Budapest through my eyes

in Pinmapple3 years ago

I had Budapest high in my "to visit" list for a long time. I first was attracted to the Hungarian capital by pictures of a friend of mine, mainly impressed by the fact that almost every random picture of his had at least one nice building in it. Motivated by my "how bad can it be" wanderlust I find my self on a flight to Budapest right in the middle of a hot summer. Not much later I am flying over the clouds that keep Serbia unexposed to the sun:

Also not much later I already walk on Hungarian soil. My dear host meets me at the airport and we take the bus to the city. On the way she explains to me that those repetitive blue posters I see say "we're sorry for our prime minister". Wow, quite a welcome for visitors :)

We arrive at her place where I realise that Gutenberg square's history will surround me for the next days. Look at "Gutenberg Otthon" constructed at the beginning of the previous century:

So graceful regardless the lack of maintenance.

In the evening my host kindly shows me around and we end up touring the ruin bars of Budapest. Quite and interesting local trend converting abandoned buildings into bars where your table that holds your drink might be made out of parts of a Soviet car. Most of them are located in the Jewish neighborhood which was deserted after WWII. What a change of land use through the years...

All feel nice except that next morning is the beginning of a heatwave. Am I new to heatwaves? Born and raised in Athens I'm not a heat virgin but in my intentions to explore the city on foot I could have better conditions than solid unchanged 37C for the next days without any wind at all. Except Morocco this is the only time I leave home for a hotter place. However, Budapest's beauty pays back big time. Just a few minutes walking and I capture the beauty of "Andrássy University":

Greece follows me wherever I go, this time in a kinda funny way:

Again, old grace neglected:

A few steps later, Liberty bridge keeps my eyes wide open:

As I walk North by the river I see the next one, Elisabeth's bridge:

At this point it is already obvious that Danube's contribution to the beauty of this city is vast. But it's not just the river I have on my left. Just by turning my head right at the same spot I have (from left to right) "Belvárosi Nagyboldogasszony Főplébánia" temple, Sapientia College of Theology and Matild Palace, all of them in just one shot and all of them so wonderful:

And that's only the start. A few steps North on the Buda side is the complex that hosts the Gallery, Library and Museum of Budapest:

The above distant view convinces me that I'll have to dedicate time for it later. At the moment I am busy picturing the statue of the writer József Eötvös located (kinda funny) in front of Sofitel and Intercontinental hotels:

Unlike some other buildings this ones are definitely well taken care off:

More than this older and more impressive one that hosts the International department of the Ministry of Interior:

Széchenyi Park offers me a short break from the melting heat:

I said short break not because I don't need a longer one under this hear - it's just that with so much beauty around you can't be a lazy ass (which I am not anyway :) ). I mean, look at Gresham Palace in front of this park which hosts the Four Seasons hotel:

Or the Hungarian Academy of Sciences:

Both too massive to fit in just one picture, too beautiful for the picture to tell the whole truth.

I continue walking up the river on Pest side when...oh my...did I say something about massive and beautiful before? Well, the Hungarian Parliament and its surroundings bring it to another level:

20150721_095848.jpg

20150721_095809.jpg

20150721_095944.jpg

20150721_100557.jpg

20150721_101544.jpg

20150721_101907.jpg

20150721_095651.jpg

20150721_100138.jpg

20150721_100436.jpg

20150721_100401.jpg

20150721_101522.jpg

20150721_101719.jpg

20150721_100207.jpg

Impressive? Beyond. I'd better not comment it further, I'm sure you won't miss it if you visit the city. Keep in mind you also won't miss those extra long cruise ships touring the river, this one pictured at Margarita's bridge:

Yes, the bridge is no exception to Budapest's beauty.

I wish I had superpowers to keep walking all day at a city that feels like the Sahara at the moment so I decide to go back and have some rest and a bit on something. I wait for the sun to go down and to walk the city again under more human friendly conditions. I love the city lights and how they compliment the buildings regardless if I've seen some of them already during the daylight:

Eötvös Loránd University

Matild Palace

Next morning I start my walk under the same persistent heat and get the chance to picture an exhibition in front of the National museum at the statue of the poet János Arany:

Adorable buildings again all the way:

Accidentally I fall on this cutie:

The gap between old and contemporary can be huge:

One of the numerous lovely items of art by the river:

Keep in mind that the guy's "hair" is grass:

Time to cross the river and make it to Buda side as there's so much beauty there to visit, obvious from mile away. I make it via chain bridge:

And that's what attracted me from the first day:

Now I am at the foothill of Budapest's castle hill to enjoy its baroque creations. Lucky pigeons booked their VIP seat in the shade:

That's a nice drawing for tourists of the whole complex:

And that's how Pest looks like from Buda:

Fancy walking up the Castle hill with me for a better view? Come along:

I think it's the right time for a panoramic:

Seriously, I am not sure I know the right words to make justice for a place like this but I can tell you I already feel like the trip is worth it even if some magic could stop it now and beam me back home. Fortunately there's no such power so I keep walking and picturing. Here's Prince Eugene of Savoy:

And here's his view:

The National Gallery under the penetrating sun:

One more panoramic won't hurt anybody I guess:

The guards at Sandor Palace have a tough time. I've been "there" and done that:

Buda often feels more like an open museum:

I am not gonna put Buda over Pest though (or vice versa). They're both interesting for their own reasons and I am glad to enjoy this different side of the city which makes the whole experience more diverse. What doesn't help with my experience is the heatwave so I pick this beautiful square behind the Castle hill to have a rest:

I'd sell a kidney for this in such weather:

After this totally necessary juice and a sandwich I start making my way back down.

Now tell me if this city isn't beautiful which one is:

History museum is right by the river and it's here to remind us the bloodshed of our history:

I arrive at Elizabeth bridge which will bring me back to Pest but not before I take some more pictures:

There I see Gellert hill and though I am already exhausted by walking all day under the grilling sun, it's a too fantastic view point to skip. Isn't it? :

One more hard but totally joyful walking day is over. Time to rest cause there's more to follow and weather is not changing his mind at all.

Next day I decide to do the city Park of Budapest, in an effort to continue my exploration in the most friendly environment hoping the vegetation will make the whole situation more bearable. The lake of this park is a pleasure under such conditions:

You may have noticed that there's no one pedalling those things around the lake - who would put their kids or themselves in such torture. Vajdahunyad Castle is among the main attractions there undoubtedly:

Jáki church is a cutie:

I so love reflections on water - than you Varosligeti:

The park in general is a nice add on to my heatwave efforts - the view of the water helps you survive the fire of the weather:

I feel like a hero surviving under this laser sun but the square of Heroes is obviously dedicated to the real ones:

I enjoy my meal under the shade as close to the water as possible and head back for some much needed rest. Heat has taken its toll on my energy.

Recharged enough on the next day I decide take it easy and just fill my folders with a few more shots by the river:

I hope you enjoyed the walks as much as I did - I'm sure you sweated much less than I did for sure.

See you on the next one!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your eyes really sees the beauty in each place you go, again amazing pictures 😍 and makes me feel like I was there with you.
Absolutly a place to add to the visit list 😁 lol
Thae bridges and the statues are amazing and the envirement made me smile inside out.
Thank you for sharing and letting me borrow your 👀 for a while 🙏
Much love 🤗🌹

That's so heartwarming. You're welcome to try my eyes anytime in the next ones :)

Well you make it easy my friend, your pictures are absolutly amazing 😊
Then I wear your 👀 in your next post to, then I see the beauty in ALL things 😍
Who can say NO to that? 😁

Thanks for taking us with you through the lens, plenty of walking in the heat.

Architecture and history, it would be extremely hard to pick which side of the river!

You're absolutely right. Glad you stopped by ;)

its looks like a place full of history. awesome places.

The Austro-Hungarian empire definitely left its mark on this city.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1129.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

All I can say is wowwwwww🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

Oh wow! 🙂

Congratulations @orestistrips! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 4000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages