So.....What would I miss here if I had to leave here?

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Hail to the Hive!

So 2 of our friends left today @biggypauls and his wife Koz ( one of my instructors) and have headed back to the UK as it's no longer possible to sustain themselves here as tourism has all but disappeared and is not looking like returning anytime soon. It's a harsh reality and one I may very well be faced with in the next 12 months.This got me thinking about if I were to also have to leave what would I miss about here.

Diving

ECD0D0847A744C91AEAF7F87033F4233.jpeg

I think it goes without saying I would very much miss the diving here and all that goes with it. The clear waters, marine life and most importantly for me the peace and serenity that goes with it.

D1.jpg

There really isn't much on the planet that can replace the weightless feeling and all around tranquility of being underwater with the sea life.

D2.jpg

My Kayak Commute

4448174DBC5143059D95AD6D928CE1A0.jpeg

The ability to have been able to do this, all be it not frequently, was truly wonderful. A 35 minute paddle around the coastline to work with beautiful views and turtles coming up for air and then swimming under the kayak. It's pretty special.

kayak.jpg

Punchbag Workouts

box.jpg

I have a punchbag at work and at home and I love to give it a good bashing. I doubt I'll ever have the choice of 2 waterfront boxing gyms again in my life if the time comes to move on. I would miss this very much.

90EC7E25095F475FB4C756A623AD8101.jpeg

My Beast

D796932BA37C4FE8B6B7C2A7A0DF954C.png

My bike is my independence , my ride to work and my escape. So much fun riding a motorcycle here. Great views and nothing beats being in the open on top of a motorcycle. There's a lawlessness to riding bikes and a real sense of freedom.

biey.jpg

Morning coffee with an amazing view

922FA31CE26C497CBA9A799BF21888A8.png

If any of you have ever read my posts before you'll be familiar with my morning coffee post which is quite often done on my balcony with a spectacular view over Badian Bay. How is it possible to not miss this. I always knew this was a special spot to be based in and knew that once we left this would be very hard to replace.

coffeev.jpg

Flying with @iamyohann

D3C06B7A91274FE286850C887AF86D02.jpeg

and how often in life will I be able to jump into a mates gyrocopter and take flights over fucking Volcanos! I mean really what the actual fuck. I am typing this and realise how amazing it has been to be able to do shit like this. I mean flying in an open cockpit at 8000ft over a fucking Volcano! Who does that? Oh yeah us😁

gyro2.jpg

gyro1.jpg

My Crew and the Guests

peeps1.jpg

My guys here are like my family and It's almost like I'm the Dad. All the dive shop girls here call me Papa and it does feel like that very much. The guests are (were) our lifeblood. We had so many return guests at times 70% of the people here would be repeat guests and also felt very much like family. Mostly they were like naughty children though haha.

guests.jpg
ateam.jpg

crew1.jpg

I would very much miss the dive shop vibe we have here.

jackass.jpg

it's quite special

BBQ.jpeg

Cebu

Cebu offers so much, diving with sardines

sard.jpeg

Stunning waterfalls

kawasan.jpeg

Crazy traffic

cebu.jpeg

Beautiful views. I would miss all of these things, even the crazy traffic and quirky Jeepneys

above.jpeg

Sunsets

ss3.jpg

The sunsets here are just incredible. Always different and usually very very beautiful

ss2.jpg

@daveks would like these i'm sure. Simply stunning

ss1.jpg

It's easy to take for granted when it happens and is so stunning so often but I've always enjoyed them

ss4.jpg

They are hard to beat and miss them much I would but they are forever etched into my memory.

ss5.jpg
ss7.jpg

Always best to view with an ice cold beer, which leads me to another thing I'll miss...

ss6.jpg

Beers at the Dive Bar in the evenings

bart.jpg

at the end of the day what beter way to watch the sun set and shoot the shit than with some ice cold beers

beer1.jpg

or rum if thats what tickles your fancy.

beer2.jpg

I would certainly miss the dive bar and all the nonsense talking and laughs.

beer4.jpg

there's certainly been some fun times with some great people from all over the world. I would miss this a lot

beer3.jpg

I'm already missing alot of the people in this post as they have had to head off to Australia, The UK and many other places. Will they be back? Will I be following in the months to come.....we wait and see

SHGIF7.gif

Stay safe out there people wherever you may be on this planet of ours, take care

NEON.gif

Ciao!

Sort:  

Man, this is like fantasy island where all your dreams come true! There’s got to be a way to stay in that paradise. Even with a reduced income or whatever. Like you have eluded to before, you have plans in the works. Hope for the best!

its crazy. tomorrow for a wednesday walk I'm going to do a walk through of what would normally be a bustling tourist spot. Proper ghost town

Tourism will return eventually. People are dying to get out and travel again. The demand is there. Just gotta wait for the vaccines and the boarders reopening. I have friends that work in the commercial aviation industry and the airlines are rearing to get back into business. Initially flights will be cheap to spur life back into the industry and get people traveling again. There will be a spike in airfare though after the initial deals for a bit but will then return to normal. Most of the aviation and tourism news by the the big corporations are the worst projections they can come up with because they're hedging their bets hard.

kind of weird today. We had a little shore based stuff going on but not a single dive boat went out today. usually theres one or 2 even if they only have 1 or 2 divers. Today none. eerie

You have any dive shops next to you competing?

I've never really got into the whole competition aspect as I always just focused on doing things right and being very real. Everyone has they own flavour so to speak . Prices differ, locations differ etc but we just are very personal but not in any plastic way. It's stood us in good stead over the years. Theres nearly 40 dive shops in this area but right now only about 5 or 6 open and operating.

You have any secret dive locations you keep from the other dive shops?

not really possible round here. It's one big coral wall running north to south and then a small island off the coast about 10 mins away. Everyone dives the same sites

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 24/32)

thanks @magicmonk much appreciated :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Damn Sam. I don't even know how to answer this post. So much beauty and joy and sadness all wrapped up together.

Knowing you, I gotta believe where ever you end up will be OK because the joy of living will follow you like the smell of a skunk. But having to contemplate leaving paradise would just be shitty tough.

It's a gorgeous post, and I thank you for that. I'm really hoping for a suitable vaccine sooner rather than later so things can at least start to return. I'm sure your 70% are as anxious to see you as you are to see them...

That would be a rough one to leave. Hopefully things will change. They are talking about a vaccine on the way soon-ish. Maybe that would fix a lot of this mess.

yup we shall see. I always like to be positive so if I am forced into a move then I'll do something else I've always wanted to do that i otherwise wouldn't have if i was here.

If there is nobody there, go home and make some $$ then come back. No? It might make it easier than struggling until you have to go.

Unless you have plans, Sam! Then the going home deal is off! Good luck! This just blew me away!

!tip

I have a plan b if nothing changes. You have to try and make a positive out of a negative. This is the way! :) thanks @dswigle glad you liked the post.

Absolutely!! If there is a way, you would be foolish to not pursue it! Good luck, always!

going home isn't an option though as I don't have one haha. Been here 7 years before that mozambique then before that zanzibar and jamaica.

Well, that's easy then. You ARE home! 😁

haha home is wherever @millycf1976 is :)

Smart man!!!

🎁 Hi @scubahead! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.