Traveling Japan: Day 2: Exploring The Tokyo Imperial Palace!

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Hello Hiveians and welcome back!

Took a little bit of a hiatus, but back again with another installment of my Japan adventure!

So we're still on Day 2, as I jammed as much as I could into each day. So in the last post, we just left Akihabara and I made my way to the Tokyo Imperial Palace, which was built on the site of the old Edo castle! As an anime enjoyer Edo castle is a pretty amazing place to be able to visit, as well as the actual history of this site!

So I left Akihabara and began my walk in the direction of the Imperial Palace, and saw some cool spots along the way.

And then further on my way I came across another temple that was really cool.

I loved the wooden signs and the overall rustic feel of this temple.

After that I was pretty much at the Imperial Palace, but decided to first walk around the surrounding area and check out some of the other government buildings first, but there wasn't too much there so I headed back to the Palace grounds.

And then when I came across the castle you know I had to take a selfie. And remember this was in 2020, right when Covid started getting bad, so I'm equipped my hand sanitizer. 

I loved seeing the contrast of the old castle vs the modern buildings juxtaposing.

I began exploring the castle grounds, which isn't much that's publicly accessible. Fun fact, I was actually there during the Emperors birthday, which is one of the only days of the year you're allowed into the castle grounds. Unfortunately, due to Covid starting to get bad, they cancelled that event, so I didn't get any access sadly.

I then took a small break in the huge field next to the Palace.

Since I wasn't able to go onto the actual grounds due to covid, I went to one more spot, which is the best vantage point to see the guards and the castle, and it was pretty amazing! Here's the shots of the bridge with the guards on it.

And here is the view of the Palace!

Well, after that, there didn't seem much else to see or do there. I did want to walk more around the perimeter to see if there were any other cool areas to explore, but it's such a massive compound, it would have taken way too long. So I decided to call it a day and head back from there, but I made one more stop before turning in, because I had to get some night photos in! So stay tuned for that in the next one!

I hope you enjoyed this installment and let me know, what were your favorite photos? Have you ever visited the Imperial Palace? Did you know it was built on the site of the old Edo castle?

Til next time,

Sean


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@aplusd) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks so much for sharing! Glad you enjoyed!

What a beautiful place @seangold 😎
Love the building/ structures. All the intricate details… the wooden signs are great. Great captures.
Thank you so much for sharing 😁

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it! And yes, the details and architecture in Japan is stunning! I hope to go back sooner than later!

You are welcome @seangold 😁
It’s still one my list to go to… one day 😎 hope you can go back soon too.
Have a great weekend!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1589.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Awesome! Thanks so much @choogirl! The support is appreciated!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @seangold! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed!!