An exciting and daring trip!

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

127 3.JPG

A dog with biker goggles? Look what stopped at the traffic Lights!

Here I will show you one of the most unbelievable and exciting sights that we have seen here thus far!

There was no ways that I was going to miss this crazy cavalcade, Even though we were going in the opposite direction, being an ex-biker I crossed the lights, turned into a service station in our car and made a quick turn around!
This event took place about 50 kilometers away from the city of Cape Town, in the Western Cape Province of South Africa.
[//]:# (!pinmapple -35.962199 lat 22.953720 long d3scr)

127 2.JPG

You didn't see the dog? Look at the sidecar of the first bike above. The guys sitting in the side cars are tourists that were taken on a journey with a difference 😃

132.JPG

Other safety conscious tourists were carried at the top of the red Bedford bus!

137.JPG

As you can see above, we caught up to them and I grabbed the leader for a chat and permission to take photos!

139.JPG

For some strange reason I have never seen any of the bike maker's names before! These are actually war bikes and explained at the end of the post!

147.JPG

This guy above (Brodie, the dog mascot) had a long ride and he rested while all of the people were chatting and laughing about the adventure that was now over.

133.JPG

153.JPG

Old bikers need to take a nap when they can you know?

163.JPG

And then it was done, the tourists had all been taken back to their hotel and the bikers started to leave.

168.JPG

Brodie's nap was over and he had his bikers kit on again.

169.JPG

Farewell Brodie and the guys and nice to meet all of you.

176.JPG

Finally, the Bedford bus was also on its way back to the big city.

And That's All Friends!

Some information on the Cape Sidecar Tours;

They run 2 hour Cape Town City tours, half day and full day tours to other areas that cover the winelands and the southern and western coastlines.

"All our trips are chauffeured by fully licensed and experienced tour guides. You may be lucky to have Brody, our canine mascot join you on your outing.
Our fleet of 30 cj70 sidecars are decommissioned Peoples Liberation Army (Red China) military bikes, built in the 1950s and 1960s and are fully insured and licensed by the authorities. There is no age restriction on our bikes"

Should you ever travel to Cape Town in South Africa don't forget to visit this link and to book a tour trip of a lifetime.

https://www.sidecars.co.za/

"This Cape is a most stately thing, and the fairest cape we saw in the whole circumference of the earth, and we passed by it on 18th July 1580" Sir Francis Drake.

All photos are my own and we hope that you have also enjoyed the post.
Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

We leave you with this;

“Health is the new wealth. Happiness is the new rich. Inner peace is the new success. Kindness is the new cool.” —Syed Balkhi

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

A first my friend and hope that I have done everything correctly to get the post in here.

Thank you!

WOw that is such a cool and fun post, if I ever visit there I want to do that tour and riding in the sidecar, not on the bus, and that dog is so cool he steals the show

!tip

Hahaha, if you have a biker's license they will even let you drive one with Lulu in the sidecar JJ.
Agreed, that is one biker dog that one and you can see that he has been on many trips.
Cool calm and collected with his glasses and his bandana lol.

Thank you for the tip my friend.
I started issuing my first BEER tokens today to you and to Piber and I will soon figure out how to do the tip thing.

In the meantime have a !BEER

WOw now that I would love not so sure about LULu I suspect she would want to be on the bus/truck

Thanks for the !Beer, will send you more as the amount you can sent is based on how many tokens you have

and no need to send me tips my friend

Not a problem as I am sure that you guys will love a trip around our famous
"Chapman's Peak" mountain road. A mountain pass that runs alongside the ocean and the sights are often on TV.

Oh, I didn't know this and no wonder my beers are not working anymore.
Just my style JJ, as I like to give back lol.

Blessings to you guys for the weekend.

Cheers and NO BEER hahaha.

Dont worry we will send beer now and again and you will build up slowly and be able to send them :)

that does sound like a ride I would love

Cheers and !BEER

Honestly, I am not too worried about it JJ, my motto is what will be, will be.

I did a post last year about our drive on that pass, sheer cliffs at the one side and many miles of sea at the other side. Some of the drops down to the ocean are dizzying high.
Then as one comes out of the pass at the other end, a short trip to the cable cars and a ride up to the flat table on top of the mountain. Sights that linger in the mind for a lifetime.

Cheers and thanks!

Ohh those do sound like sights It will live in your memory forever hopefully one day I’ll see it I think I’m dreaming but got to keep positive


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Well in this case you guys will still enjoy it JJ.
Especially if you choose the city tour that runs over that famous "Chapman's Peak" mountain pass. It runs alongside the ocean on has views that are to die for.

Maybe when you have some time, Google "Chapman's Peak, Cape Town" and you will see what I am talking about.

Blessings!

Will for sure go Nd google it now sounds amazing

Let me know what you think about that magnificent mountain pass JJ.

From what I saw it is spectacular
Hope your weekend is going well

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

What a great crowd to run into. That doggo looks so cute, bless him!

Oh yeah, it was a real mixed crowd at the beginning as the passengers from many countries were crowding around happy and excited, but as soon as they departed some serious bike talks could take place.
Unbelievable to see the great conditions of those old war bikes.
And of course that champion dog was the jewel on the crown lol.

Thanks for popping in!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #975.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you kindly dear @choogirl, this was my first attempt and I am glad that you appreciated my post.
I will certainly have a look as soon as I have finished some other work here.

Cool post Zac 👍😁
Great photos and lots of information 😊

I would never want to ride such a bike, not as rider and certainly not as passenger, that would scare me to death 🤣

A friend of mine has rebuilt a Russian war bike and he loves it. His wife loves to sit in the side car. But you have to be very careful and never forget that there's something to the right side when you ride, he says 😉


Cheers and !BEER
!tip
!invest_vote

Thank you Hannes,
Glad that you liked the post.

I in turn would love to pilot something like that, just to get the feel of it lol.

Hahaha, in our case one would have to never forget that there is something on the left side lol.
We drive at the left side of the roads and pass on the right.
But I hear what your friend says and it could be a problem if one forgets about the sidecar.

Cheers and thank you!

Oh yes, I have seen on the photos that you are using the wrong side of the road 🤣 and that the side cars are on the left side too 😁


Cheers and !BEER

I think that it is the old UK system of driving, as were were a British colony once long ago.
Some of their old laws are still in effect here today, as we also continue to use the UK legal system.
No juries, as just a prosecutor and a judge in court.

It makes it a bit difficult for Saffers that tour overseas, as they then have to drive on the "wrong" side of the road over there hahaha.

Cheers and thanks.

That's something I fear when I drive to England one day, that I don't think and forget to drive on the left side 💥 😂 lol


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Oh yeah you laugh, but it really happens Hannes.
My daughter told me that they almost made that mistake many times when they were in a deep discussion in the car and on instinct turned to the left hand side of the road in Europe.
They got married in Rome and traveled all over from their base in London.

So yes, maybe you should only take Taxis when you find yourself in England lol.

Cheers and thanks!

I have often seen british cars driving on our highways on the left side, wondering why the cars behind them honk 😂


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Fun Brigade sure does look like loads of fun to go touring through the city like this, ideal on either mode of transport.

Tourism really has to think outside of the box to earn a living, me thinks this is one of the finest I have seen in a long time Stephen.

Fun brigade indeed Lady Joan and I was told that many bigger families also use them.
I can imagine a group of ladies having a champagne party in the top of that bus while the husbands are cruising along in the sidecars.

A brilliant idea indeed to show tourists the beauty of our country and I am glad that you liked it.

Blessings and thank you!

Haha so funny! I think I would fancy a ride in one of these just for the vintage feel of it!

Oh yeah and I bet that you will want to sit in a side car for the thrill of it lol.
I tell you that it's like a box on wheels hahaha.

Hahaha a funny box. I'll take it😂

I don't know if you have ever been in a sidecar, but it is indeed a fun experience.
In the old days they had sidecar races and whenever the guy on the bike had to make a sharp right turn at speed, the guy in the sidecar would hook his legs inside the car and hang outside the car with his back inches above the road.

Maybe there's a video somewhere about sidecar racing, as I don't have enough data to search for one. But it is a great experience to watch the daring actions.

I bet it would be awesome as an experience!

Oh yeah, but sadly it was ended years before I started biking and I never had that chance!