But what a great flip this was. The castle is stunning… climbing up there. And those views… wow 🤩 amazing. Yep, I know that feeling.

Have a wonderful weekend further 👋🏻☀️
Here it is getting rather warm…

Hi there @littlebee4

How's your week?
Yeah, that coin-flipping day hahaha
I see I mentioned that many times lol 🤣

The views, well, imagine more stunning ones, what the photos dont show :D
And the air and the breeze up there...

It is getting warm here too, I went to the beach the other day... and now I have a running nose! But I don't think it is from the sea, maybe a virus or something.

Hi there @mipiano 😁

All good here. Had some busy days. Today we went to Marbella to wander around. A nice day out. Afterwards grocery shopping.
Hope your week was nice too and weekend so far 😎

I can imagine, the scenery is just stunning what I already see.

O my… could be a virus from the beach. Hope it’s gone soon. Take care 🤗
Good night, sleep well 😴😴😴

Super for the day in Marbella, I guess it was wonderful, not just nice :D

The virus probably came from the school, actually my colleague who also was in a similar state a few days ago. SO now, it's me.

Good night, it's indeed so late, we should go to sleep 😴

It was indeed wonderful 🤩

Get well soon 🤗
Yes, we should hahaha
Night night 👋🏻😴😴😴

Evening evening

Thanks, well, not that I am super good and better today, but ok, still alive hahah :D

Good evening @mipiano 👋🏻
O my… hope you feel better soon. Biggg huggggg 🤗🥰
Hope you can rest a bit.

The views from the castle are stunning! It's location is well strategic. I would probably stay there all day long just to take in those beautiful scenery. I Although the castle is in ruins, one can still appreciate that its still standing there for our and future generation to visit and appreciation of the past.

I would stay there too :)

But we did several routes already that day, down by the river and in the village itself. Everyone was already so tired and we still had a long walk to the car and drive to the home of our friends where we stayed.
It was a nice day and experience, would repeat it any time!

This looks like a dream. I have never experienced anything like this before. The closest I've been to history is touching artefacts in my village. I'd love to see a view like this someday. These pictures are beautiful.

I do hope you can one day visit a place where you would explore the past, the history, feel the breeze of the mountain or just climb a fortress.
But I will tell you one secret, that is not that much about the places that we visit, but the people we are surrounded with. If you go with your friends, to any place, you can share and feel the same happiness, I am sure :)

That is true. Even when I visited my mum's village, my memory of the visit is of the moments I spent there with my friend.

You see :))

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This place es so so beauty. I love the pic.

Beautiful photos and great post! Makes me want to visit :)!

Thanks. I do recommend it, if you are somewhere nearby, visit it ;)

@mipiano que hermoso quedé fascinada

gracias, ha sido un bonito día visitar este castillo

Wow!!!! Very beautiful place

It is :D
Thanks for stopping by

It is so beautiful! Such amazing photos!

Thank you, I see we agree that it is a beautiful place.

Not only beautiful it is fantastic 😀

Wow ! Very beautiful!

It is! Such a lovely place that we had the opportunity to visit.
Thanks for stopping by!

Wow beautiful place. it reminds me of one of the ancient castles of Iran, which is related to the ancient times of Iran, which is called Babakan Castle. i'm also very interested in seeing ancient places!!

I also like to see places that tell us history. It always gives some special feeling :))

I know that... when what you see is far away from what the pictures show! But still looks like a gorgeous place! Full of green and history. I loved the pictures!

Yes, it still looks a gorgeous place, though nothing can be compared with real-life experience, indeed :)

Thanks for stopping by @belug 😇