You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tour de Slovenia - Logarska Valley / Part V

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

Spectacular landscape shots as always but I also appreciate the little sport insertion :) Considering how small Slovenia is, the number of world class athletes who were born there is truly outstanding. Czech sportsmen also had a very good reputation in the past but recently, our national teams haven´t been as successful as they used to be, unfortunately...

Anyway, let me improve the payout of this post a bit ;)

@tipu curate 4

Sort:  

Hey Petr thanks for stopping at my blog again. You really don't miss any of my Tour de Slovenia episodes :)
They say it is something in the water here in Slovenia (and some other ex-Yugoslavia countries as well). You could saw from my posts that water here is usually crystal clear, that is all :) Well we are really proud on our athletes, especially sport fans like myself who is watching different sports at least 10 hours a week.
We already talked about some Czech basketball players. I was also cheering for your nation whem you were at the top on Euro 2004, was it? Baroš was a great striker, ohhh an Koler the tall guy. Great memories. Nowadays I have to admit I don't know many of your athletes.

Hey thanks for amazing curation from your side and apology as probably didn't meet your expectations as well :) Much can still happen, so fingers crossed :)

Oh boy, those sweet EURO 2004 times... What a team we had back then. Our epic battle against the Dutch from that tournament has been widely considered one of the greatest football matches ever played. I am sure you still know every single player from the star-packed Dutch squad and probably from ours too :) I get goosebumps every time I watch this video with the goals and highlights... Enjoy :)

Ohhh thank you for serving me a dose of great football. I just watched my favourite club - Olimpija Ljubljana - being eliminated from Europa League qualifications agains Zrjinski Mostar.
Terrible game, so many mistakes. Our owner is a crazy guy, 82 years old. He gives money so he can do whatever he wants, but he dons so much damage lately. Every season at least two new coaches. Probably there will be new coach after that game as well. Ehhh, enough, rather watch your great Czech generation one more time before I go to sleep...

Sorry about the current situation in your beloved team. I know that too well myself. A couple of years ago, my hometown club actually ended up as low as in the 5th highest Czech league (directly from the 1st league) because of horrible incompetent management. Crazy and sad times that we all would like to forget about completely. Fortunately, we are back in the highest league again ;) Hopefully Olimpija will get a new better owner. Oh and thanks for watching that video and remembering those epic football moments with me ;)

I know how that feels to go back to 5th league. Our club also went bankruptcy back in 2005 and started again in 5th league. I was fun being a champion 4 years in a row.
I was just talking with my father how I would love not to be bothere with Olimpija anymore, like that it doesn't exists anymore.. But it is not possible and that is the beauty of football and other sports - emotions...
Tomorrow I will be back again watching and cheering :)

Which is your hometown club by the way?

Haha I know what you mean my friend :) It´s very easy to be a fan of a big and successful team but this is not what true "fanhood" is about it ;) My hometown club (SFC Opava) was never big or successful, we never won the first league, nor the Czech cup (we were in the final once though) and we have been through a lot of troubles over the years and decades but we, the fans, have always been standing behind the club, no matter what. One of our mottos is: "Proud after a win, loyal after a loss." I am sure you are the same type of a fan and you will be supporting Olimpija for the rest of your life ;)

Btw I am just about to leave for another home game of my club, it starts in 2 hours. Wish us luck :)