Travel: San Francisco Ferry Building and the scenery near BART

in Pinmapplelast year

IMG20221107123117.jpg

Hello there, I'm @outwars. I recently visited San Francisco with my sister and her husband to watch the Golden State Warriors game, and I would like to share my experience. Last post I wrote about how we went to SF via the Alameda Ferry. For this post, I will be writing about the San Francisco Ferry Building, and some of the sights while walking towards the SF BART [Bay Area Rapid Transit] Station.

IMG20221107123146.jpg

After disembarking from the ferry, we were greeted with a beautiful gate, and a nice building close by. It was a very beautiful day to be outside. The breeze is cold, but the sun is warm so it evens out to a very comfortable temperature.

IMG20221107123201.jpg

I saw a few tables with umbrellas along the way towards the SF Ferry Building. I'm not sure if there are small food stalls further out, but there were some people chilling in the area.

IMG20221107123405.jpg

We walked at the side of the building. On one side were a bunch of restaurants that already had a lot of customers. On the other was a very beautiful view of the sea, Treasure Island, and Bay Bridge. There were also a bunch birds waiting for scraps or leftovers to get.

IMG20221107123917.jpg

The inside of the building is very pretty. Apart from the restaurants, there were also a lot of unique stores that sell interesting objects. We saw some special chocolates, some truffles, stores selling olive oil, mushrooms. My brother-in-law even bought porcini pasta.

IMG20221107125045.jpg

One of our stops in the SF Ferry Building was the Fort Point Beer. Since my companions really like beer, this is where we had our morning snack. We ordered the Green Goddess Dip and a few beers. We chilled here for a while and talked about the different items in the building. My brother in law was excited to try the pasta with the meatball sauce he has at home.

IMG20221107125037.jpg

Their water is near the colored wall. When I went to get some, I was surprised that they were actually colored cans of beer. I guess that is a unique way of recycling old cans. After a while, we decided it was time to head out and walk towards the BART station.

IMG20221107125016.jpg

The other side of the Ferry Building was pretty interesting too. I can see the iconic buildings more closely.

IMG20221107144445.jpg

I also appreciate the numerous trees that are around us. Even though it is a very modern and urban place, having nature around with all the greenery is still nice.

IMG20221107144452.jpg

The clocktower of the Ferry Building is also more noticeable in this area. I like the mix of modern and slightly traditional feel it evokes.

IMG20221107144507.jpg

As we were walking away from the Ferry Building and towards the BART station, I can't help but look back and take a last photo of the building to appreciate its simple beauty.

IMG20221107145255.jpg

I know the locals and a lot of people that see it everyday tend to dismiss it as part of their daily life. But sometimes you got to appreciate the little things.

IMG20221107145350.jpg

Along the way we passed by a large open space, maybe a plaza, with a cool artistic structure. The photo is a bit grainy since it wasn't that close, and we wanted to make it to the next train schedule so there wasn't much time to go closer.

IMG20221107145538.jpg

I took a photo of this old school looking bus/train/tram. What's cool about it is that it is still using the train tracks on the ground, and if you look closer, it is connected to the wires above it. I don't know how old these are, but I think they are well maintained.

IMG20221107145620.jpg

There was another train/tram, but this one looks like it's for tourists. This one looks similar to the ones I've seen in the movies. The other one looks like it is still being used by the locals/public. I wasn't able to ride this, but it might be nice to try it in the future.

IMG20221107145637.jpg

There were also some informational pieces near the BART station. I have heard of the name Robert Frost, but I wasn't familiar with what he was famous for. It's pretty cool that SF celebrates their artists this way.

IMG20221107145916.jpg

Before heading down to the BART station saw these cool looking clock and some sort of advertising thing. I am thinking that these are old pieces, and I can imagine how newspaper headlines were placed inside.

IMG20221107145932.jpg

The SF BART is pretty simple, and looked very similar to a typical train/subway. What's different from what I'm used to is that they have seats that face forward and backward, instead of just all to the side. I think it's more comfortable, and better when you're in a group. I do think that it takes up a lot more space.

IMG20221107151407.jpg

I do have to admit that their train/BART station is definitely better looking than ours. Outside the station I also saw a more modern version of the bus, which I think also looks pretty cool. It says it has zero emmissions so that's good for the environment.

IMG20221107152426.jpg

I will end here for now. In my next post I will write about our lunch in Cellarmaker, but I think I will have to put it in the Foodies community, since it is more food related. I hope you continue to enjoy joining me in this journey, and see you next time.

IMG20221107153949.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @outwars! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 300 replies.
Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much for the support.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1795.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you for the support and upvote.

I like those old trams/trains/busses. They indeed remind me of the ones that are in the movies.

Looks like you had a nice trip! Thank you for sharing!

You're welcome. And I did have a nice trip. I'm fascinated by how those work. Are the wires above live wires and can electrocute people?


Congratulations @outwars!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!