A Day Trip To Saint Beat

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Anyone else know that odd sensation when you actually take a minute to explore a place you've been through a hundred times?

So Without Further procrastination, join me on a little walk through the outskirts of the town of St. Beat - Home of a metric shit ton of flooding and even more buildings dedicated to the bearded dude in the sky.

Also something worth noting is The white Marble Quarries in the area, The stone from here has been used for numerous sculptures and monuments since the Good old Roman days.

I love this feel of this place and we have passed through the town a good few times on our way into Spain.(as mentioned above weren't you reading?) Occasionally grabbing a coffee and croissant in the town center.

But the cooler parts outside?

Somehow we never really stopped and had a look around.


IMG_20220102_121415.jpg

When we pulled up even our parking spot had a wicked view, and if it hadn't of been so damn cold there are plenty of places to take a dip in that icy mountain water.

I put a hand in, No thanks doc.


IMG_20220102_122013.jpg


But anyway, enough about the parking lot.

Todays walk around will be centred around the-


Eglise Saint-Benoît et Saint-Privat

(Sorry its not a church dedicated to you Ed :P)


IMG_20220102_121901.jpg


Typical of this Region and the Val D'aran it has the carved archway centrepiece and columns around the entry. All built and carved from the local white marble.


IMG_20220102_122051.jpg


I am always impressed by the level of detailing that the stone masons managed to coax out of their oversized Lego Blocks.

Imagine one of these bastards breaking after you have spent 10 hours carving a nostril.

Hammer thrown, Foreman hit, executed for treason.
Dark ages Rage quitting at its finest.


IMG_20220102_122105.jpg


The interior is Typical Romanesque architecture at its finest. 3 large aisles surrounded by arches and vaulted ceilings, all carved from this towns self same famous white marble.


IMG_20220102_122203.jpg


I gotta be honest though, the lights hanging in here look like rejects from a 70s Sci-Fi movie. Someone obviously decided that this fine specimen of Architecture really needed some fluorescent lighting.

Everything's better under the glow of 100 Watt CFTs, Especially with yellow reflectors Right?


IMG_20220102_122344.jpg


I think its great that these heritage sights are left open during the day, It makes it easy to get decent shots and also makes looking around alot easier. No goodie two Shoes telling you where and when to look.

No one telling you to keep your kids in silence, and best of all You can get up close and personal with the artifacts.

If you time it right you can even spend the whole time without seeing another person.


SB1.jpg

Ahh A beautifully preserved Middle ages Frise with an original CCTV Camera Hiding in its natural habitat. Sneaky...


SB2.jpg

The model for this piece was the same as children everywhere, Bored and tired of standing still...

The eyes are a bit creepy tho.

Maybe that's why I keep getting the feeling I'm being watched in here.


IMG_20220102_122259.jpg

I'm always curious when I see these depictions of the crucifixion front and centre.

I Always wonder why Jesus cant be chilling with his buddies at ground level. Maybe give the dude a break and a comfy chair once in a while. Instead he gets the Nosebleed seat.


IMG_20220102_122359.jpg

Oooh Bars, What's it Hiding? What do they think Is gonna get stolen in here?

Lets have a peek...


IMG_20220102_122447.jpg

1632... Illegible writing for the most part... Guess its worth protecting, After all No ones gonna pinch the highly valuable artwork everywhere else in the building...

Cause... CCTV


IMG_20220102_122708.jpg

But this Marble bust would be a bit heavy to try and carry...

Nice shot of the aforementioned nostrils.


IMG_20220102_122713.jpg

And Saint Antoine is busy Babysitting. He looks happy enough though so maybe I'll just move on.


IMG_20220102_123015.jpg

So I guess all in all the place is pretty safe. I Imagine a good dose of Catholic Guilt keeps anyone from borrowing more than a chip of stone from the courtyard.


IMG_20220102_123029.jpg

Speaking of which...

Back outside is this nice little courtyard with a Big Iron cross, Which is a souvenir of Christian Missions dating between 1852 and 1912.

These 'Missions' Included spreading the gospel, creating some new disciples and the baptism of believers. The Tradition itself is based on the Great Commission given by Jesus in the New Testament.

Sounds fun...


IMG_20220102_123021.jpg

Nothing like a Carved Etruscan Lion spreading his wings on top to make sure you got the security covered.

He is pretty damn impressive, I wonder if I should get one for my yard.


IMG_20220102_123301.jpg

These types of statues are my favorites, Strangely enough he appears to be carved from a contrasting stone. Which leads me to believe that maybe he was pinched from somewhere else, or added later.

Anyway That's my little walk around the church, Its a great little side trip and worth a look around.


But now I have to be honest I'm more interested in what's up these stairs right Here..

IMG_20220102_123155.jpg

Now that looks pretty damn interesting.


Ok, Ok... Let me say This is a First For Me I'm going to have to split this visit into 2 posts.

The second half will be comin soon enough, but first I have a few other drafts to sort out.

Mostly because otherwise this is going to be so long and drawn out no one in their right mind would be able to read the entire thing.

Until the next episode, and Thanks for joining me on this little adventure and fingers crossed...

I still haven't burst into flames.

Ah Shit I almost forgot....


A Brief History Lesson-

Less is More

This church as it stands was built sometime in the 12th century, on the remains of A Benedictine monastery That had been established in St Beat since the 8th century,The land and remains of the monastery were then given to the priory of Lézat in 1003.

A Small Monastery remained attached until the 14th Century When it was abandoned and fell into ruin.

As usual Lots of passing things about in the church at that time.

In the 15th Century the floor was raised to prevent damage due to flooding, Which historically and even today has been a big problem here.

In 1880 the last true renovation works on the structure were carried out, with only minor maintenance having occurred since.

Summary: Building go up, Building fall down, replace broken bits and leave it.


All Photos taken on My chinesium Xiaomi M11 Lite

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wonderful place to be there.

It's a great place to stop and have a look around, I highly recommend it.

Thanks for stopping by!

Hammer thrown, Foreman hit, executed for treason.

I would imagine that this is the reason why most stone carvers nowadays aren't that quick-tempered. The ones who were, didn't get the chance to get any more children because of obvious reasons. Then again, I haven't seen this kind of excellent stone carving that much done lately, not in my time anyway, but I'm not going to let that minor fact ruin my solid deduction.

Rock solid deduction as always, Stone carvers have a nice calm attitude usually and lots of patience. Strangely enough there are a few really good carvers locally I think they might have been brought here by the time machine.

Or maybe they're actually aliens...

Probably just spent a lot of time carving rocks.

Probably just spent a lot of time carving rocks.

Are you saying that practicing the thing one want's to be good at, makes you better at it? No, that can't be it. I vote for time machine.

Time machine almost definitely, Practice is overrated, I should probably just travel back in time when having a lighter would make you a king.

Or a witch. Better keep one of your fingers on the: back to the future -button. Just in case for a quick escape.

Probably only if your female, men seemed to be able to get away with the unexplained generally as men of science, alchemy, wizards, prophets. A time machine would explain Greek fire though.

That's a valid point. But then again we don't know how the time machine affects on the person going to past, does that person remain as they are, be younger or appear as something else like the opposite sex or perhaps a cat? A rat? Or a bird! There were so much more birds in the times gone, they could have all been time travelers! And yes, I totally believe your Greek fire deduction. So many things can be explained if time machine is true.

Saint Privat! Ah!!! Of course it's linked!!! I love that river, it reminds me of either the one in Lourdes, or even the one in Besost when we crossed the mountains.

2 rubido's posts in 2 days what a treat!

Indeed I thought you might say that, Saint Privat who woulda thunk it? The Rivers down there all look similar, But they never get boring !

Cuz the part about him dying for you is pretty monumental. It's like the main part.

Wassup man? Nice to see you again.

Europe is lined with churches, statues and fountains. Point'n'click. They don't do that here.

The dying bit definitely was monumental, but just once it'd be awesome to see him chillin turnin water into wine for his homies.

Yeah Been getting more active, cleaning out my draft posts and trying to get sorted.

As always its great to see you down here!

Oh these are lovely houses and somehow I can smell croissants and bain the chocolat. Hm. I LOVE !LUV Bain the Chocolat.
I know this so well, what you describe. All the places we are passing by on our journeys and never stopp. Sometimes maybe we think, should stop some day.
But we never do. Probably a big fault. Alsways hunting for reaching the goal instead of hunting what is to find on our ways. no. not hunting - finding.

Yeah we were looking at some of the town houses imagining life if we had bought one, it woulda been great except for all the floods that have happened since we moved to France. I guess in hindsight were happy where we are.

Thanks for stopping by!

Yea we cannot have everything on one place. I always love holidays with not only one goal but just driving to a country and looking what places to find.
Youre welcone, thank you for the reply :-)

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1469.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

You are very lucky to be so close to Historical Places. In some areas you are not even allowed to take pictures. I congratulate you for expressing very nice details in your own language while describing the structures.

Thanks I appreciate it, I always consider myself lucky here because of the sheer number of historical sights and tiny art galleries. Its a great place to live.

Thanks for the history part. I always love reading about the background behind the pictures :-)

No problem at all, Thanks for stopping by👍

After I've seen all the pictures and information from the post, I understood why you keep visiting
St. Beat over and over again, because it's literally that kind of place you can return a hundred times and still not get bored of.

I have similar places in my country too and after I visited them 2-3 times, I found out that they represent more. Like a oasis of silence where to run to whenever I need to detach myself from daily routines. So I do know what you feel while exploring St. Beat so many times 😊

Thanks it's one of those places I never get tired of passing through 😁 these kind of places are awesome to visit

Funny caption 😂
Thanks for the tour, I love roaming around and explore these sites, the history lesson also helps a lot.

Cheers I always enjoy researching the history of places after I've been, seems to add something extra!

I do too, there's so much to learn about a place than just good photos.
I do the same for my post. 😆

Congratulations @rubido! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 8
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

@rubido, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Happy Valentine's day and asked us to give you a new badge!

Valentine's Day 2022

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 8