You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Searching for a Centenary Fig Tree

in Pinmapple • last year

I always wonder what it had to witness throughout the centuries...

Right? 100 years ago was 1922, Brazil became a Republic in 1889... that tree might have been planted when Brazil was a monarchy 😱 and I bet it's going to outlive us.

Sort:  

I´m not a dendrologist but looking at the tree, I would say it´s much older than just one hundred years. A couple of centuries at least...

Dentrologist? That's a new word for me. So, i did some research and they believed the tree was 300 yo, but a study estimated in 482. Holy shit!

You probably know the word botanist, that´s an expert in plants. Dendrologist is the same but with trees ;) So almost five centuries? Yeah, no surprise for me :) A 100 year old tree is actually not that old and big yet... Your fig tree was obviously much older and bigger than that. Amazing specimen.

Yup, five centuries. Brazil is 522 years old 🤣

So the tree is basically as old as your country :D