Man's Quest For "Wings"

in Pinmapplelast year

WINGS 01 - COVER.jpg


Ever since the Wright brothers invented the first airplane, humanity's exploration of the skies and beyond never ceased. Are we destined to becoming a multi-planetary species?


Created by STORIES OF ERNE™ on February 23, 2023



Doorway to a Technological Extravaganza

Welcome to the National Air and Space Museum! Situated in the North American capital of Washington D.C., this spectacular landmark is astounding evidence of humanity's never-ending crusade to conquer the heavens. Get ready as I walk you thru the various exhibits that celebrate the unprecedented milestones of air and space expeditions. Follow me!

WINGS 02.jpg
Exterior Facade of National Air and Space Museum (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

As I stepped inside this incredible institution, it was like entering a science laboratory but on a more humungous scale! As far as my eyes could see, there were dozens of collections of airplanes, jets, military equipment, drones, rockets, satellites, and space vehicles. Because I was and still am a die-hard enthusiast of aviation and space technologies, my jaw dropped immediately as these shiny, metallic objects lured me deeper into the different exhibition halls. A sensual feast was about to begin!

WINGS 03.jpg
Airplance for Private Use (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 04G.jpg

WINGS 05G.jpg


I could hear the exciting voices of museum-goers buzzing around. People from all walks of life were present, from solo visitors, couples, families, foreign tourists, school children organized as field trips, and obviously, techno geeks like me. Can you blame me? Lol. 🤣


POST DIVIDER.jpg


Exhibition of Airplanes and Aerial Vehicles

Our first stop was a special department dedicated to airplanes and related flying machines. You could witness planes from World Wars I and II, modern military and commercial aircraft, seaplanes, experimental concepts, and those intended for private use.

WINGS 06.jpg
Exhibition of Various Aircraft (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

Most of these gigantic paraphernalia were suspended from the building's ceiling with invisibly thin cables that they seem to float, hover, and fly. Moreover, apart from the sufficient interior lighting, they were also well-brightened by the full-height glass windows and overhead skylights that provided ample illumination on the eye-catching exhibits. Isn't that mind-blowing?

WINGS 07.jpg
Exhibition of Various Aircraft (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 08G.jpg

WINGS 09G.jpg


Hence, I had to stare up most of the time and ensured that my neck wouldn't stiffen early to survive the rest of the tour. The items on display were absolutely irresistible that it was almost impossible to look down.

WINGS 10.jpg
Collection of Military Airplanes (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 11G.jpg

WINGS 12G.jpg


WINGS 13.jpg
Experimental High-Powered Jet (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

I was particularly fascinated by those advanced aircraft recognized internationally for their record-high altitude, stealth capabilities, and lightning acceleration. As I studied them up close and personal, I couldn't avoid scratching my head imagining how in the world could a piece of metal defy the laws of nature by traveling faster than the speed of sound!

WINGS 14.jpg
Close-up of Airplane Motor Engine (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 15.jpg
Pilot Cockpit of Aircraft (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

This museum also treated us to never-before-seen perspectives of airplane engines and pilot cockpits revealing their inner mechanisms, apparatus, controls, and overall design. As complicated as they were, I could only admire in awe the countless hours of work involved in achieving such a marvelous feat. Kudos to our scientists, engineers, and inventors!

WINGS 16.jpg
Scaled Model of Seaplane (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 17.jpg
Scaled Model of Seaplane (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

Aside from life-size aircraft, there were likewise scaled model planes that were so realistic I thought they were the real thing. Well, if you glance at their photos, you'll have the impression that they're standard dimensions, literally. Do you think so?

WINGS 18.jpg
Advanced Military Drone (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 19G.jpg

WINGS 20G.jpg


WINGS 21.jpg
Advanced Military Drone (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 22.jpg
Scaled Model of Aircraft Carrier (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

The last batch of exhibits for the airplane area were interesting types of military drones. These state-of-the-art units were unmanned aerial vehicles, and were specifically deployed for warfare and surveillance, all from the comfort of remote-controlled devices. How impressive is that, right?

Unconsciously, I must have drowned with the staggering amount of technological gadgetry that had flooded me here. However, nothing prepared me for the upcoming section exhibiting more sophisticated science. It was high time to access the space realm!


POST DIVIDER.jpg


Colonization of Space and the Cosmos

This was my first actual experience of real physical rockets and related equipment at close range. I admit that I became a child again, starting from square one to absorb all the novel information that was presented in front of me.

WINGS 23.jpg
Space Rocket Boosters (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 24.jpg
Rockets, Lunar Modules, and Space Capsules (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 25.jpg
Lunar Modules and Space Capsules (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

With no idea about the space industry and its respective sectors, I had to unlearn everything from science books in school and stand clueless before these mentally overwhelming inventions.

WINGS 26.jpg
Moon Landing Vehicle (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 27.jpg
Moon Landing Vehicle (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 28.jpg
Moon Landing Vehicle (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

These rocket boosters, lunar modules, space capsules, and land-based transportation systems were said to be used on the first moon landing. Therefore, I couldn’t help but read all the interesting facts written on their corresponding signage. I was obviously hungry to know more! Aren't these innovative space vehicles fascinating? Like me, do these incredible inventions arouse your curiosity?

WINGS 29.jpg
Earth-Hovering Satellite (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 30G.jpg

WINGS 31G.jpg


And to add to my escalating thrill, right beside them were Earth-hovering satellites! At first glance, I thought they were toys due to their small nature, but then I realized that they also had large counterparts, depending on their primary mission. As sophisticated as they were, I learned that these planetary devices cost millions if not billions of U.S. dollars to produce, operate, and maintain.

WINGS 32.JPG
Earth-Hovering Satellite (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

This ended my personal discovery and investigation of this distinguished museum. And although I already had some fundamental ideas of the sophisticated technologies implemented here, the knowledge gained was not enough because I believe science will always be a never-ending process of evolution. If we stop learning, we also terminate growth!


POST DIVIDER.jpg


The Future of Flight and Celestial Travel

What have I learned so far?

I think we're still on the early phases of space conquest. However, we are already on the forefront of space tourism. Big players like Richard Branson of Virgin Galactic and Jeff Bezos of Blue Origin have been offering courageous and extremely wealthy individuals who can afford the ridiculously expensive ride, the rare chance to experience space for a few minutes. Would you dare and try this unique adventure if you had the money?

WINGS 33.jpg
Space Rocket Booster and Capsule (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 34.jpg
Space Rocket Booster and Capsule (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 35.jpg
Space Rocket Booster Engine (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

WINGS 36.jpg
Space Module Toilet Technology (Photo: © 2023 storiesoferne)

Furthermore, with the likes of extraordinary visionaries like Elon Musk, the big dream of colonizing Mars and humans evolving into an inter-planetary civilization might still remain controversial. On the contrary, with his revolutionary company called SpaceX and other supporting ventures that tirelessly continue to challenge the enormous difficulties of space exploration, perhaps these imagined realities are closer than you think.

Could we finally say that man has achieved his "Wings"? Only time will tell.

#Hive, have you been here?

Experience all my Travel Stories on the Pinmapple Map.


ADVENTURE IS WHERE MY WANDERLUST LEADS ME.
storiesoferne


SOE HB AUTHOR BIO PHOTO - GRID.jpg

STORIES OF ERNE™

Meet the Author

ERNE is an Architect, Environmentalist, and Adventurer. On the Hive Blockchain, he is the Creator of the Architecture+Design Community. If you are passionate about architecture, the natural environment, and global travel, feel free to connect with him. He will gladly welcome you into his world.

Experience his content portfolios:
STORIES OF ERNE™
Architecture Moments™

Self-Expression Empowers Human Evolution™
© 2020-2023 storiesoferne
All Rights Reserved


Sort:  

Greetings @storiesoferne, I already went to the Museum and I'm back hahaha, what a spectacular tour! there is so much to observe, my favorite stations were the drones and spacecraft, it must be very exciting to see up close those wonders of science, did you get to see the Apollo 11 spacecraft? they allow you to enter the cockpit of the spacecraft, or is it just observation? If I visit this museum I think I exceed the allowed hours, my eyes and my mind forget about time and I spend many hours contemplating in detail each area of the museum and if a guide is there, much better to ask the inevitable questions, Wow, you were in America! how did you find this part of the continent?

Answering your question, if I had the possibilities without a doubt I would embark on the adventure of space travel, it must be an incredible experience to observe the planets and elements of the solar system, thanks for sharing such an excellent visit and beautiful pictures.

Happy and blessed Friday!

Welcome back dear @belkyscabera, lol. 🤣 I can obviously feel the sheer excitement you had just experienced after having so much fun with my tour of this fantastic museum! And yes, I believe I witnessed a real if not a replica of the Apollo 11 spacecraft and other related technology used for the moon landing. As for the airplane cockpit, we were only permitted to view it up close but touching the exhibits was strictly prohibited as most of the instruments on display were extremely sensitive, fragile, and expensive. 👍

Moreover, I've always dreamt of traveling to the USA and have eventually made it on several occasions. Fortunately, positive opportunities had allowed me to do so. However, I've never been to South America yet. Perhaps I'm going to visit Venezuela first since many of my Hive connections are from there. It would surely be a great pleasure to meet you and your family in person. 😊

Finally, I also admire your true courage in accepting the challenge of space exploration as I'm pretty sure it would be one massive and thrilling adventure of a lifetime for you. Who knows, I might catch you live on the news someday on your way to Mars and the rest of the vast universe, right? haha. 😁 Anyway, thank you for your valuable time in digesting my travel story - much appreciated! Have an enjoyable weekend! Blessings! 🙏

That's what I imagined, they only allow to see them and nothing to touch hahaha, it is a great museum to spend hours contemplating the wonderful technological constructions.
Ah everything is possible, maybe in a few years it will come true and I can go to infinity and beyond hehe; it must be a super exciting experience, the first thing I take is the camera to take many photos of space and the planet Jupiter, this giant of the solar system is very interesting, ah also the rings of Saturn take many photos, in short, observe the sidereal space, without forgetting the photos that are very important.

Welcome to Venezuela, it will be a pleasure to meet you and visit this beautiful country.

Happy and blessed day to you and yours.

Your marvelous words are much appreciated dear @belkyscabrera. I look forward to traveling to your beautiful country of Venezuela in the near future. Have a pleasurable one and more blessings! 🙏😊

Oh my gosh! What a feast in my eyes. Haven't gone to any place like this before so it's new to me.
Tho I'm not into aircraft but I'm just amazed at their history and function.
I loved this kind of tour, !PIZZA

Greetings @dennnmarc. It's a huge pleasure to virtually treat you to a place like this extraordinary museum. Even non-aircraft folks and others who are simply curious about the world of aviation and space learn, get entertained and inspired by these spectacular exhibits. Hope you can try one someday. Thank you for your appreciation and for the yummy pizza! 😊👍

my eyes are perplexed to see such a sublime exhibition of aircraft, I am stunned when I imagine these ships breaking the sound barrier and traveling at extraordinary speeds, definitely having enough capital if I would be able to make this trip into space it must be a unique experience to be able to observe the planet from space, thanks for showing us this beautiful aeronautical museum, Blessings to you always dear friend @storiesoferne

I could definitely relate to your emotional reactions dear friend @armasdiaze. As I was a first-timer during my visit to this incredible museum, being able to actually witness the air and space technologies upfront, though overwhelming, was simply fascinating! It was truly a tremendous eye-opening experience, showing mankind's powerful talents, skills, and capabilities of pursuing these scientific endeavors. Blessings! 🙏😊

I was there a few years ago and I loved it but I also liked Washington in general a city that I had always underestimated

Oh cool! I'm glad you've experienced this exceptional museum as well. You're right. There are still other equally attractive landmarks in Washington DC that deserve our appreciation and visits. I'll be publishing more of their treasures in my upcoming architecture and travel stories. Cheers! 😊

If you are passionate about architecture I hope you will come to Italy for a tour because there are so many things to see

That's for sure! Italy is one beautiful travel destination with plenty of incredible architecture that I've been longing to visit. Can't wait! 😊👍

I'm in awe to see how NASA looked like. Thank you for sharing this ✨

Indeed @hanyabee. Apart from NASA, the National Air and Space Museum also incorporates other highly significant exhibitions of flying vehicles and space technologies. Thanks for visiting my post! 😊

It would be really cool if there was a museum like this, unfortunately for our country it doesn't exist and it's a shame, that a lot of people can learn about space travel or about aviation,

By the way, I liked the opening picture, you seem curious about the astronaut.

That's alright @aswita. Perhaps in the near future, your country will be able to catch up with their aviation technology and international space race, plus pay tribute to its various accomplishments by building your own dedicated museum. It's just a matter of time before that goal becomes a reality. 👍

Actually, apart from being curious, I was checking whether the astronaut would talk back to me, just kidding! 🤣 Well, I just made that historic pose for the camera as my unforgettable souvenir. Happy Sunday! 😊

Yes, I hope this can be the concentration of the government to make it. The reason is, this country was once led by a president who could create airplanes, President Habibie. He is a very intelligent and influential person in the world of aviation.

Wonderful, that's one interesting fact right there! What happened to President Habibie? And why was the government under his leadership not able to move forward with your nation's aviation and space programs, if I may ask?

President Habibie only served for 1 year, because he replaced the previous president. According to the story in his biography, he was a little disappointed with our country because he could not use himself better in the world of aviation, he studied in Germany for a very long time and finally returned after a long time. Habibi loved his country very much, but this country did not appreciate it. Yes, I hope you can watch Habibie's autobiographical film with the same title.

This is a truly interesting story to investigate further. And his biographical movie would be an excellent doorway to learn more about this important event in Indonesian history. Thank you for the valuable information! 😊

My pleasure :D

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


~~~ embed:1628576895523770371 twitter metadata:MTUxNzczOTQ3ODYyNjIyNjE3Nnx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNTE3NzM5NDc4NjI2MjI2MTc2L3N0YXR1cy8xNjI4NTc2ODk1NTIzNzcwMzcxfA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @storiesoferne, @dennnmarc ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1799.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

So grateful for the mention - much appreciated! 😊👍

Congratulations @storiesoferne! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 4500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the March edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal