A World Heritage Site | Ilocos Norte, Philippines

in Pinmapple2 years ago



cl8bdxq5q00tz1ckcdf66cyd3_IMG20180303163730.webp
cl8bdxyab00tt0vkcbnu4199i_IMG20180303163312.webp
cl8bdy5r700tb0okc71vocg7u_IMG20180303163806.webp
cl8bdyd3c00sm14kc3uq7fexx_IMG20180303163551.webp
cl8bdyltu00u11skcgmv96zl4_IMG20180303163916.webp
cl8bdyu9o00t92gkch60z00zw_IMG20180303163951.webp
cl8bdz4c500t824kcdw876xme_IMG20180303162953.webp
cl8bdzc3i00td0hkccnta6zuu_IMG20180303164818.webp
cl8bdzj7000u11ckc7a4752k9_GOPR3663.webp
cl8bdzrek00td0okc9yq98a83_IMG20180303163237.webp

I know in my last post about Ilocos Norte, I've mentioned that I've exhausted all destinations we've visited. Well, my bad because I missed out one spot in Paoay, Ilocos Norte. Paoay is a 4th class municipality in Ilocos Norte home to rich culture and heritage.

If you'll allow me to, I'll take you today to one of Paoay's prides, the Saint Augustine Church or commonly called by locals as Paoay Church. It is a Roman Catholic Church that had witnessed a lot of events in the past. After two decades of construction, in 1710 the church had been completed. In 1973, Paoay Church had been declared one of the National Treasures of the country [1]. Twenty (20) years later, UNESCO declared it a World Heritage Site under the Baroque Churches of the Philippines category [2]. There are four (4) churches sharing the same award from UNESCO including one in Miag-ao in Iloilo. I've been to this church as well but I'm more amazed by Paoay Church.

What's very obvious when you see Paoay Church is its stunning pyramid-like structure and the huge and sturdy bell tower beside it. We managed to walk around and saw the massive buttresses on both sides of the church. Some articles online mention that there are even buttresses on the back portion of the church but I wasn't able to personally see them. Nonetheless, it's mesmerizing to see this kind of architecture.

It's not a secret that the Philippines had been under Spanish Colonialization for more or less 300 years; that's three decades of being exposed to the tradition and culture of the Spaniards. To date, many of our food, language, culture, and traditions are greatly influenced by the Spaniards; at certain moments, it's difficult to distinguish our culture before the Spaniards came. I can even count in Spanish without difficulty! That's just cool!😂


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @madushanka ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hi @patsitivity, the church looks amazing, you managed to take some very beautiful photos the contrast of the sky with the church is perfect, I imagine you enjoyed your trip in this beautiful place.

Blessings!

Heya @belkyscabrera! How have you been? Ahh, thank you for the compliments my friend. I love taking pictures during my trips even prior to joining Hive, I just love photographs and I'm exultant that I took these photos. Now I can share them here in the chain. 😁

Now that I see this I became more exciting to visit Ilocos. I've included this one now in my bucket list.😊
Plus you've got stunning shots there.

Great choice of place to travel, @jhero22! Ilocos is a historic region and very rich culture and tradition. This region will not disappoint you! Hope you can visit there real soon! 😁

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks amazing!

It's more beautiful in person @music-nature! :)

Oh yes, I can imagine!

If I'm not mistaken they also called it San Juan Church. A must-visit place❤️