A Second Visit to Amicalola Falls, Georgia {Plus Apples & a Winery}

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Amicalola Falls Visit 2020.png

Hello again! I'm back today to share the other portion of my weekend with the ladies. While we thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing time at the cabin last weekend, we also had fun taking Sunday to explore more of the beauty that our state has to offer. I've blogged about Amicalola Falls previously, but it's a spot that's worth a second look at a slightly different time of year.

IMG_20201108_111334403_HDR.jpg

There are lots of great spots to hike in this part of the state, but given we had a few things on the agenda that day we kept it easy and went with a spot convenient to loading up on some of the delicious seasonal apples before they disappear until next year and the gals wanted to hit up a winery, as well. You can find all of those spots along Highway 52 beginning in Ellijay, Georgia. It was just a short drive from our cabin in the direction of home, and the drive itself was gorgeous with the fall leaves!

IMG_20201108_105318730_HDR.jpg

It was a little bit cloudy when we first arrived, but the views did not disappoint on the way up! The main ascent to the waterfall starts on a trail, then you hit the first set of stairs to make your way to the bridge right in front of the falls.

IMG_20201108_103803050_HDR.jpg

It is definitely a good little workout. Luckily they have access from above if you have kiddos that can't make the climb on the stairs or even dogs. We did see a few people trying to make it up with dogs, but one man was carrying his because the poor pup couldn't walk very well on the open grates. For those with a good aerobic base the main set of stairs isn't too taxing (in my humble opinion). The up close view of the waterfall is definitely worth it!

IMG_20201108_104244288_HDR.jpg

There's another set of stairs about three times as long to get all the way up to look out over the falls. Definitely more of a calf burner making your way up all of those. Some more great views through the trees at that higher elevation to take your mind of your quivering legs.

IMG_20201108_105137841_HDR.jpg

Just like at the cabin, I couldn't help but get multiple pictures of the same gorgeous scenery. The photos just don't quite do it justice, but they're pretty darn close.

IMG_20201108_103618023_HDR.jpg

One of the gals woke up with a bit of neck pain, so we only stayed at the park for about an hour before heading out. It really was plenty of time anyway as it was starting to get crowded by the time we were leaving. Thank goodness we hit it first on our list because if we had waited until later we may have given it a miss due to the crowds!


Next up on the list was procuring some apples. Many of the orchards didn't do U-pick this year, and even the ones that did are done with it for the season at this point. A few of the orchards weren't even open yet, but we found one that was to grab some different varieties.

IMG_20201108_153627569.jpg

It's always nice to get locally grown fruit of course, but I also love grabbing some varieties that you can't find in the store. It is also much cheaper to buy in bulk to have plenty to make homemade applesauce, apple butter, muffins, pies and the like! I settled on a half peck each of Stayman Winesap, Mutsu and September Wonder.

IMG_20201109_102111941.jpg

Almost too pretty to eat. Almost.


We finally finished out the afternoon with a stop at Cartecay Vineyards. The day was really stunning, so I wasn't complaining about another opportunity to spend more time outside. The gals decided to each order a flight of wines to taste, while I mostly enjoyed the views and the sun on my face since I was driving.

IMG_20201108_125327737_HDR.jpg

They had a little barn set up where you could order wine and some snacks if you wanted. There was a small nook with couches and seating inside, but also lots of seating outside.

IMG_20201108_125226079_HDR.jpg

They had some live music for entertainment and a few local artisans were set up selling some goods. My friend found some lovely handmade coasters to purchase for holiday gifts. The bees finally chased us off after my other friend got stung (luckily she isn't allergic). We hopped in the car for the easy ride back home.

A weekend for the memory book for sure. Lots of time outside. Laughter with friends. Good food and drinks. And plenty of much-needed relaxation. Can I go again this weekend?




Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Can I get a W for weak as in Weak cover image?

Image 3 and 4 were eh.. so-so I guess and that 7th one is definitely the worst--shouldn't have even made the cut. But I really like the lines you're using to separate your paragraphs. I didn't get jealous one time, either, like waterfall shmaterfall.

I don't need to explain myself to your followers do I? Naaaa!

I always get to drive my friends cars, too. I've driven all kinda cars being the d-d. Do your friends trip out on you snapping all those images or are they doing the same thing? Gray sky, sure, but don't you think a stair climb like that is better without the heat from the sun? Maybe it's just me.

You put this together really well, Plants, gorgeous images. #7 is still the best worst! Give DK some knuckles for me. ❤️

Dude I was wearing a tank top. In November. You definitely wouldn't have needed slippers and thick socks that day. So yes, the cloud cover actually made the literal stairmaster a little more enjoyable. I don't think they minded the photographs as it gave them a chance to get a break. 😂

And if someone doesn't understand your humor yet, then their loss on the laughs. 😜

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1028.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Many thanks for the continued support my friends!

That looks like an awesome place to go hiking, especially at this time of year when all the leaves are changing colors. Looks beautiful with the waterfall as well.
The apples look good. Too bad they weren't U-pick. I've never done that. I tried to once, but the place we went to charged $5 to enter the grounds and then $20 to pick a bag of apples and I was like....seriously? No thanks.
I probably would have accepted the $20 for the apples just for the experience of it, but the $5 to enter seemed ridiculous to me.

Hey @leaky20. Thanks for stopping by. It really is such a beautiful time of year to explore. Even the spots not that far from home seem that much more magical when the leaves are changing!

Some of the U-pick places around here do charge to get in on top of the apples, but some don't. At least generally the apples are cheaper than you'd get in the store when you average it at still. The last time we did U-pick I think we came home with over 40 pounds of apples, so we always try to make it worthwhile when we go! Though it does make me think--most of the berry and peach picking places don't charge for entry, just the fruit, so I wonder why they think apples are so special? 😜

The waterfall is very similar to one from my country. I'm happy to feel familiar staring at it because it makes me feel like I visited Georgia in a past life haha. Awesome post!

Isn't it neat how you can find spots all over the world that can look so similar to something in a totally different country or continent? A good reminder that you can find bits of home wherever your feet take you. How are things in your country right now with travel? I know this year definitely has hindered a lot of that! At least we can all share on here to give each other a taste of a different place even if physically we can't be there.

Indeed! You are so right!
Unfortunately the pandemic situation is pretty crazy in Romania. We get 10,000 new cases daily and some cities are in lockdown (including the one where I'm living too), which makes it impossible to escape to the woods even for just a few minutes 🥺

WOW, I really love waterfall and I really love the the forest. I really love to enjoy this post.

Thank you @kidsisters! I'm sure you would love to explore this area. Maybe someday you'll get to come here to see for yourself. :)

Thank you I hope I can someday.

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 61000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 62000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update

Such a beautiful spot. A week would have been good, but then again, a change is as good a holiday.

I like how you avoided the pain in the neck 🤣

Perhaps some day I'll take a full week off again. I honestly think it has been quite a few years since I did that. Usually 4-5 days is just the thing, and even a weekend away is definitely a good little reset. Though I'd love to get into that European (and perhaps elsewhere?) mindset of a few weeks for a true "holiday". 😜

What I'd give for a "proper" holiday! You are so right!

Beautiful nature!!!

Thank you @sreypov! Mother Nature sure is showing out with her best here right now. 💚