The Boars Head - Lunch at a Country Pub

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)



cl65j6fnb00zz0opc5yjqa3xx_20220727_142734.jpg
Main Course of Truffle Macaroni Gratin with
a crispy shallot crust, pickles and golden raisins.

cl65j77xa012g14pc1ou57te5_pexels-geraud-pfeiffer-6605207.jpg
For my starter, I went for the Salmon Gravadlax with capers, shallots and watercress
cl65j8c8e00xp0wpcevd8h2um_20220727_142722.jpg
A close-up of this filling but hugely tasty Truffle creation
cl65j9mwj00zz29pcg1p46tfm_20220727_140308.jpg
The Coffee wasn't bad either, so I indulged my love of cappuccino which I only drink occasionally when I'm out to watch the calories lol
cl65jb5jm00zh1gpcazc0bn8h_20220727_134200.jpg
cl65jc2kq01001wpc4l9o63du_Pub_Courtyard.jpg
cl65jde6200xs0wpcgkybbnna_20220727_133524.jpg
cl65jf6dm01020opcegi9hmje_Teepee_Interior_Panarama.jpg
cl65jfdke01031wpcg5nl8h4s_Teepee_Interior_Portrait.jpg

The Boars Head - Luxury Food in the Countryside

The boars head is located about halfway between Nantwich and the small village of Bridgemere. Surrounded by wonderful countryside, it is the perfect place to stop for a well-earned meal (and maybe a cheeky pint) after a long walk. As I was celebrating my birthday that day, I went on a gentle 3-mile walk around Nantwich with my mother that took us past quaint rivers, and finally across fields following a public right of way watched by ever-curious sheep. As she was diagnosed with lung cancer literally a month before the pandemic, it was a wake-up call for me to make the effort to spend more time doing quality things with her.

But I don't want to write more about the walk in this blog as I'm planning on writing a travel article about it later in the week sharing the pictures and atmosphere of the Cheshire countryside, also known as the Garden of North.

The pub itself is beautiful both inside and out, but as the sun was shining we decided to eat in the courtyard which you can see pictured above. There were plenty of seats, and each table had a vase full of Jasmine, the scent of which occasionally tickled our noses adding to the overall ambience of the natural surroundings.

A Pescatarian's Dream Starter

For my starter, I chose the Salmon Gravadlax with capers, shallots, watercress and Sourdough bread. This turned out to be a good choice, a fairly light starter but perfect for fuelling myself with protein after the walk. I have been a lifelong vegetarian, and the menu at The boars head certainly has plenty to offer the less fussy carnivore with classics like steak, chicken and ham pie and crispy braised pork belly. My mother opted for chicken and ham pie for her main, but she has always got an odd phobia of being photographed which I discovered extends to me taking pics of her food 😂

Black Truffle Macaroni nearly put Me in a Carb-Coma

As we chatted and I sipped my cappuccino while waiting for our main courses to arrive, the staff were really attentive without being intrusive. They checked a few times if we wanted any more drinks and at a guess, I think it was about 30 minutes wait time between finishing our starters and the main courses arriving. I had ordered the Truffle Macaroni Gratin and it was possibly the best Mac & Cheese I've ever tasted. Obviously, this was in large part due to the generous amount of black truffle in the dish, and what was reassuring was that there were large Truffle shavings on top, and smaller pieces running throughout the dish. The abundance of truffles evident meant there was no chance the chef was trying any sneaky tricks like using low-quality truffle oil. What is kind of strange is that I have hated mushrooms since I was a young child, but there is one exception to this and that is Truffles... which means if I ever want to eat fungi on the regular I'd have to win the lottery to be able to afford Truffles on my morning eggs daily.

My main was delicious, and I would heartily recommend this place if you are ever in the neighbourhood of east Cheshire. The portions were of a good size, so none of this gastronomy BS that annoys me no end. If I want foam on my food I'll buy a can of whipped cream FFS. If I want a portion of food so small that there is a chance that you could inhale the whole meal by accident, then

Getting Married in a TeePee?

As I waited for my main I wandered off for 5 minutes to get a little peace and quiet. Over the years I've started to realise that part of why I love visiting the countryside and more wild places is partly to do with noise. Obviously, in the countryside, you get the sound of bird calls, the distant braying Baa of sheep and the buzzing of bees. For me, these noises make me feel extremely peaceful; I'm not 100% why.
I have a suspicion that it has something to do with introverts like myself having a skew to the creative side of the brain, and certainly, I've noticed in my fiction writing that when I'm in full flow emotions often arise helping to build realistic characters. This brings me full circle back to the question of finding peace in the sounds of nature when the city noise has the opposite effect. Introversion is so often defined as always looking inward, but that isn't my experience, rather I find that it just makes me observe things with a much keener eye. A happy trait to have as a writer.

As I wandered listening and thinking I came across the interesting teepee structure that you can see pictured above. As one of the staff emerged from a gate next to the teepee I asked him if it was OK to take some pictures. He said it was fine and explained that that whole lawn area with the willow tree and teepee could be hired out for events or weddings.

"Go and check out inside as well if you want mate, There isn't a function on today."

When I was growing up one of my best friends inherited a half-sized traditional teepee so this structure fascinated me and brought back many distant memories, those types of memories that are so far back that they're more like a feeling than a visual impression. But once I entered the actual Tepee that changed and I remembered camping with my friend in his teepee in the countryside near Lancaster where he grew up. Memories of summer long past, leaping into one of the many rock pools that had been carved out by the passage of flood waters in the river next to where we pitched the teepee.

It never ceases to amaze me the way memories can be triggered by a myriad of different cues, sometimes smell, or objects that held significance when you were a child, or as happened to me that day simply the shape and feel of the interior of that teepee.

Lol, I don't think I'll ever get married to be honest, if I was to find the right lady I'd much rather do it the Pagan way and join with her in a Handfasting.

But to be honest, I'm not sure how accepting this rather posh pub would be to a pagan wedding! 🤣

Photos by @raj808 - All Rights Reserved.

Camera used: Samsung S7 Edge Smart Phone.

Thanks for reading 🌿


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

All pictures used in this post were taken by me while visiting the Cheshire.

Footer_raj808.png

Click banner to visit the community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Interested in trading, buying or selling crypto?

Sign up to Bittrex here.
Sign up to Coinbase here.
Sign up to Swissborg app to instantly buy crypto here.
Use my referral link to sign up for Crypto.com and we both get $25 USD.

If You Have Found Value From this Post and Want to tip extra, Crypto Donations Are Welcomed:
►Donate Ether and ERC20 Tokens: 0x32321615174AF3Da6074Cf79DED8269cA7a8eB24
►Donate Bitcoin: bc1q8wutj8u6ush7s8mucphfxf7gzrexeywmuqm8g3
►Donate Bitcoin Cash: qzt7c0czw0q988h93jvcz2rq5gy0s3h9pg2pk700ev
►Donate Litecoin: Lfsnz3pbT5V9N6WWGRaBsgKs9EvFeqzcPm
►Donate BNB: bnb1xeu94exteel9w3g8g44e6g595kvrqlgzm0crq4
►Donate Monero: 49PovXGcM9Y7JYeRJ35W9xZGrdivvLaMbVtGc3WDv6amCm5wqA854SvJNWxaEqjTz18K5YVPj5D6619C3bvNHsrG7oD1whb
►Donate Tezos: tz1SJUkpeznKE6bEhbX81YFdUQS5BprA4ot8
►Donate XRP: r35quYTThThN7yNvkJxyhLFAPyju3tsT35

Sort:  

Hi @raj808,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Looks like a great spot there!! Nice one!

Yeah, it was a cracking day out 🌞😎

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for the curation qurator and ackhoo.
It's much appreciated 🙂

This sounds like a pub to put on my google list of places to go - in fact, have done so.

Yeah I'm always dubious about truffle fair. They say they should be on the table within 48 hours to get proper potency. Dad was telling me about an award winning pie he ate yesterday - mushroom and truffle! - so I have to go seek that one out.

Your usual button mushrooms are pretty ordinary once you've had other varieties, in fact, since I've been on a mushroom mission I've had anything but! Barbecued king oyster mushrooms, porcini in lentil casserole, shitake pasta - I'm loving experimenting. They are ALL superior, in my opinion

Really sorry to hear about your Mum. How's she doing? I had missed that update but I do remember saying a while ago that there was something suspected there.

Loading...

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks @pinmapple

I always love using the pinmapple map to pin these types of posts, either good restaurant posts like this one, or travel posts about places of interest, so that people can easily find them if they want to visit.

It really is a great development on hive, and I remember meeting @martibis at SF3 and chatting about how difficult it was to create Pinmapple but how it was worth all the hard work. Which I fully agree with.

P.s. I've voted for your DHF proposal and will continue to do so 👍 🙂

Congratulations @raj808! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022

Wow, well that doesn't happen often lol 😉

I'm proud, happy and humbled to have the highest vote count on my food post. Very encouraging. Thanks for letting me know @hivebuzz and keep doing what you're doing. I have already voted for your proposal in support of the service you provide 👍

You're welcome @raj808, it is well deserved. We're glad that you enjoy this badge! Have a nice day 😊👍