A Day Off on the Ridge (Part 3/3)

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos (2).png

Hello there, Travel Bees! I've received wonderful reactions from all of you for this travel series. In fact, I made it to the Top 3 of Pinmapple's Daily Travel Digest. I honestly thought it was my first time but upon checking it was actually the second time around. Still, I'm grateful for everyone's support. 😊

We're down to our last episode of this 3-part adventure in Panimahawa Ridge located in the Province of Bukidnon (Central Part of Mindanao, Philippines). If you're interested in checking out the rest of my previous posts, I've made it easier for you to find them. Links are below. 👇


A Day Off on the Ridge Part 1

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos.png


A Day Off on the Ridge Part 2

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos (2).png


Now, where were we?

So yup, our guide decided it was finally time to pack up and leave the summit/campsite. It'd be nice to extend our stay; perhaps to watch the sunset from the summit. But we have work the next day and we need to be in Cagayan de Oro City by nightfall; now that's the downside of business side trips. 😞

With the heaviest heart, we started our descent. It may have been a while but I can clearly recall (thanks to the Power of Awe) how beautiful that day was. The wind blew a rather familiar warmth and if one looked intently, one could see right through the sky and even beyond it. It was late in May and with the rain coming and going in the area a week before our visit, green moors everywhere you look. Now that's something I absolutely miss.

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos (3).png

If you can still remember, we hiked up to the campsite at night time. With that, we really didn't have any idea what the path we took looked like. This made me look forward to the things we'd encounter on our way back to The Ant Farm. And yes, Panimahawa didn't disappoint me even to the last hours I was with her.

Look at these beautiful angles of the Ridge taken from a relatively lower altitude. It can be observed that the sea of clouds may have slowly disappeared but considering the time of the descent, it's pretty awesome that it never ceased to exist the entire time we were there. It entertained our eyes which longed for serenity, affection, and joy.

IMG_20190519_063843.jpg

IMG_20190519_063903.jpg

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos (4).png

In my previous post, I mentioned that there were no infrastructures in the area but I was wrong, when we reached what seem the first stop of the descent, a small sari-sari store welcomed us. They were selling food and drinks like soda, Gatorade, and water. I wasn't able to take a photo of the small store but it was located just in front of this unfinished house or a shelter for passersby like us.

IMG_20190519_065446.jpg

Okay, how many times have I been repeating this? haha I don't really care because the Panimahawa never stopped surprising me. Even at a lower elevation, the view remained arresting and what was agreed to be a quick stop extended a bit.

I couldn't help but stop altogether and ask Lance to take a lot of photos of me. Gladly, Lance takes amazing pictures. I've always wanted to climb mountains but with my lower disc bulge diagnosis in 2016, my dream of climbing Mt. Apo (highest Mt. in the country) vanished in an instant. I was advised by my Orthopedic Doctor to stop doing any rigorous activities such as running, walking long distances, hiking with a heavy rucksack to name a few. Thus, standing on top of any elevated surface that I have to climb has always brought the idea that "I made it! The doctor was wrong!" and it always sparked the hope that one day I will conquer Mt. Apo. This year hopefully!

IMG_20190519_063318.jpg

IMG_20190519_063408.jpg

I found coming down easier and faster than our ascent the previous day to the point that I was just so confident to take selfies to document my happiness and the enlightenment I got from this climb. But struggled a little since the ground's lose maybe from the slight rain the day before our climb.

IMG_20190519_065903.jpg

IMG_20190519_070657.jpg

IMG_20190519_064449.jpg

Then we headed further down and everything else started to be visible. What registered as the darkest path I've gone through in a climb suddenly became a paradise in broad daylight. Trees in different shades of green welcomed us as we reached the flats. We continued hiking or strolling should be the best word to use since it was easy almost effortless.

IMG_20190519_070522.jpg

IMG_20190519_070850.jpg

IMG_20190519_071053.jpg

IMG_20190519_071113.jpg

Time for another pictorial and oh, before I forgot, I so love how my tangerine-colored backpack and jacket blended perfectly in the photos below. 😁

IMG_20190519_071130.jpg

IMG_20190519_071137_1.jpg

I haven't mentioned this ever 'coz classified information but not anymore! I have a thing for trees specifically those with small branches that are about to die or look like they're about to die hahaha I have lots of photos of them on my phone. I just love the idea that they're still alive despite their physical appearance. The next time you see me taking photos of trees, at least you know it's normal. 😂

IMG_20190519_071310.jpg

IMG_20190519_071242.jpg

IMG_20190519_071347.jpg

We had no power to stop the sun from shining all he wants so I was drenched in my own sweet sweat more than halfway through the climb. But decided to still take selfies because it was just an amazing day and I felt prettier than usual. Thanks to the brimming light from Mr. Sun! ✨

IMG_20190519_071323.jpg

IMG_20190519_071544.jpg

IMG_20190519_073449.jpg

All of a sudden, we were down to the last part and perhaps the hardest part of that day's climb. Remember that chill descent during our first day? Now we're going to go against that huge part of the ridge. Let's do this once and for all! 💪

IMG_20190519_080503.jpg

I was exhausted to the point of feeling dizzy every now and then. There's no time to quit but there's surely time to pause and breathe in and out. The best remedy for those moments I felt exhaustion would've eaten me alive was to take photos. Lance was a few meters behind me so I had to manage this on my own haha

Pastel Collage Stories Template.png

And there victory waited at the finished line...

IMG_20190519_080517.jpg

IMG_20190519_080920.jpg

Finally, I reached the field where The Ant Farm is just straight ahead. It was a successful climb and I made it out alive! 😅 Since Lance and everyone else was still on their way, I naturally took the time to take more photos courtesy of the timer in my phone. 😁

IMG_20190519_081416.jpg

IMG_20190519_081308.jpg

IMG_20190519_081319.jpg

IMG_20190519_081057.jpg

I hate to say this but it's another case closed for my #Project81PH. I know I promised a beach getaway but I'm always drawn to share more of my hikes. Not letting anyone down tho since I'm finally convinced that I should write about my trips to the best beaches in the country. And guess what, it's not Boracay or Palawan. Stay tuned! 😎

IMG_20190519_081503.jpg

IMG_20190519_081734.jpg

Here's to more life-changing encounters with Mother Nature! See you in my next post! 😍


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potentials. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

very cool place.

It is an amazing place, @maytom! Glad you dropped by! 😁

A beautiful place my friend. It takes a struggle to get to the top.

It surely is @khairulfajri specially our night trek but it was all worth it!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

so nice to see that you made it Pat! You got through it despite your doctor telling you that you won't be able to do it. You are indeed filled with so much strength because you managed to surpass the difficulties 🤗🤗

Nahuman ra gyud @lifewithera! Balhin nsd tag dagat sunod post haha Grabe mindset ra gyud na daugon hehe

Yes laban lang!! Love the adventures gyud Pat 😍


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1450.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 800 comments.
Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 18
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I really like your photos, it's very beautiful. it's the blue of the sky, it looks amazing and full of energy. I'm sure you had a great trip.

Awee, it warms my heart knowing you liked them. Coming from someone who creates amazing posts as well! Thank you for the support @hyhy93!

hihi 😊, thank you 😘

The view is amazing, it must have been a good day. I like multi-day hike, more challenging but so rewarding. Thanks for sharing another great mountain. 🤩

Hello @sunnyvo! I tried 2 days only, wait not really 2 days more of 1.5 hehe But it was awesome! I haven't done longer than that but hope to so in the future. Thank you for dropping by!

If you are interested with beaches or bodies of water in general,stay tuned! hehe

What a beautiful landscape!

Indeed! 😁

I really love your blog, lots of details.
Good luck!

Thanks for your comment, @triplug! 😁