Melbourne Central, Diamaru (1990) Victoria, Australia.

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



Melbourne Central or diamaru as it was known in 1990. After a bit of a Holiday trip driving and exploring around Australia for 3 or 4 months, I heard about a couple of big construction jobs back in Melbourne from my friends. It was not to hard to make a few phone calls and drop a resume in the right place. Melbourne Central was one of them, a 55 storey office block including 6 levels of the Diamaru high end shopping complex.
Melbourne Central or diamaru as it was known in 1990. After a bit of a Holiday trip driving and exploring around Australia for 3 or 4 months, I heard about a couple of big construction jobs back in Melbourne from my friends. It was not to hard to make a few phone calls and drop a resume in the right place. Melbourne Central was one of them, a 55 storey office block including 6 levels of the Diamaru high end shopping complex.

The high rise building was built on top of the museum under ground railway station. Really handy for getting to work.Museum station was one of 2 underground stations in Melbourne’s CBD on the city loop line, named Museum as you guess it, it was opposite Melbourne’s Main Museum but has now been renamed Melbourne Central train station.
  The high rise building was built on top of the museum under ground railway station. Really handy for getting to work.

Museum station was one of 2 underground stations in Melbourne's CBD on the city loop line, named Museum as you guess it, it was opposite Melbourne's Main Museum but has now been renamed Melbourne Central train station.  



From one of the top floors looking towards the bay.
From one of the top floors looking towards the bay.


I was not there from the start but there was a big push to get it finished on time once they had finished the concrete pouring levels to the top.

My job was to help install the lifts as an electrician wiring up all the call buttons, lift cars and motor rooms up the top.

Testing the lift functionally and safety systems via the 2 way radio.
Testing the lift functionally and safety systems via the 2 way radio.


Back in the day a lot more was fabricated and wired up on site, nowadays most thing are prepared in a factory and just assembled on site.

50 odd storeys straight down.
50 odd storeys straight down.

Docklands before the big Football Stadium was built.
Docklands before the big Football Stadium was built.

The Yarra river to the right
The Yarra river to the right

From the Yarra River looking towards the CBD.
From the Yarra River looking towards the CBD.

Seeing my Melbourne photos always brings back such good memories, I did my apprenticeship as an electrician down there after leaving school.

We had to do an extra 6 month to qualify as a Lift Mechanic as well. As an apprentice we started in the service department teamed up with a tradesman and mainly did programmed maintenance and break downs. The service department was not really my passion. I was keen to get into the construction department and do the new installations and modernisations.

A bit of an old school apprentice initiation’s. A lap around the lake on top of the tradesman’s car, to get used to riding on top of lift cars. Even had the safety glasses back in the old days. LOL
A bit of an old school apprentice initiation's. A lap around the lake on top of the tradesman's car, to get used to riding on top of lift cars. Even had the safety glasses back in the old days. LOL

Albert Park Lake car park on an old Holden HR Sedan.
Albert Park Lake car park on an old Holden HR Sedan.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Haha, amazing! I think I was there in the opening week, I remember it being so crazy crowded.

So do you follow the AFL as well?

I do! Big Blues fan over here... it's been a rough 3 decades...

Ha good one! I grew up in a Hawthorn area during there golden 80s times. Then moved to Brisbane as they won 4 premierships in a row. I coached and helped my son and his junior teams under 8 through to u16s and I played over 45s in Queensland for a while as the game become more running based and gave me a big advantage with my fitness. The AFL has been good to me even paid for all my auskick coaching courses.

Whoa! All of that is awesome!

So do you barrack for Brisbane now? Or Hawthorn? Or other?

I like to say I support my local team Brisbane but still have a soft spot for the hawks. I struggle when they are playing each other !LOL

You can never trust an artist
Theyre super sketchy

Credit: reddit
@aussieninja, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @new.things
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(5/8)

Congratulations @new.things! Your post brought a smile to the TravelFeed team so we have sent you a smiley. Keep up the good job. 🙂

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: Why not share your blog posts to your family and friends with the convenient sharing buttons on TravelFeed.io?