Celebrating Loi Krathong in Bangkok

in Pinmapplelast year

Hello and welcome to another post,

Today I wanted to share some photos from the Loi Krathong festival. A friend of mine told me about it and I thought it sounded really interesting. It's an annual festival that is celebrated throughout Thailand. It is about paying respect to the goddess of water and the Buddha. People will gather around rivers, canals, and such to release these floating lanterns into the water. The lanterns are called Krathongs and can be made up of different things ranging from banana tree trunks to styrofoam. This is a very basic description of it.

2.jpg

The festivities go on for an entire week but we only went out for two days. We went to a place near the river for the first day where they were organizing a light show and a small concert. The band that was playing consisted of three kids and two adults. They played cover songs and it was pretty awesome. As you can see the light show was amazing too.

8.jpg

I had a nice time there and it was a lot of fun just walking around and looking at the different stands and what they were all selling. That has probably turned into my favorite thing to do in Thailand. Just walk around huge markets and look at stuff that people sell lol. I very rarely buy anything though.

3.jpg

Next year I wanna be more prepared for these festivities and go to a cool place where they organize something big for this festival. This was awesome as a first time though. The second day was probably even more fun since we... well you'll have to wait until next time to see what we did.

7.jpg

This stand was displaying these amazing carvings she had done. Looks very difficult and I'm sure this takes a lot of talent and hard work. I wonder how long it takes to carve a watermelon like that.

5.jpg

This was probably my favorite out of the light displays. After walking around some more we decided to go home and prepare for the next day of Loi Krathong. This next photo is kinda stupid but I just thought it was a little funny.

6.jpg

That was it for this post. Next year I wanna have the best Krathong out of all and I'm gonna float it somewhere really cool. See you in the next post where we will visit another cool place. Also, I do realize that these posts are a little bit late since the festival was a couple of weeks ago now but I have been very busy with a move so I only got to post these now. I hope you still enjoy the photos though.

Let me know what you think in the comments below!

Peace, Straw

Sort:  

That has probably turned into my favorite thing to do in Thailand. Just walk around huge markets and look at stuff that people sell lol.

You may be interested in the Market Friday community :D would probably be quite entertaining with pics from Thai markets! Although I think anyone living/visiting Japan would probably take the cake there, lol.

Nice pics, looking forward to visiting Thailand again and hoping to arrive before other similar kinds of celebrations like these!

Oh nice I didn't know about that one. I'll check it out. Thanks! I'm pretty sure Japan wins there yea haha. Can't wait to go there and check it out too.

Thank you. I hope you get to visit it again. I'm sure there's some cool festivity coming up sometime soon.

I love the "do not climb or climb trees" sign 🤘😂😂 totally understandable though😂😂

Never heard of this festival until now but I guess this is the beauty of each region and country having its own festivals and things to be seen. I'm happy I found out about this one through your post tho 🙂

Yeah it sure is a special festival. I think it's celebrated all over South East Asia. Glad I was able to share this with someone who hasn't heard about it yet.

Very interesting place to spend some captain's bills😅,You do it again😁

Thank you for sharing your photos from the Loi Krathong celebration. It looks like you had a great time. You captured some excellent shots and it seems like you really enjoyed yourself.

I've never heard of this festival before and it sounds like quite a unique experience. I love seeing new traditions and cultures. Thanks again for taking the time to share these with us.

I am really glad you liked the post. I love exploring new traditions and festivities so this was a real treat for me. Will be more to come from this festival in the next post so stay tuned for that haha.

I'd love to watch some festivals amd glad to know this festival in thailand.
Nice and I amazed how colorful ot is.

You should try and visit one of these festivals sometimes. It's a lot of fun.

It must have been a wonderful time brother, what fantastic pictures you have shared, those fruits cut in the shape of flowers reminds me of a cousin I have who does this style of fruit arts.

Those lights are beautiful.

It was really nice. I saw a lot of cool things and was able to experience a festival I had never even heard of. Glad you liked it!

The Loi Krathong festival looked surreal with all of that amazing lighting. From your description it sounds like it was very enjoyable. Thank you for sharing!

It was really cool. I had an amazing time there and will surely visit again next year.

Wow what a cool night in Bangkok. Their decoration with a bling bling light looks like a very cool decoration for special nights. Oh the flowers on the table is so well organized, I mean it must be prepared by a very professional designer. It so colorful and I can noticed that all of this decoration is Thailand style.

Yes it definitely felt very professional. I like going to these little things they organize. They always have a lot of cool things to see and experience.

Wow! I love how the fruits being carved..

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @roronoa46 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1711.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: