Høgsvora, the best hike I've ever had (1163 masl)

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Just two days ago I returned fram an amazing week of traveling. Due to the ol' corona we've been keeping it in Norway and that's something I don't mind at all. Even though I've lived here for all of my 28 years I'm still experiencing views and vistas that are leaving me in awe. We really are blessed with some of the worlds finest scenery if I dare say so myself.

I've been buzzing some teasers of these experiences but now its time to show them off for real. I quickly realized that compiling it all into one post would be to much so I will be splitting my trip into two or three parts. Starting out with the first two days who were mostly spent getting to our destination and the third day where I went on the best damn hike of my life!

IMG_5235.jpeg


Day 1-2 - Traveling

These first days were mostly spent getting to our destination; Sunnmøre. Sunnmøre is the name of the area where I grew up and coincidentally where my girlfriend heirs from and where they also have a vacation home.

The first stop however was the town where my girlfriend grew up. Since we don't have a car we traveled by bus which is both quite cheap and comfortable. I had my Nintendo Switch which made sure the ride didn't get boring.

Once there we took it easy and grilled up some food for the evening before getting to bed. We had a five hour car ride waiting for us the next day to take us to our final destination.

The view that greeted me in the morning!

The next day isn't much to talk about. Five hours in the back of a car while playing the Nintendo Switch and enjoying the passing scenery. We stopped halfway to get a great burger which we ate in a mountainside rest area.

I didn't get any good pictures out of the window of the car but I did get a couple of nice shots while we were waiting for a ferry to take us across one of the fjords.

IMG_5119.jpeg

IMG_5130.jpeg

Safely arrived at out destination we quickly unpacked the car, cracked a few beers and watched Denmark lose to England in the euros. Gotta support them Nordics!


Day 3 - The hike to Høgsvora

Now on to the highlight of the whole trip. We climaxed early on this trip. We had decided the day before that we would go hiking today. It would be the only suitable day seeing as the next day would see heavy rains and a chance of thunder. Just a couple of days past two young girls (12 & 18) were killed by lightning while hiking in my hometown so we wanted to stay far away from that.

My girlfriends dad really wanted to take me to a mountaintop called Høgsvora. He described it as a pretty rough hike that starts out lightly but gets more intense the higher we get. With my girlfriend and her mother not being in tip top shape due to some recent injuries they went with a lighter mountaintop.

What I really liked when starting off this hike was that you get above the treeline relatively quick. That opens up the landscape for some great views along the way. Some hikes where you're walking in trees most of the way only gives you a view at the top. Not here.

The mountain in the back right encased in clouds was our destination

Last chance to fill up the water bottles before the real climb starts

It took us about 40 minutes to get to the first real rise where we finally got some height and the first real views started unfolding. I had to stop so many times during this hike to take pictures. I got so carried away that I ended up snapping a total of 580 pictures. Mostly due to snapping the same motive with different settings and filters.

On the way we're passing several cairns that's built up by people passing by to signal that this is the right way and a safe route. These are quite normal to see along most hiking routes in Norway. Right after passing the cairn the real hike starts and it was time to enter the fog.

IMG_5182.jpeg

IMG_5195.jpeg

IMG_5174.jpeg

IMG_5171.jpeg

We pushed on for the rest of the hike, only making a few stops to take some photos. We stopped specifically at one rock to take a picture of me standing on it. My girlfriend stood on the same rock a couple of years ago to take a picture so her father, my hiking partner, thought it would be cool to get a shot of me in the same location.

This part of the hike was really cool cause it had us walking along the top line of the mountain with steep falls leading down on either side. It was quite a broad "road" luckily so there was no real danger unless you're stupid enough to go out to the edge. Sadly I wasn't able to depict that in a good way.

What made it extra cool was all the fog. It came rolling in and out and as we were walking along the edge it was almost like walking in a movie. The scenery was changing all the time. Looking either left or right we would spot new looking mountain tops or ranges in the distance every time even though they were the same. Really cool!

Then, after a short rocky section we made it to the top! And what a view it was from up there! My guide has been here several times before but I was left in complete awe. You can look in every direction from this top and see nothing but mountains in all directions. So awesome.

IMG_5273.jpeg

IMG_5308.jpeg

IMG_5341.jpeg

IMG_5502.jpeg

IMG_5398.jpeg

IMG_5384.jpeg

Up top we sat down to get some food and a cup of coffee while just enjoying the view. Luckily the fog had mostly cleared up by now. We saw two eagles gliding around below us and they even started dancing in the air which was really cool. Circling each other while falling. I don't know if they were fighting or what but it was really cool.

Being an avid geocacher as well I of course had to find the one located up here. I almost forgot as well which would have been a real shame after hiking all this way. I was able to find it relatively quickly and signed the log as the second finder! That's the closest I've been to being first even though it was unintentional. This will be my most memorable cache for a long time.

IMG_5352.jpeg

Geocaching with a view!

After about 20 minutes of sitting up top it was time to start the trip back down. This wasn't a shame at all seeing as now I would have the view in the other direction in sight all the way. As we got down we could see the mountaintop encased in fog once again and it stayed like that for the whole trip down. Quite lucky for us to hit the fogless window!

It's gonna take a lot to top off this hike and it will be burned into my memory for a long time going forward.

On the way back down


All images in this post are taken by me.

Sort:  

That some awesome view, you really should go out more and post more travel stuff!!!!

Well I would have to travel more for that. I feel like showing off my own city would be kinda cheap although we do have some world heritage stuff going on around here. Maybe I can be a tourist in my own city for a little bit. Thanks for the support!

I really miss traveling, and this place is just AMAZING 😍
Such a beautiful enviroment and love the viarity of Mountain, water, rocks. I bet that was a amazing experience to hike there, and the Mountain pictures are insane 😊 love it. Surley a view worth every step and sweat.

Thank you for sharing and making me feel like I was there.
Happy week. Cheers 🌷

I couldn't have put it in better words myself. Absolutely amazing hike from start to finish. Thanks for the re-blog! Much appreciated. You know your neighbor-country is the place to go if you long for a hike like this!

I have been there much as a kid and teenager, but I think back then you didn't pay attention to the envirement and beauty of Nature like we do today, so it is definitly time to go back 😉 it is so beautiful and seeing your pictures inspired me to the core... Amazing shots.

Have a wonderful week and again Thank you for sharing.
🤗

That geocache and view! Amazing.

Definitely my favorite geocache I have found!

Wow what a beautiful and stunning place 😮

Amazing landscapes homie.

Wait did you go up there with a shirt? Weren't you cold or something? Now you're the boss definitely.

I was naked actually, I just put on a shirt for the picture.

You have all my respect, you are the man here.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1260.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That's awesome!

The views always pay off, don't they? I like the 'crassy' roof on that cabin--I imagine it must have a purpose?

They absolutely do! These days I guess it's mostly for the looks and it being an old Norwegian tradition. Might have had some function in the olden days that I don't know about.

Amazing post my friend ☺😍

Thanks a lot!

Beautiful photos the landscape is incredible, excellent post !!!!!

Thanks my dude! Appreciate it.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

TRUE PARADISE